Approach to Internal Medicine by
This fully updated 4th Edition of provides an integrated symptom- and issue-based approach with easy access to high yield clinical information. For each topic, carefully organized sections on different diagnoses, investigations, and treatments are designed to facilitate patient care and examination preparation. Numerous clinical pearls and comparison tables are provided to help enhance learning, and international units (US and metric) are used to facilitate application in everyday clinical practice. The book covers many highly important, rarely discussed topics in medicine (e.g., smoking cessation, obesity, transfusion reactions, needle stick injuries, code status discussion, interpretation of gram stain, palliative care), and new chapters on end-of-life care and depression have been added. The fourth edition includes many reader-friendly improvements such as better formatting, intuitive ordering of chapters, and incorporation of the most recent guidelines for each topic. Approach to Internal Medicine continues to serve as an essential reference for every medical student, resident, fellow, practicing physician, nurse, and physician assistant.
BMJ Clinical Review - Emergency Medicine, Perioperative and Critical Care by
This book represents a collection of carefully selected clinical reviews published in the British Medical Journal focusing on emergency medicine, perioperative and critical care written by highly recognised authors from different backgrounds.
Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing by
The new Seventh Edition of the award-winning classic prepares its users to deliver expert care in this most challenging nursing specialty. It addresses neuroanatomy, assessment, diagnostic evaluation and management of the complete range of neurological disorders for which nurses provide patient care, including trauma, stoke, tumors, seizures, headache, aneurysms, infections, degenerative disorders and features new chatpers on neurological critical care and peripheral neuropathies. The new edition has been thoroughly revised to reflect standards of care based on evidence-based practice. It now includes separate pathophysiology sections in each chapter, new resource guides, such as internet sites and professional and patient information sources, key points summaries, evidence-based boxes, and nursing research features.
Critical Care Medicine by 
Critical Care Nursing by
Confidently handle the complexities of critical care nursing, with the fully updated Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 4th edition. Part of the award-winning Incredibly Easy series, this fun-to-read text is full of fun humor and illustrations, offering plenty of down-to-earth, expert advice and direction on crucial areas such as assessments, diagnostics, imaging, monitoring, pre- and post-operative care, and more. This comprehensive reference is a must-have for class use and NCLEX or certification exam preparation#65533;#65533;and an invaluable on-the-spot clinical guide. Learn the basics of critical care nursing or refresh your skills with brand new content on: o moderate sedation, drug overdose interventions, and pressure ulcer management o specialized areas such as rapid response teams and advanced life support methods o caring for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients Critical Care Nurisng Made Incredibly Easy will help you master the basicswith easy-to-follow guidance on . . . - Up-to-date science and step-by-step directions on nursing procedures for basic, holistic, and system-based critical care, including pain assessment and management, drug administration, dealing with cardiac arrest, assessing brain death, equipment preparation and use, diagnostic testing, ongoing monitoring and evaluations, data collection, nonsurgical treatments, and much more - Flow charts and diagrams lead you through determining symptoms, conditions, causes, tests, treatment, emergency situations, and more - Practice pointers provide practical tips for areas such as dealing with patient and family issues, cultural considerations, ethical issues, end-of-life decisions, and more - Numerous illustrations and words of wisdom from'Nurse Joy' throughout each chapter - Illustrated quick guides to moderate sedation, CPR, emergency cardiac care, treating shock, preventing complications in the critically obese patient, and interventions for drug overdoses and poisoning - Includes special features to help accelerate learning comprehension: o Just the facts An outline of content at start of every chapter o Advice from the experts Practical tips from experienced practitioners o Take charge! What to do in potentially lethal situations o Handle with care Procedures for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients o Ages and stages Issues where the patient#65533;'s age impacts critical care o Write it down Tips on critical care documentation o Quick Quiz NCLEX-style questions (and answers) after every chapter o Memory joggers Simple tricks for remembering complex concepts
Critical Thinking in Long-Term Care Nursing by
Critical Thinking in Long-Term Care Nursing: Skills to Assess, Analyze and Act, is an easy-to-read resource that explains the principles of critical thinking and how to encourage nurses to use critical thinking methods. This essential book covers how to l
Critical Thinking in the Intensive Care Unit by
Critical Thinking in the Intensive Care Unit: Skills to Assess, Analyze, and Act is a new easy-to-read resource that explains the principles of critical thinking and how to encourage nurses to use critical thinking methods. It includes a CD-ROM packed wit
Critical Thinking in the Pediatric Unit by
This essential book covers how to lead classroom sessions training new graduate nurses and experienced nurses in developing critical thinking skills, including successful classroom processes and learning strategies. Critical Thinking in the Pediatric Unit
The ICU Book by
This best-selling resource provides a general overview and basic information for all adult intensive care units. The material is presented in a brief and quick-access format which allows for topic and exam review. It provides enough detailed and specific information to address most all questions and problems that arise in the ICU. Emphasis on fundamental principles in the text should prove useful for patient care outside the ICU as well. New chapters in this edition include hyperthermia and hypothermia syndromes; infection control in the ICU; and severe airflow obstruction. Sections have been reorganized and consolidated when appropriate to reinforce concepts. Purchase The ICU Book, Third Edition and visit TheICUBook.com, which gives you free access to links from references to PubMed, updated regularly; and a directory of Websites handpicked by Dr. Marino.
