LibGuides: Seniors' Health Guide: Databases

Databases

Access Medicine Features a collection of medical textbooks, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, videos, calculators and tools
CINAHL Complete CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Clinical Skills (Mosby Online) Clinical Skills database combines over 2,000 evidence-based skills and procedures with competency management features to create a powerful resource for nurses, therapists and other clinicians.
Cochrane - All EBM Reviews A collection of six databases (Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED) that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
Cochrane Clinical Answers Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making.
Cochrane Systematic Reviews Systematic summaries of evidence of the effects of healthcare interventions used for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
Global Index Medicus (GIM) The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries
Health Business Elite This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. Updated on a daily basis, it is an indispensable resource for both healthcare professionals and researchers
Lexicomp Provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools
Longwoods
Medline Bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information that includes citations and abstracts for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, and health care
Natural Medicines Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies
OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) a free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition Provides nutrition practitioners with ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition and offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice
ProQuest: Coronavirus Research Database The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS.
ProQuest: Nursing & Allied Health Scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews best used for those preparing for a career in healthcare, teaching patient care, or engaged in nursing research.
ProQuest: Publicly Available Content Database A multidisciplinary database of open access scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world including journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.
ProQuest Databases Provides simultaneous searching of 3 ProQuest databases: Coronavirus Research Database, Nursing & Allied Health, and Publicly Available Content Database
PubMed Comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books including the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
RxTx (eCPS) Providing health care providers a robust, intuitive solution to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information, including comparative and evaluative information on treatment options for more than 250 common medical conditions, easy-to-use decision algorithms and tables of drug choices.

416-285-3666 x 4300 hslibrary@unityhealth.to Follow @SMHealthSciLib