Find books available through the St. Michael's Hospital Health Sciences Library
Featured Critical Care Books
Applied Physiology in Intensive Care Medicine by M. R. Pinsky (Editor); L. Brochard (Editor); J. Mancebo (Editor); G. Hedenstierna (Editor)This second, revised edition of Applied Physiology in Intensive Care Medicine aims to help overcome the fundamental unevenness in cliniciansâ__ understanding of applied physiology, which can lead to suboptimal treatment decisions. It is divided into three sections. The first comprises a series of "physiological notes" that concisely and clearly capture the essence of the physiological perspectives underpinning our understanding of disease and response to therapy. The second section contains more detailed associated reviews on measurement techniques and physiological processes, while the third provides a number of seminal studies on diverse topics in intensive care. This up-to-date compendium of practical bedside knowledge essential to the effective delivery of acute care medicine has been written by some of the most renowned experts in the field. It will serve the clinician as an invaluable reference source on key issues regularly confronted in everyday practice.
Call Number: WX218 .A652 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-10
Chest Medicine by Ronald B. George (Editor); Richard W. Light (Editor); Michael A. Matthay (Editor); Richard A. Matthay (Editor)A favorite among residents and pulmonary fellows, this text provides all the information needed to evaluate and manage respiratory diseases and critically ill patients and to pass the American Board of Internal Medicine's subspecialty exam in pulmonary medicine. The Fifth Edition includes new information on ARDS, sedation of critically ill patients, rehabilitation for COPD, care of elderly patients, genetic testing for asthma, CTA and other diagnostic techniques for pulmonary thromboembolism, new antifungal drugs without renal toxicity, new treatment guidelines for pneumothorax, and ventilators and noninvasive ventilation for respiratory failure. This edition also includes more algorithms and differential diagnosis tables.
Call Number: WF600 .C525 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-16
Clinical Assessment in Respiratory Care by Richard L. Sheldon; Robert L. Wilkins; Susan Jones KriderFeaturing a comprehensive, well-organized approach, this resource teaches assessment techniques from the most basic skills to more advanced methods for assessing patients in any clinical setting - from the office to the ICU. The new edition provides even more information on key topics, additional case studies and review materials, and a new glossary. Certain topic areas have been streamlined and reorganized for the most effective presentation of material. Comprehensive approach presents all of the most important aspects and topics of assessment that readers need to effectively assess patients. Each chapter begins with consistent learning features - Learning Objectives, Chapter Outline, Chapter Overview, and new Key Terms - to prepare readers for the content that will be discussed in that chapter. Simply Stated boxes contain brief, direct, concise statements about important concepts in the text, highlighting key information to aid in reader comprehension. Questions to Ask About... boxes contain a list of questions practitioners should ask patients about their symptoms or ask themselves when confronted with a certain clinical situation. Case studies in several chapters provide an opportunity for readers to apply chapter content to realistic clinical scenarios. Chapter review questions at the end of each chapter help readers review and remember chapter content. Key Terms lists at the beginning of each chapter highlight important terminology and concepts that will be explained in that chapter. Glossary of key terms at the back of the book defines important terms identified in each chapter's Key Terms list. Additional case studies in the EKG and hemodynamic monitoring chapters provide further opportunities to apply chapter content in real-life scenarios. Additional chapter review questions at the end of each chapter enhance student review and retention of chapter material.
Call Number: WF141 .W684c 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-10
Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing by Joanne HickeyThe new Seventh Edition of the award-winning classic prepares its users to deliver expert care in this most challenging nursing specialty. It addresses neuroanatomy, assessment, diagnostic evaluation and management of the complete range of neurological disorders for which nurses provide patient care, including trauma, stoke, tumors, seizures, headache, aneurysms, infections, degenerative disorders and features new chatpers on neurological critical care and peripheral neuropathies. The new edition has been thoroughly revised to reflect standards of care based on evidence-based practice. It now includes separate pathophysiology sections in each chapter, new resource guides, such as internet sites and professional and patient information sources, key points summaries, evidence-based boxes, and nursing research features.
