Find ebooks available through the St. Michael's Hospital Health Sciences Library
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version) by Donald Venes; Clarence Wilbur TaberTaber's 22 bring meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly every health care profession, ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. A wealth of resources puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips... FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, and now with annual updates--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. FREE, Taber's Flash, a flash card app--simplifies studying. Web, mobile, and print platforms--ensure access in any setting. Crossword puzzles, flashcards, and listen-and-learn activities--meet the needs of visual, kinesthetic, and auditory learners. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence.
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram G. Katzung; Susan B. Masters; Anthony J. TrevorThe most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine "Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 12e" covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters.
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
Drug class reviewsContents: Agents for Overactive Bladder; Alzheimer's Drugs; Atypical Antipsychotic Drugs; Beta Adrenergic Blockers; Beta2-Agonists; Calcium Channel Blockers; Constipation Drugs; Disease-modifying drugs for Multiple Sclerosis; HMG-CoA Reductase Inhibitors; Inhaled Corticosteroids; Long-Acting Opioid Analgesics; Drugs for Neuropathic Pain; Newer Antiemetics; Newer Antihistamines; Newer Antiplatelet Agents; Newer Drugs for Insomnia; Oral Hypoglycemics; etc.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs (the Teddy Bear Book) Eleventh Edition by Stephanie J. Phelps; A. Jill Thompson; Tracy M. Hagemann; Kelley R$. LeePediatric Injectable Drugs, also known as “The Teddy Bear Book,” is one of the ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to helping pharmacists treat pediatric patients with injectable drugs.For more than 20 years, pharmacists and hospital pediatric teams have looked to Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book) for the most comprehensive research-based information on pediatric intravenous infusions.Now for the first time since 2013, a new edition of this trusted resource is available! The “Teddy Bear Book”, is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that pediatric practitioners face when dealing with pediatric injectable drugs, such as limited fluid amounts, limited intravenous sites, and maximum doses. The updated edition of this comprehensive resource by respected editors Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD, BCPS, Kelley R. Lee, PharmD, Amanda Jill Thompson, PharmD, and Tracy M. Hagemann, PharmD, FCCP, includes 15 new monographs and updates based on the latest evidence-backed literature.
Publication Date: 2018
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Louis Sanford Goodman; Laurence L. Brunton; Bruce Chabner; Bjorn KnollmanThe landmark text in medical pharmacology is now in full color "Includes DVD with image bank" A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This 12th edition of the most authoritative book in pharmacology is the best both in content and physical appearance.This edition of Goodman & Gilman's is divided into nine sections, covering: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Endocrine Pharmacology Gastrointestinal Pharmacology Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology More than a textbook, "Goodman & Gilman's" is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Poisoning and Drug Overdose by Kent R. OlsonAn instant-answer guide you can turn to for on-the-spot treatment of poisoning and drug overdose. Divided into four sections, easily identified by dictionary-style tabs: Section I covers initial emergency management, including treatment of complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and decontamination and enhanced elimination procedures Section II provides detailed information on 150 common drugs and poisons Section III describes the use of antidotes and therapeutic drugs to treat poisoning Section IV describes the medical management of chemical and occupational exposures, with a table of more than 500 industrial chemicals.