Handbook of Nutrition and the Kidney by William E. Mitch; T. Alp IkizlerSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Revised and updated by experts in both nephrology and clinical nutrition, this seventh edition of Handbook of Nutrition and the Kidney provides practical and clinically relevant information for addressing the nutritional needs of patients with acute and chronic kidney disease. Concise yet in-depth, the book is packed with tables and charts in every chapter, and outlines detailed and daily nutritional requirements, including proteins, vitamins, minerals, lipids, other fatty acids, and more. Features: Useful for physicians, dietitians, nurses, and anyone who works with patients afflicted by chronic kidney disease (CKD), hemodialysis (HD), peritoneal dialysis (PD), and kidney transplants. Each chapter contains tables and figures that visually demonstrate nutritional principles and enable you to find essential information quickly. Presents easy-to-follow sample menus with lists of ingredients and dietary recommendations. Chapters cover the affects of kidney disease on metabolism and hormonal function, nutritional approaches to caring for different patient types, an overview of nutritional biochemistry and digestive physiology in healthy adults, and more. Includes guidelines and requirements for people with hypertension. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time --providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Call Number: WJ39 .H2357 2018
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Nutritional Epidemiology by Walter WillettThis text is intended for those who wish to understand the complex relationships between diet and risks of important diseases, such as cancer and cardiovascular disease. It is aimed both at researchers engaged in the unraveling of these complex relationships and at readers of the rapidly multiplying and often confusing scholarly literature on the subject.
Nurse As Educator Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice by Susan B. BastableNurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, health promotion, and nursing education. This text can be used in undergraduate or even graduate courses; one of the strengths of this text is that it is written in a style that enables students to easily understand new concepts and readily apply them. Other strong features include coverage of the motivational and sociocultural differences that affect teaching and learning. The Fourth Edition of this best-selling text has been updated and revised to include the latest research and data in the field of nurse education. Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition is the text of choice in nursing education courses and programs, as well as for institutional and community-based settings. The text includes access to the Navigate Companion Website for students which features engaging learning tools. Updates to the new edition include discussion of the following: The IOM's new report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change Advancing Health New material on how to teach motor skill learning National Action Plan around health literacy New content on the transgender population Updated formulas to measure patient health literacy Completely revised chapter on Educating Learners with Disabilities This text is a must have for either undergraduate or graduate courses.
Call Number: WY105 .B324 2014
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
Skills for Communicating with Patients by Jonathan Silverman; Suzanne Kurtz; Juliet DraperSkills for Communicating with Patients, Third Edition is one of two companion books on improving communication in medicine, which together provide a comprehensive approach to teaching and learning communication skills throughout all levels of medical education in both specialist and family medicine. Since their publication, the first edition of this book and its companion, Teaching and Learning Communication Skills in Medicine, have become established standard texts in communication skills teaching throughout the world. This substantially expanded third edition has been fully updated in relation to the current literature and revised to reflect the explosion of research on healthcare communication. It incorporates considerable evidence in support of the skills of the Calgary-Cambridge Guides, offering a comprehensive and now even more evidence-based delineation of the skills that make a difference when communicating with patients. The book explores the specific skills of doctor-patient communication and provides wide-ranging evidence of the improvement that those skills can make to health outcomes and everyday clinical practice.
Call Number: W62 .S587 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-28
Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient by Duncan Bootland; Evan Coughlan; Robert Galloway; Stephanie Goubet; Emily McWhirterHaving an understanding of critical appraisal and evidence-based medicine is a prerequisite to being an effective clinician. However, critical appraisal is often taught by people not involved in day-to-day clinical care, meaning the clinical relevance is not always brought to the fore. This book takes a different approach. It is written by clinicians, for clinicians. It takes the reader step by step through the process so that any journal article can be easily read, evidence evaluated and the results - and their reliability - truly understood. By integrating this with knowledge of local skills and resources and patient preference, the reader will be able to apply the best possible care that his or her patients deserve. This accessible book is suitable for undergraduates and postgraduates of all medical specialties, nursing, paramedics, pharmacists and all allied health professions. It is the ideal reference for anyone needing help writing a clinical topic review, reviewing a paper in a journal club or preparing for a critical appraisal exam. But most importantly, it is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients, using the best evidence, tailored to the individual.
Call Number: WB18.2 .B725 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
The Essential Guide to Doing a Health and Social Care Literature Review by Jaqui Hewitt-TaylorThis step-by-step guide takes the reader logically through the process of undertaking a literature review, from determining when this methodology might be useful, through to publishing the findings. It is designed particularly for students undertaking a dissertation using literature review methodology. However, it also caters to practitioners who wish to review the existing evidence in order to develop practice. Key features of the text include: a chapter on what makes a good literature review, so that readers are clear and confident about what they're aiming f∨ discussion of the value of literature reviews, whether for fulfilling the requirements of a course or for developing practice; a chapter structure that reflects the structure of a typical dissertation by literature review, making the material intuitive and easy to navigate; case examples throughout to illustrate how methodological principles work in practice; a troubleshooting guide to provide support and advice on common problems when carrying out a literature review; advice on the dissemination of findings. Written by an established author with significant experience teaching and supervising students doing literature reviews, this invaluable text offers systematic and insightful advice on all aspects of literature review methodology, from problem identification to synthesizing information to forming conclusions. It is ideal for any student or practitioner in health and social care looking to undertake a literature review for study or practice purposes.
Call Number: W84.3 .H611 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis by Harris Cooper (Editor); Larry V. Hedges (Editor); Jeff C. ValentineResearch synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: Q180.55 .M4 H35 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-14
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis BlessingIntroduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition will help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients. NEW TO THE FOURTH EDITION NEW Chapter: Statistics in Health Care NEW Chapter: Systematic Reviews Heavily revised chapter on the regulatory protection of human subjects, providing readers with a comprehensive look at the workings of the institutional review board Completely rewritten chapter on qualitative research Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter, presenting the chapter's desired outcomes to the reader Instructor Resources: Instructor's Manual, Slides in PowerPoint format, Test Bank Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: W20.5 .I6193 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Seven Steps to a Comprehensive Literature Review by Anthony J. Onwuegbuzie; Rebecca FrelsThis dynamic guide to doing literature reviews demystifies the process in seven steps to show researchers how to produce a comprehensive literature review. Teaching techniques to bring systematic thoroughness and reflexivity to research, the authors show how to achieve a rich, ethical and reflexive review. What makes this book unique: Focuses on multimodal texts and settings such as observations, documents, social media, experts in the field and secondary data so that your review covers the full research environment Puts mixed methods at the centre of the process Shows you how to synthesize information thematically, rather than merely summarize the existing literature and findings Brings culture into the process to help you address bias and understand the role of knowledge interpretation, guiding you through Teaches the CORE of the literature review - Critical thinking, Organization, Reflections and Evaluation - and provides a guide for reflexivity at the end of each of the seven steps Visualizes the steps with roadmaps so you can track progress and self-evaluate as you learn the steps This book is the essential best practices guide for students and researchers, providing the understanding and tools to approach both the 'how' and 'why' of a rigorous, comprehensive, literature review.