Publication Date: 2013-12-11
Critical Care Emergency Medicine by William Chiu; David Farcy; Alex Flaxman; John MarshallThe first comprehensive text on critical care emergency medicine ..".goes a long way toward establishing emergency physicians as credible intensivists....The book is unique as it blends the perspective of a true intensivist with that of emergency medicine. The book is the fi rst of its kind, and I predict it will become known as the standard reference for those emergency physicians, as well as others, who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care."--Thomas M. Scalea, MD, FACS, FCCM, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center and University of Maryland School of Medicine (from the foreword) "Critical Care Emergency Medicine" is destined to become the standard reference for all clinicians who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care. Written by experienced emergency physicians and intensivists, the book is unique in incorporating both perspectives into the practice of emergency medicine and critical care. "Critical Care Emergency Medicine" teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool. "Critical Care Emergency Medicine" delivers expert guidance on managing: Airway and Ventilatory Support Pulmonary Disorders Cardiovascular Disorders Gastrointestinal and Renal Disorders Neurologic and Neurosurgical Disorders Hematologic and Endocrine Disorders Infectious Diseases Toxicologic Disorders You will also find important information on the use of ultrasound, fluid management, nutritional support, pediatric considerations, patient transportation, and end-of-life issues.
Call Number: WX218 .C934 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-27
Critical Care Neurology and Neurosurgery by Jose I. Suarez (Editor)An authoritative and comprehensive review of the most important clinical issues facing critically ill neurologic and neurosurgical patients. The authors provide pertinent basic, clinical, diagnostic, and management guidelines for all the conditions commonly encountered in the neurocritical care unit, including the management of autonomic disorders that require critical care, postoperative management, and endovascular treatment. The authors also discuss the latest developments in the monitoring of different body systems, emphasizing the management of cardiorespiratory complications and other medical conditions that may threaten the patient's life. Also detailed are the concepts of intracranial physiology and current neuromonitoring techniques, subjects whose understanding is basic to effective management of critically ill neurologic patients. Numerous tables, figures, diagrams, and radiographs simplify and explicate both the diagnostic and therapeutic processes.
Call Number: WL140 .C934 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-13
Critical Care Nursing Review by William Gossman; Scott H. Plantz; Sheryl L. Gossman; Roger Skebelsky; Brent Grady; Nicholas LorenzoWhy waste time guessing at what you need to know for the CCRN exam? Maximize your exam preparation time with this quick-hit question and answer review. The unique question and single-answer format eliminates the guesswork associated with traditional multiple-choice Q & A reviews and reinforces only the correct answers you'll need to know on exam day. Emphasis is placed on distilling key facts and clinical pearls essential for exam successs. Great for certification and re-certification, this high-yield review for the CCRN exam is the perfect compliment to larger tests for intense, streamlined review in the days and weeks before your exam.
Call Number: WY18.2 .C9344 2006
Publication Date: 2005-08-30
Critical Care Nursing Secrets by Hildy M. Schell; Kathleen A. PuntilloPart of the Nursing Secrets Series®, Critical Care Nursing Secrets is designed to be helpful for both new and experienced critical care nurses. New graduates, novice nurses, or those nurses returning to work in the field will find the book especially helpful in learning the "pearls" or "secrets" of practice. Written in a question-and-answer format, each of the 79 chapters has helpful features such as key points and Internet resources. Written by experts in the field. Question-and-answer format for concise reading. Designed for both the experienced and new nurse. Top secrets listed in the front of book give readers the top 50 key points they should know about critical care nursing. Key Points boxes in each chapter outlines important points to the reader. Internet Resources boxes offer readers additional information via the web. Effective two-color design allows reader to easily find answers. Updated content throughout. 9 new chapters: Heart Failure; Aortic Aneurysm and Dissection; Thrombocytopenia: HIT, ITP, TTP; Coagulopathy and Transfusion; Liver, Pancreas, and Renal Transplantation; Rhabdomyolysis; Hyperglycemia and Diabetes Mellitus; Endocrine Disorders; and Skin and Soft Tissue Infections.
Call Number: WY18.2 .C9345 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-03
Critical Pathways in Cardiovascular Medicine by Christopher P. Cannon (Editor); Patrick T. O'Gara (Editor)Critical Pathways in Cardiovascular Medicine, Second Edition presents evidence-based, cost-effective critical pathways for diagnosis and management of cardiovascular disorders in the pre-hospital setting, emergency department, inpatient setting, and outpatient setting. All pathways in this edition have been updated to reflect the latest findings regarding best practices in all areas of cardiovascular care. Coverage includes new pathways for pre-hospital care, public access defibrillation for cardiac arrest, emergency department management of heart failure and atrial fibrillation, aortic aneurysm, hyperglycemia, peripheral artery disease and claudication, implantable cardioverter defibrillator treatment for ventricular tachycardia, and long-term management of diabetes and the metabolic syndrome.