Initial Management of Acute Medical Patients by
"Initial Management of Acute Medical Patients" is a clinically focused, practical and contemporary guide for assessing and managing patients with acute medical conditions. Suitable for all nurses and healthcare practitioners in medical assessment units and medical wards, as well as A&E staff, it uses a structured approach based on common presenting features and focuses on the first 24 hours of the patient's hospital stay. It draws on a wide range of supporting evidence and also provides sources for further reading. Key features: Written predominantly "by" nurses "for" nurses, this text is also suitable for a range of healthcare professionals, including paramedics and nurse practitioners, and anybody working in an acute care environment, including primary care assessment units, clinical decision units and intermediate care Designed as a quick reference text for use in clinical practiceExtensively referenced throughout, thus increasing its appeal to practitioners at all stages of their careers and to those who are undertaking further study Devotes two entire chapters to assessing and meeting the acute care needs of vulnerable adults (i.e. older adults, those with mental health needs, and those with learning disabilities), and discussing best practice in dealing with sudden deathEach chapter offers clear, concise and down-to-earth information based on a common presenting symptom and provides practical advice, supported by best evidence and the most up to date clinical guidelinesFully updated and extensively expanded to include recent guidelines and procedures
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine is a comprehensive textbook covering both the theoretical and practical aspects of medical and surgical critical care. The Seventh Edition will again be presented as a single volume, and will retain the organizational structure established in in the Fifth Edition--a major overhaul from its two--volume predecessors. The text is generally organized on an organ-systems approach, but has popular sections such as procedures, overdoses and poisonings, trauma, and surgical problems in the ICU. Thoroughly updated for its Seventh Edition, this classic reference remains an unsurpassed source of definitive, practical guidance on adult patient care in the ICU. It provides encyclopedic, multidisciplinary coverage of both medical and surgical intensive care and includes a "how-to" atlas of procedures and a new section on noninvasive monitoring. Each chapter, completely revised, identifies Advances in Management based on randomized controlled clinical trials. The cardiology section has been completely rewritten to reflect advances in management of acute coronary syndromes. Also included are extensive updates on management of COPD, diabetes, oncologic emergencies, and overdoses and poisonings. A companion website will provide instant access to the complete and fully searchable text.
