LibGuides: Anatomy Subject Guide: CMCC Mobile Resources

Free Mobile Resources

Academic Medicine
Academic Medicine's dynamic app optimizes the best in digital technology to enhance a print–like reading experience with seamless multimedia integration, easy navigation, and more. Easy–to–read, full–text articles that you can share via email ; Access to tables and supplemental content including content published–ahead–of–print, eBooks, and the complete issue archive
Diagnosaurus
Differential diagnosis tool.
EBM Calculator
Evidence-based research calculator developed by the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine. Click on "Handheld Resources".
ePocrates RX
Free mobile drug and formulary reference.
MedCalc
Medical calculator.
Medscape Reference
For clinical reference needs. Requires registration.
MemoWare
Free e-books.
Mobile MedlinePlus:
Bookmark this page for a mobile friendly version of the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus
NCBI Bookshelf
Some e-books available.
NLM Mobile
National Library of Medicine's resources available for PDA - includes MEDLINE database "MD on Tap".
PocketSnips
A series of procedural videos which you can view on the internet.
PubMed Mobile
Mobile version of access to the popular NLM database which includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

CMCC Medical / Health Apps and Sites

AccessMedicine (Mobile Site)
Medical e-books, i.e. Harrison's, Diagnosaurus
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
1. Create a free account with AccessMedicine from within the UHN network
2. Use this account to login to the mobile site: m.accessmedicine.com

Here are the mobile resources for medical, health and chiropractic research and information licensed by the CMCC Library.

DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool designed for health care professionals for use at the point-of-care.

DynaMed consists of nearly 3000 clinically-relevant topic summaries. Also includes Lexi-Comp Drug Information.
more...less...
1.Request a serial number from dynamedsupport@ebscohost.com. Use your CMCC email and indicate the type of device you have.
2.To download DynaMed, you must first register and download the Skyscape app. Instructions for this step and DynaMed installation can be found at the following website.
3.Serial numbers expire after one year. Go through the same process for a new serial number.

Skyscape supports the installation of DynaMed on up to 5 devices of the same operating system
EBSCOhost Application (iOS & Android)
Provides access to the EBSCO databases.
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
1. Access CINAHL from within the UHN Network (select EBSCOhost Web)
2. At the bottom of the webpage, select the "New: EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications" link. You will be prompted to send yourself an email. Send the email to an address that can be accessed from the mobile device
3. From your mobile device, download the application
4. After downloading has finished, open the email from your mobile device and click on the authentication key
Available for iPhone and Android
EBSCOhost Mobile (Mobile Site)
Provides access to the EBSCO databases.
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
1. Login to UHN's intranet from your mobile device (go to https://intranet.remote.uhn.ca/)
2. Go directly to CINAHL mobile (http://m.ebscohost.com) or select CINAHL from the library's database list
3. Select EBSCOhost Mobile
Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL)
ICL is a responsive site that includes a searchable database of the peer-reviewed chiropractic literature, an open access library of articles and electronic books, a Google custom search called ChiroSearch, and many other resources related to chiropractic. ICL is created by the Chiropractic Library Collaboration, a working group of the Association of Chiropractic Colleges.
Journal of Rheumatology (Mobile Site)
Mobile site version of the Journal of Rheumatology.
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
1. Obtain a voucher code for the Journal of Rheumatology from within the UHN network
2. Use this voucher to authenticate your access to the mobile site on your mobile device: m.jrheum.org/voucher/use
Library Catalogue (OPAC)
Search our library catalogue for books, journals, e-books, audiovisual materials and more.
Natural Standard
Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that systematically reviews scientific evidence on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition
more...less...
1.Using your CMCC email, request a serial number by sending an email to James Smith-Stewart at jsmithstewart@naturalstandard.com.
2. Indicate what operating system you are using (e.g. Apple, Android, Blackberry). You can use the same serial number for devices with the same OS (e.g. iPhone and iPad) but you will need different numbers for devices on different systems.
NLM Drug Information Portal (Mobile Site)
Drug information
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
From any device, go to NLM Drug Information Portal mobile site: (http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/m.drugportal/)
OrthoEvidence
Mobile friendly orthopaedic–only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts.
more...less...
Mobile devices will load a mobile version of the website (you can install an icon on your home screen to open the site). The company is working on an iOS app which will be an enhanced mobile experience and that will launch in 2014
PubMed Mobile (Mobile Site)
Citations and abstracts from biomedical journals dating back to the mid-1960's. Most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
From any device, go to PubMed's mobile site: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
ScienceDirect (iOS, Android, & BlackBerry)
Mobile searching of ScienceDirect journal titles
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
1. From your device, download the application Available for iPhone/iPad, Android, and Blackberry.
2. For authentication purposes you will have to register for a personal user name and password in ScienceDirect. Just fill out the form and click register.
3. Use your e-mail address as your User Name and the password you just created as your Password on your mobile device.
4. You will sent an activation e-mail with an activation link embedded in it. Open your e-mail and click on the link in the activation e-mail from Elsevier ScienceDirect.

Reviews & Comparisons

Apple: Healthcare Apps in Hospitals and Clinics
This document, developed by Apple, describes some of the ways healthcare apps are transforming the healthcare industry. Learn about clinical reference, access to your EMR, medical imaging apps, monitoring patients remotely, and personal productivity.
iMedicalApps
Reviews of medical mobile apps by health professionals and medical students. Browse by medical specialty and/or type of device.
Medical App Journal
Website created by and for medical professionals to review clinical mobile apps. Search by keyword or browse by discipline

Index to Chiropractic Literature: Follow Us

New: OrthoEvidence!

OrthoEvidence is the mobile-friendly, online source for high quality orthopaedic–only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts. It is an evidence-based summary provider; built for the orthopaedic community as well as for health care providers and their patients everywhere.

Other Useful Applications

Here are other useful applications for managing research with your mobile device:

EasyBib (iOS)
Create MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations by scanning a book bar code
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
From your device, download the application for iPhone
Mendeley lite (iOS)
Citation management Syncs with local and web-based Mendeley data
more...less...
How to Access the Resource
From your device, download the application for iPhone and iPad