Call Number: WG141 .C934 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by Juan A. Asensio; Donald D. TrunkeyHeres a unified evidence-based approach to problems encountered in trauma and critical care surgical situations. Comprehensive and concise, it is ideal for a quick overview before entering the operating room or ICU, or as a review for board certification or recertification. Be prepared for the unexpected with practical, concise coverage of major surgical problems in trauma and critical care. Get expert practical and up-to-date guidance on ventilator management, damage control, noninvasive techniques, imaging, infection control, dealing with mass casualties, treating injuries induced by chemical and biological agents, and much more. Find the information you need quickly and easily through numerous illustrations, key points boxes, algorithms, and tables.
Call Number: WO700 .C9766 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-12
Infectious Diseases in Critical Care by Jordi Rello (Editor); Marin Kollef (Editor)Critical care practitioners are often the initial providers of care to seriously ill patients with infections. This book provides clinicians practicing in the intensive care unit with a reference to help guide their care of infected patients. It brings together a group of international authors to address important topics related to infectious diseases for the critical care practitioner.
Call Number: WX167 .I4345 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
The Little ICU Book by Paul L. Marino; Samuel M. GalvagnoQuick lookup for the most essential info in critical care! Ideal for quick reference at the bedside, The Little ICU Book is a condensed, compact version of The ICU Book, Dr. Marino,,s best-selling comprehensive intensive care reference. While it mirrors most of the chapters in the larger book, The Little ICU Book zeroes in on only the essentials for the hands-on care of critically ill adult patients. Its fast-access format makes it an indispensible resource for residents as well as busy critical care physicians. Key Features: - Apply the latest know-how with comprehensive updates throughout the book. - Find the answers you need quickly with a concise outline format and Dr. Marino,,s accessible, reader-friendly writing style. - Grasp visual concepts at a glance through abundant clear, colorful illustrations and tables. - Carry it with you everywhere thanks to its portable size.
Call Number: WX39 .M3395
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Textbook of Critical Care by Mitchell P. Fink; Edward Abraham; Patrick Kochanek; Jean-Louis VincentA completely new editorial team presents a radical revision to this leading critical care text, previously edited by Shoemaker et al. The New Edition delivers today's best coverage of both adult and pediatric critical care, with contributions from an impressive roster of world experts. In addition to numerous new chapters and many extensively rewritten ones, it features a completely new section on commonly encountered problems and a new, more user-friendly organiza¬tion. What's more, it is also now available in a multimedia T package that combines the book with access to a fully searchable, continuously updated web site. Covers both adult and pediatric critical care. Features the authority of the top names in critical care from around the world, including an outstanding new editorial team as well as authors who are among the most highly respected researchers, instructors, and clinicians in the field. Offers a brand-new section that provides quick access to practical guidance on the problems most frequently encountered in the ICU. Explores hot new topics such as Inter- and Intra-Hospital Transport, Disaster Medicine for the ICU Physician, and Teaching Critical Care. Provides a new, more user-friendly organization. Presents only the most essential references within the text, with the rest provided on the enclosed CD-ROM. Is available in a multimedia package that combines the book with access to a fully searchable, continuously updated web site!. With over 525 additional contributing experts.