Nursing Medical Emergency Patients by
Nursing Medical Emergency Patients is a practical guide to the nursing care and management of patients with medical emergencies involving system failure. Following an initial chapter on assessment, the authors adopt a system-by-system approach, with an emphasis on the clinical features of medical emergencies, their assessment, diagnosis and treatment. Nursing Medical Emergency Patients is a vital resource for all nurses working with medical emergency patients, and provides an essential companion to both Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient and Treating the Critically Ill Patient. Accessible and reader friendly Integrates theory with practice Adopts an evidence based approach Includes chapter objectives, 'best practice' boxes and case studies Refers to National guidelines and key initiatives e.g. outreach teams Includes legal and ethical issues
Outbreak Investigation, Prevention, and Control in Health Care Settings by
In Today's Era, We Are Forced To Realize That Outbreaks Can Occur At Any Moment. From Anthrax To The Avian Flu, Potential Outbreaks Can Spread Rapidly Through Air, Water, And Other Means. Hospital Personnel Are Now Being Trained To Understand And Monitor Outbreaks In Health Care Facilities. Professionals Both In The Private Health Care Sector And The Public Health System Now Need To Recognize, Investigate, Control And Prevent These Outbreaks. Outbreak Investigation, Prevention, And Control In Health Care Settings Is A Timely Resource For Health Care Professionals Inside And Outside Of The Hospital Covering Topics Such As: Epidemiology Surveillance Programs In Hospital Settings Organisms And Diseases Associated With Outbreaks Ambulatory Care Acute Care Long-Term Care Pseudo-Outbreaks Investigation Control The Second Edition Has Been Completely Updated With Current Information, Tables, Statistics And Suggested Readings.
Trauma Anesthesia by
Trauma is a leading cause of death and disability in modern society. Trauma will continue to be a leading cause of death well into the future. We are all vulnerable to traumatic injury. Managing adult and pediatric victims of major trauma and burns continues to be a great challenge requiring a tremendous amount of dedication and resources. The overall aim of this book is to review the anesthesia considerations for trauma patients and to provide a rational approach to choice of anesthetic techniques and drugs for injured patients. The book consists of thirty-seven chapters that deal in detail with pertinent areas of trauma care, such as airway and shock management, monitoring, vascular access, pharmacology of anesthetic drugs, fluid and blood resuscitation, and the treatment of acute and chronic pain after injury. For several patterns of injuries, including extremity and pelvis, spinal cord, burns, cardiac and great vessel, surgical considerations and management principles are presented to the reader in the chapter preceding the one dealing with anesthesia considerations. Specific chapters review the anesthesia considerations of vulnerable patient populations such as elderly, pediatric, pregnant, and military patients. Other sections deal with important issues of trauma care, including damage control in severe trauma, hypothermia in trauma, mechanical ventilation in critically injured patients, and use of echocardiography and ultrasound in trauma. Training for trauma, including the use of simulation and the role of trauma care systems in facilitating the allocation of resources for optimally managing injured patients are also covered.
The Atlas of Emergency Medicine by
The most complete and trusted visual compendium of emergency medicine—extensively updated with 1500 full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2011! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an excellent study aid, especially for visual learners....This atlas is perhaps the most comprehensive source of high quality emergency medicine images available....This book is outstanding. I used it just before my in-service exam and found it a delightful way to solidify the information with images, which greatly increases the chance of recall."--Doody's Review Service Ideally suited to the bedside practice of emergency medicine, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is the ultimate visual guide to the diagnosis and treatment of common and uncommon conditions encountered in the Emergency Department. Filled with 1500 crisp, clear full-color images, this essential clinical companion is logically organized by organ system and then by problem, making it a practical quick reference for medical students, residents in training, new graduates preparing for their certification exam, the practicing physician, and instructors. The third edition of The Atlas of Emergency Medicine features an even more streamlined presentation with clear, concise text and an unmatched collection of diagnoses-speeding images. Forming the core of the book, these images show you what to look for and are accompanied by brief, high-yield descriptions of clinical problems. The new edition also features an enhanced template, and new coverage of airway emergencies, tropical conditions, toxicologic emergencies, and electrocardiographs. NEW TO THIS EDITION 1,500 full-color clinical photographs (more than twice the amount found in the previous edition) New chapter template: “Clinical Summary”: clinically relevant observations on differential diagnosis “Emergency Department Treatment and Disposition”: a brief overview of need-to-know diagnostic guidelines and recommendations “Clinical Pearls”: instructive tips and insights on specific aspects of conditions which are difficult to find in other texts Four new chapters that enhance the book’s hands-on value: Tropical Medicine: reflects an increased emphasis on global access to healthcare and easier patient travel Toxicology: features an up-to-date, authoritative review of how to diagnose and treat selected toxicological emergencies ECG Abnormalities: presents turnkey insights into the rapid recognition of pathological ECG’s, highlighting the electrocardiographic characteristics of each featured clinical problem Airway Procedures: includes essential information that guides, improves, and expedites the management of airway emergencies
