UHN Virtual Library: Workshop Descriptions

Virtual Library 101
The Virtual Library (VL) is the one-stop-shop for resources provided by UHN Library & Information Services. Come and learn how to quickly and easily access the library resources and services available to you.

By the end of the session participants will be able to:

• Access the VL
• Use UHN OneSearch to quickly access journal articles, e-books, books and more!
• Locate databases, point of care tools and evidence-based resources on the Virtual Library
• Request articles or books not available at UHN
• Contact your information specialist
   

Searching Medline: Finding Evidence to Answer Clinical Questions
Finding evidence is an integral step of Evidence Based Practice. MEDLINE is a leading source for finding biomedical scholarly literature. This session will present theory and techniques for building effective search strategies using the Ovid MEDLINE advanced search interface to find answers to clinical questions. 

By the end of this session participants will:

• Be familiar with formulating clinical and searchable questions using the PICO model
• Search Ovid MEDLINE using the advanced search functions
• Determine which primary type of study will yield the best evidence and focus their search accordingly.
• Know how to save and manage their search strategies and results.
   

PubMed Basics

This interactive and introductory online session will demonstrate effective PubMed searching techniques to help you find the evidence you need. PubMed is a free resource that contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. 

By the end of the session participants will:

• Know how to build an effective search strategy using the PubMed search interface 
• Be able to select and manage search results
• Use clinical queries to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions
• Use PubMed features such as filters, clipboard and My NCBI

Find a 34min recording of the PubMed Basics workshop offered online on May 12, 2021 on YouTube, as well as the handouts for the workshop.

Nursing Resource Gems
UHN Libraries are committed to supporting nurses at all stages of their careers. This workshop provides an overview of UHN Libraries resources containing valuable content for nurses and nursing students, from nursing focused articles to mobile apps!

By the end of the workshop participants will:

• Be aware of the many library resources containing nursing content
• Have a basic understanding of the types of content within each resource
• Know how to find resource of the Virtual Library
   

Searching CINAHL
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the most comprehensive source nursing and allied health literature. This workshop will teach proper theory and techniques for building effective search strategies using the CINAHL advanced search interface.

By the end of the workshop participants will:

• Know how to build an effective search strategy
• Understand key concepts including searching by subject terms and keywords and applying Boolean operators
• Be fully familiar with the advanced search interface used by the EBSCOhost CINAHL platform
• Know how to save and manage their search strategies and results.
   

Google, Google Scholar and You 
Learn to use Google to better meet your research needs! This workshop will outline tips and tricks for searching Google and Google Scholar, demonstrate the difference between these and databases like PubMed, and teach you how to critically evaluate online search tools.

By the end of the session participants will:

• Understand the differences between search engines (like Google) and databases (like PubMed)
• Better understand search results from Google and Google Scholar
• Improve Google and Google Scholar search results by implementing advanced search methods
• Apply established criteria to evaluate and compare search features of Google Scholar and databases
   

The Right Review for You
Thinking about doing a systematic review? Scoping review? Rapid review? Are you sure? This session will teach you what it means to do a systematic review or other type of knowledge synthesis, and help you understand what review “type” best fits your research question, timeline and goals.

By the end of this session participants will:

• Understand the difference between systematic and non-systematic reviews
• Understand systematic methodology and systematic review types
• Be aware of tools to help determine the review type suited to their needs
• Know where to access systematic review resources on the Virtual Library

Find a 27min recording of The Right Review for You workshop offered online on November 18, 2020 on YouTube, as well as the slides and handouts used for the workshop. 

Systematic Review Overview
Systematic reviews, if well done, provide a reliable and minimally bias source of information on topics of concern to clinical practice. Patient safety and responsible health care services are on the line. Come learn about the 8 steps involved in a systematic review, and why you need to elicidate each before you get started. 

By the end of this session, participants will:

• Understand the 8 steps of a systematic review
• Recognize the important of developing an 'a priori' protocol
• Recognize the value of record keeping in all systematic review activities 
• See the need for rigor and expenditure of effort that a systematic review entails

Find a 45min recording of the Systematic Review Overview workshop offered online on February 17, 2021 on YouTube, as well as the handouts for the workshop.

EndNote Fundamentals (Demonstration only)

EndNote is a reference management software used to manage bibliographies and references. It’s often used when writing essays and articles. This session is designed for people with little to no experience using EndNote. This session will be a demonstration of fundamental EndNote features, and not be a hands-on session.

By the end of this session, participants will have learned to:

• Get citations into EndNote
• Edit citations in EndNote
• Get citations out of EndNote and into a manuscript
  
  

EndNote Advanced (Demonstration only)
This session builds on the EndNote Fundamentals session to demonstrate some of the advanced feature of EndNote. Note that this session will be a demonstration of EndNote features, and not be a hands-on session.

Attendees are expected to:

• Have a basic working understanding of EndNote software
• Be familiar with importing and editing citations in EndNote, and using Cite-While-You-Write

By the end of this session, participants will have learned to:

• Import citations from Google Scholar
• Download EndNote Plug-Ins
• Create Smart Groups
• Convert EndNote data to use with Excel
   

Author Identity – Have You Established Yours?
Learn the value of establishing your own author identity! This session will introduce you to five author identity resources: ORCID, ResearcherID, Scopus Author Identifier, Google Scholar, and the Canadian Common CV. We will discuss the benefits and limitations of each.

By the end of this session participants will:

• Know where to find the UHN VL subject guide, Managing Your Author Identity.
• Learn the benefits of establishing an “author identity”
• Be aware of five specific author identity resources
• Understand which of these resources work well with one another
• Understand how database searching can be done with an author identity number