Call Number: WX218 .T355 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-27
Select Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Tools
AACN Procedure Manual for Critical Care by AACN; Debra J. Lynn-McHale Wiegand (Editor)The AACN Procedure Manual for Critical Care, 6th Edition presents procedures for the critical care environment in an illustrated, consistent, and step-by-step format. The Procedures and Patient Monitoring sections are presented in a tabular format that includes special considerations and rationales for each intervention. References have been meticulously reviewed to ensure that the most authoritative and timely standards of practice are used. Additionally, the references supporting care recommendations are identified according to the latest AACN Evidence Leveling System to ensure that you have a complete understanding of the strength of the evidence base. UNIQUE! AACN-sponsored content ensures the highest standards of practiceComprehensive, clear, easy-to-use format allows you to quickly find and review the exact content you needRationales provide complete information on every procedureIdentified AP procedures help you judge whether a procedure is in your scope of practicePatient safety highlighted with new icons for patient identification and time-out Joint Commission Universal ProtocolsCDC Standard Precautions for hand washing and applying protective clothing and equipment highlighted with new iconsUNIQUE! Clarity of Evidence Leveling helps you quickly grasp the strength of the evidence supporting the care recommendationsReviewed and Updated References comply with the highest standards of critical care practiceAlphabetical procedures index inside the front cover provides easy accessReader-friendly design changes make it easier to identify and utilize special features
Call Number: WY49. A111 2011
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
ACP Manual of Critical Care by Liziamma George; American College of Physicians Staff; Suhail Raoof; Anthony Saleh; Arthur SungIn partnership with the American College of Physicians, here is the definitive point-of-care guide to managing critical care patients This handy, yet comprehensive resource fully reviews the optimal clinical management of patients in the intensive care unit. Numerous clinical and procedural illustrations support this turnkey coverage, which is packed with clinical pearls and presented in an at-a-glance format. The ACP Manual of Critical Care touches on all core content areas and body/system regions, from cardiovascular critical care to critical care of neurological diseases. If it's important to achieving optimal patient outcomes in the critical care setting, you'll find it here.
Call Number: WX218 .A512 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-26
Critical Care Nursing by Suzanne Bench (Editor); Kate Brown (Editor)Critical Care Nursing: Learning from Practice takes a unique approach to critical care. Based around case scenarios that have the patient as the central focus, each chapter is constructed around an example of a critically ill patient with specific care needs. The chapters then go on to critically explore the knowledge and skills required to deliver expert care. This book looks at a range of critical care scenarios, including: * The patient with acute lung injury * The patient with fever * The patient with an acute kidney injury * The patient with long term needs * The patient with increased intra-abdominal pressure * The Patient following cardiac surgery Each chapter develops knowledge of the related physiology/pathophysiology, appropriate nursing interventions that are research/evidence based, technical skills, data interpretation and critical appraisal skills, enabling the reader to apply fundamental knowledge to more complex patient problems. Critical Care Nursing: Learning from Practice is an essential resource for practitioners faced with complex and challenging patient cases.
Call Number: WY154 .C934 2010
Publication Date: 2011-04-25
End-of-Life-Care by Barry M. Kinzbrunner; Joel S. Policzer; Barry Kinzbrunner; Joel PoliczerThe most thorough text available on providing patients and families with quality end-of-life care "The study/learning questions at the end of each chapter make this book an excellent resource for both faculty who wish to test knowledge, and individual learners who wish to assess their own learning....The book is well written and easy to read. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service End of Life Care: A Practical Guide offers solution-oriented coverage of the real-world issues and challenges that arise daily for clinicians caring for those with life-limiting illnesses and conditions. End of Life Care: A Practical Guide includes specific clinical guidance for pain management and other common end of life symptoms. The second edition has been made even more essential with the addition of chapter-ending Q&A for self assessment and board review, new coverage of multicultural medicine, an increased number of algorithms to assist decision making on complicated clinical, legal, and ethical issues. Six sections walk you through the complexities of caring for patients who are nearing the end of life: Preparing Patients for End of Life Management of Symptoms Diagnostic and Invasive Interventions Ethical Dilemmas Special Populations Diversity No other text better assists physicians and other clinicians in providing patients near the end of life with support, guidance, and hope in the face of "hopelessness" than End of Life Care: A Practical Guide.
Call Number: WB310 .K56e 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Oxford American Handbook of Critical Care by Andrew Webb; Scott Gunn; John Kellum; Mervyn SingerPatients in Critical Care Departments require constant and intensive care, and their conditions are always serious and can quickly turn for the worse, demanding quick and effective intervention. The bedside is a maze of monitors, tubing, and ventilators, all of which demand a knowledge of complex levels and settings. Because of these factors, students and hospital staff need a manual that provides authoritative, easily accessed information on assessment, treatment, and management of critical conditions. This new Oxford American Handbook of Critical Care is the perfect resource for these critical settings. Based on the hugely popular Oxford Handbook of Critical Care from Oxford UK, this all new Handbook, from the highly acclaimed Department of Critical Care at the University of Pittsburgh, offers concise, clinically oriented guidelines in the proven format of the Oxford Handbook series. It will appeal to physicians, students, nurses, and anyone looking for a comprehensive, concise, easy to use, and affordable manual of Critical Care.