Critical Care Nursing of Older Adults by
2010 AJN Book of the Year Award Winner in Critical Care--Emergency Nursing Designated a Doody's Core Title ""This evidence-based book is an excellent reference for ensuring high-quality management of the elderly and of their particular needs in the critical care setting."" "--AJN" " This] book's contents run the gamut of elder problems and care: physiology, pharmacology, nutrition, restraints, substance abuse....it is a compendium that can be used as a text or a resource." --Claire M. Fagin, PhD, RN, FAAN (From the Foreword) This book is an evidence-based, best-practices guide that directs the bedside care of critically ill elders. The book serves as a reference on major clinical issues for nurses working at the forefront of care-from nurses in critical care and step-down units to those in trauma and emergency departments. Nurse educators at all degree levels will also find this book to be useful as a textbook and resource for students. The authors provide evidence-based, practical guidelines for both the complex clinical and management aspects of care. The book offers comprehensive coverage of all the issues caregivers need to be up to date on, including the standards of practice for geriatric care, new technologies, pharmacotherapy, pain management issues, ethical issues, and much more. Key topics discussed: Strategies for patient safety for older patients in the intensive care setting Family responses to critical care of the older adult Infection, sepsis, and immune function Understanding and managing sleep disorders in older patients in the ICU Heart failure in the critically ill older patient Substance abuse and withdrawal in elderly patients
ECG Workout by
Grasp the electrocardiography basics and identify arrhythmias accurately, with the freshly updated ECG Workout, 7th Edition. Fully addressing the most common arrhythmias, this clearly worded text will take you step-by-step through expert ECG tracing interpretation methods, including differentiating among rhythm groups, equipment use, and management protocols. This is the go-to ECG guide for both student training and professional review%perfect for physicians, nurses, medical and nursing students, paramedics, emergency medical technicians, telemetry technicians, and related practitioners. Get a strong grounding in accurate ECG readings with . . . - NEW pull-out arrhythmia summary cards help you interpret end-of-chapter practice strips - NEW and updated advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) guidelines incorporated in each arrhythmia chapter - NEW and updated figures, boxes, tables, and additional practice strips - Updated coverage of all ECG concepts and skills, including: - Illustrated anatomy and physiology of the heart - Electrical basis of electrocardiology - Arrhythmia chapters: sinus, atrial, junctional and AV blocks, ventricular and bundle-branch block rhythms%examples, causes, clinical treatments, and practice strips - Step-by-step direction on interpreting rhythm strips - Components of the ECG tracing: waveforms, intervals, - segments, complexes, and waveform identification - Discussion of cardiac monitors, lead systems, lead placement, ECG artifacts, and troubleshooting monitor problems - Methods for precise rate calculation - Discussion of cardiac pacemakers: types, indications, function, pacemaker terminology, malfunctions, and pacemaker analysis, with practice tracings - ECG conversion table ensures precise heart rate calculation with plastic pocket version inside back cover - Skillbuilder practice strips%more than 600 life-size ECG tracings: - End-of-chapter strips from actual patients, with 3-second - indicators for rapid-rate calculation, and answers at back of book - Posttest with mix of more than 100 waveform rhythm strips, for student testing or self-evaluation
Handbook of Critical Care by
This book is a pocket-sized basic intensive care manual. The handbook is divided into 15 chapters, eight substantial ones covering the major organ systems, as well as infection, nutrition, physical injury and toxicology, and brief chapters on scoring systems and obstetrics. Many of the sections are loaded with very clear pictures, comparative tables, diagrams and lists, and provide more than adequate information for juniors training in intensive care medicine. The definitions, aetiology, clinical features and differential diagnoses are well covered. Excellent use is made of bullet points and numbering, which vastly increases the clarity of presentation compared with many other books that are pitched at a similar audience.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Critical Care, Second Edition by
The premier evidence-based reference in critical care Clinical pearls conclude each chapter Concise, high-yield text in a pocket-sized handbook This updated and revised edition of the classic bedside pocket reference remains the gold standard in critical care medicine. The new edition maintains Dr. Mariks trademark humor and engaging writing style, while adding numerous references to make this book the most current and thorough treatment of evidence-based critical care available. The handbook enables the clinician to find the evidence to support or refute an intervention and to help choose the most appropriate, cost-effective treatment. The analysis of treatment strategies is presented by organ system, and the handbook also covers miscellaneous ICU topics (such as sedation, toxicology, radiology, and sepsis) based on the most frequently found and difficult to solve problems in ICU patient management.
