LibGuides: UHN Virtual Library: COVID-19 Research Resources

Help!

CRIS Spotlight on Resources for Conducting COVID-19 Research
Information about funding opportunities, published and preprint research resources, and resources for data visualization, networking, surveys, computing, and more from the University of Toronto Centre for Research & Innovation Support.
Transpose
Find journal policies about preprints, peer review etc. in Transpose. This will help you consider whether to make a preprint of your research available, and/or where to submit an article you have already made available as a preprint.
Emerging Evidence
Do you have a question about an emerging COVID-19 topic that could impact practices at UHN? Ask us! We'll send you the current evidence and post the answer for anyone else who might need to know as well.
Thinking about doing a review?
Find out about types of reviews and what they require
The Publication Cycle
Has information about getting organized, writing protocols, reporting guidelines, predatory journals and more.
Online learning module for COVID-19 research from Gerstein Science Information Centre
No UofT affiliation required, the module "Navigating the COVID-19 Evidence Landscape" will help you to better:
1. Describe different types of information sources and the evidence processing involved in creating them
2. Understand the unique special considerations to be aware of when searching for and using evidence for Covid-19
Upcoming events for Ask Gerstein
Classes, learning sessions, webinars etc. from Gerstein Library on topics like writing, "Strategies for Systematic, Scoping, or Other Comprehensive Searches of Literature" and more.

Statement on Data Sharing in Public Health Emergencies

Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak
Many journals and funders have signed on to the joint statement on sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (nCoV) outbreak.

Connect with Researchers

COVID-19 Research at UHN
You'll find a list of current research projects on COVID-19 at UHN on the Research Intranet. If you are off site and want to access this page, log in to the intranet and go to "Research" at the very top of the page, then either click on the news item "COVID-19 Research at UHN" or search for it in the bar at the top of the page.

CanCOVID.ca
Described by some as "like Slack for COVID-19 research", CanCOVID is an expert network of Canadian COVID-19 researchers, clinical collaborators, and healthcare stakeholders from across the country. If you want to access this networking tool and have trouble from on-site, try using a non-UHN computer.

COVID-19 Evidence Network to support Decision-making (COVID-END)

COVID-END
A group at McMaster that has come together to help coordinate and reduce duplication in the explosion of research activities around COVID-19 including evidence synthesis, guideline development, and more.

Datasets

Datasets from #HowsMyFlattening
The data sources used by #HowsMyFlattening, "A centralized data analytics and visualization hub monitoring Ontario's response to COVID-19" with links to contact the source of the data and to download the updated data.

COVID-19 Specific Literature Resources

LitCOVID
LitCOVID is a curated literature hub, updated daily, for articles about the 2019 novel coronavirus in PubMed. It is organized by topics and geographic location; you can search the collection via a simple search bar.
COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
Find complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) on COVID related topics in medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive"). Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review.
WHO Global Research on Coronavirus Disease
Updated daily, this database of the latest scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19 is compiled by WHO from bibliographic databases, hand searches of the tables of contents of relevant journals and other relevant items that come to their attention.
COVID-19 Primer
Read summaries and discover trends in the latest research papers and the conversations around them. With a dashboard, a daily briefing, research productivity by category and topic, a listing of individual papers, news items, terminology and information about researchers, the Primer is updated every 24hrs.
COVID 19 results from the TRIP Database
TRIP searches select health sciences sources and results include research, guidelines, textbooks etc. You will find many fewer results here, but possibly different ones from other resources.

Study Registries

Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register
Studies on COVID-19 related questions aggregated by Cochrane. Data for this register are sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP), and the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database PubMed
COVID-19 Trials Tracker
The COVID-19 Trials Tracker has "structured, cleaned data from clinical trial registries on studies of COVID-19 and tracks the availability of their results." As of April 9 2020, they got their trial data from the ICTRP "which holds structured data from 18 individual trial registries including ClinicalTrials.gov" and is "updated weekly or monthly depending on the registry", but they may add more sources over time.

Appraised and/or Synthesized Evidence

Oxford CEBM COVID-19 Evidence Service
CEBM is providing synthesized evidence on COVID-19 related questions updated regularly.
COVID-19 Evidence Alerts from McMaster PLUS
Updated every weekday with the current best evidence from MEDLINE. Reports are appraised for scientific merit, relevance and importance.
Coronavirus - COVID-19 - iloveevidence L*OVE
Find evidence that has been pre-screened as relevant for decision making using a menu that filters results for the type of question you are asking.
"We have screened 14971 articles about Coronavirus - COVID-19 and selected 1697 as relevant for decision-making"
COVID-19 Rapid Evidence Reviews
Find completed and underway rapid reviews on COVID-19 topics.
The National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
COVID-19 Drug Evidence Initiative (CDEI)
An accessible resource with up-to-date summaries and critical appraisals of all randomized controlled trials for COVID-19 drug therapies. Sign up to receive weekly news and updates.
COVID19 Recommendations
Collects trustworthy recommendations on COVID19 for clinical, public health and health policy.
Developed in collaboration between Cochrane Canada, the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Infectious Diseases, Research Methods and Recommendations at McMaster University, Evidence Prime, the Norwegian Institute of Public Health , the Guidelines International Network and many other institutions or organizations.

Search Strings

Search Strings for Health Sciences Databases - Gerstein Science Information Centre - Resources for Researching the Coronavirus
Find search strings you can paste into OVID Medline, PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, Google Scholar and other sources to find COVID-19 related research.
COVID-19 Literature Searches from the Medical Library Association
Search strings on COVID related topics you can paste into databases including PubMed, OVID Medline, OVID Embase, etc.

Research Guides

COVID-19 Clinical Research - from the Ontario Medical Association
Extensive guide to resources for and about COVID-19 clinical research, including clinical trials, evidence summaries, statistics, vaccines, etc.
Resources for Researching the Coronavirus - COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide - Gerstein Science Information Centre
This guide includes RSS feeds, curated research collections, living map of the evidence, preprints & rapid reviews, clinical trials, datasets, lab protocols and more
Guide to COVID-19 evidence sources - Find Evidence - McMaster University Health Forum
This guide includes an extensive list of sources for research evidence on COVID-19
For Researchers section of the UBC Coronavirus 2019 Wiki
This wiki covers everything COVID-19, and this section includes search strings you can use in PubMed, Medline and Google Scholar, links to publisher COVID portals, multimedia resources, international resources and more.