Call Number: WX39 .K29o 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-19
Principles of Critical Care by Jesse B. Hall; Gregory A. Schmidt; Lawrence D. H. WoodThe classic text in critical care medicine A Doodys Core Title for 2011 4 STAR DOODYS REVIEW "This is one of the leading textbooks in the field."--"Doodys Review Service" The 3rd Edition of this classic text is streamlined and focused on the needs of the working critical care physician and features important new treatment strategies. Organized by organ systems, this text, the only critical care source that includes evidence-based learning, guides physicians from initial patient assessment and differential diagnosis through therapeutic plan.
Call Number: WX218 .P9573 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-14
Quick Reference to Critical Care by Nancy H. DiepenbrockThe fourth edition of this pocket-sized reference guide to procedures, treatments, and stabilization techniques for disorders, injuries, and patient situations commonly seen in the critical care setting is now updated for use by nursing students as well practicing critical care nurses. Featuring new information on new drugs, defibrillators and EECP therapy, this useful reference offers two sections providing quick access to need-to-know information. The first section is organized by body system, with problems of each system alphabetized. The second section contains essential information on drugs, dosing, conversions, calculations, compatibilities, laboratory tests, and more. This edition features over 200 images and tables, as well as Fast Facts and mnemonics to foster knowledge retention. Cross-references include page numbers, which provides quick access to information without the need to search the index.
Call Number: WX39 .D536 2012
Publication Date: 2011-03-02
Sheehy's Emergency Nursing by ENAWritten by emergency nurses for emergency nurses, this comprehensive, evidence-based resource covers the issues and procedures that are often unique to the emergency department. New developments and changes in clinical practice are incorporated throughout. The user-friendly format features more than 350 high-quality illustrations and 150 tables that highlight essential concepts and offer quick access to vital information. Key coverage includes clinical fundamentals, treatment for trauma and medical-surgical emergencies, the foundations of emergency nursing practice, and special populations.
Call Number: WY154 .S541 2010
Publication Date: 2009-06-30
Trauma by David V. Feliciano; Ernest E. Moore; Kenneth L. MattoxThe most trusted, widely used guide to managing the trauma patient-now in a 2-color format with added algorithms This definitive one-stop resource begins with an informative look at the history and epidemiology of trauma surgery, as well as injury prevention, before moving into core topics such as trauma systems, triage, and transport, and managing shock. It then delivers a clear, organ-by-organ overview of the treatment of traumatic injuries, from the cranium and brain to pelvic fractures, while covering need-to-know subjects such as anesthesia and infection. Features The general surgeon's most trusted clinical companion-with expert, high-yield guidance on the standard treatments and modes of management of traumatic injuries Encyclopedic coverage of all clinical issues related to trauma, from pre-hospital care, initial assessment, and airway control, to ensuring optimal trauma outcomes Indications and techniques of thoracotomy and laparotomy Specialized chapters on alcohol and drug-related trauma, pediatric trauma, geriatric trauma, and trauma related to domestic and gang violence Commentaries on each chapter from experts in the field NEW! Additional management algorithms that guide you through the proper diagnosis and management of the trauma patient NEW! 2-color design that makes the content even more easy to navigate NEW! Brand-new chapters including "Acute Care Surgery," "Gastrointestinal Failure," "Military Trauma," and "Weapons of Mass Destruction"
Call Number: WO700 .T7732 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-29
Trauma Anesthesia by Charles E. Smith (Editor)Injuries are estimated to become the number one cause of death for men and women under the age of 45 by the year 2020. Trauma patients present unique challenges to anesthesiologists. Acute injuries require resource intensive care and are often complex cases especially when coupled with underlying, pre-existing medical conditions. Anesthesiologists are involved with trauma patients beginning with airway and shock resuscitation, continuing with intra-operative care during surgery, and extending on to pain management and critical care post-operatively. This reference focuses on a broad spectrum of traumatic injuries and the procedures anesthesiologists perform to adequately care for trauma patients perioperatively, surgically, and post-operatively. Special emphasis is given to the assessment and treatment of coexisting disease. Numerous tables and 300 illustrations showcasing various techniques of airway management, shock resuscitation, echocardiography and use of ultrasound for the performance of regional anesthesia in trauma, provide an invaluable reference for the anesthesiologist.