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care by
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care is an essential manual for all trainee and qualified surgeons. It covers every aspect of surgical trauma care. Provides clear access to all necessary information, from theory of injury through to individual organ system injury and resources such as injury scoring Provides clear surgical guidance on how to deal with major trauma Updated to incorporate all recent developments including massive transfusion and current surgical techniques of exposure and repair Contains hints, tips and tricks, while highlighting the pitfalls that can occur when dealing with major trauma A truly global perspective based on the IATSIC approved DSTC course, Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care will give you the confi dence to focus on life-saving surgical techniques when faced with challenging and unfamiliar incidents of trauma. Written by the faculty who teach the DSTC Course, developed for the International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC), it is ideal for all surgeons who deal with major surgical trauma on an infrequent basis.
Manual of Pediatric Intensive Care by
Pediatric critical care medicine is a relatively new specialty. It is, however, undergoing dramatic changes— changes spurred by an exponential rise in knowledge and therapeutic options for the critically ill or injured as well as by the recognition of the importance of team dynamics, ethical decision making, and family involvement in care. The delivery of pediatric critical care should ideally start from the first telephone contact to a practitioner and extend beyond the delivery of care within the walls of the intensive care unit. Adaptation of critical care expertise to environments outside the double doors of the intensive care unit, where resources may be limited and practitioners may have varying degrees of skill, expertise, and comfort in treating the critically ill child, poses tremendous challenges on many fronts.
Maternal-Newborn Nursing: the critical components of nursing care by
Trends and issues -- Ethics and standards of practice issues -- Genetics, conception, fetal development, and reproductive technology -- Physiological aspects of antepartum care -- Psycho-social-cultural aspects of the antepartum period -- Antepartal tests -- High-risk antepartum nursing care -- Intrapartum assessment and interventions -- Fetal heart rate assessment -- High-risk labor and birth -- Intrapartum and postpartum care of Cesarean birth families -- Postpartum physiological assessments and nursing care -- The transition to parenthood -- High-risk postpartum nursing care -- Physiological and behavorial responses of the neonate -- Discharge planning and teaching -- High-risk neonatal nursing care.
Patient safety and quality : an evidence-based handbook for nurses by
Book is divided into the following sections: Patient safety and quality -- Evidence-based practice -- Patient-centered care -- Working conditions, work environment -- Critical opportunities for patient safety and quality -- Tools. v. 1. Section I: Patient safety and quality -- Section II: Evidence-based practice -- Section III: Patient-centered care -- v. 2. Section IV: Working conditions and the work environment for nurses -- Section V: Critical opportunities for patient safety and quality improvement -- v. 3. Section VI: Tools for quality improvement and patient safety.
Principles of Critical Care by
The classic text in critical care medicine A Doodys Core Title for 2011 4 STAR DOODYS REVIEW "This is one of the leading textbooks in the field."--"Doodys Review Service" The 3rd Edition of this classic text is streamlined and focused on the needs of the working critical care physician and features important new treatment strategies. Organized by organ systems, this text, the only critical care source that includes evidence-based learning, guides physicians from initial patient assessment and differential diagnosis through therapeutic plan.
The Washington Manual of Critical Care by
Prepared by residents and faculty at the renowned Washington University School of Medicine, this useful pocket manual contains easy-to-read algorithms for the management of more than 80 medical and surgical problems that arise in the intensive care unit.  Chapters focus on specific problems and the algorithms provide straightforward approaches to the management of these issues.  Coverage includes an entire section on procedures commonly  performed in the intensive care unit; appendices included common equations in the ICU, drug-drug interactions, and common drug dosages and side effects. New chapters include: Pulmonary Embolism, Clostridium difficile and Other Infectious Causes of Diarrhea, Fetal-Maternal Critical Care, Alternative Hemodynamic Monitoring, and Functional Hemodynamic Monitoring.
416-864-5059
hslibrary@smh.ca
Follow @SMHealthSciLib
