Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eBooks Recommended for Exam Prep
Certified Respiratory Therapist Exam Review Guide by
Publication Date: 2010
Certified Respiratory Therapist Exam Review Guide is a comprehensive study guide for respiratory therapy students and graduates of accredited respiratory therapy education programs who are seeking to take the entry-level Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) credentialing exam from the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC).
Print Books Recommended for Exam Prep
Respiratory Care Calculations by
Call Number: WF 18 CHA 2012 (circulating collection)
Publication Date: 2012
This book covers the important math functions associated with the practice of respiratory therapy. It can be used by students as a self assessment tool to ensure they understand how to properly interpret and conduct essential calculations. The text contains examples, practice exercises and useful notes.
Respiratory Care Exam Review, 4th edition by
Call Number: WF 18 PER.1 2016 (circulating collection)
Publication Date: 2016
This book will help students prepare for the NBRC exam. It includes all the topics that need to be reviewed for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination. This exam is similar to the format of the NBRC exam.
The Comprehensive Respiratory Therapist Exam Review by
Call Number: WF 18 SIL.2 2010 (circulating collection)
Publication Date: 2010
•About 40 MC style questions at the end of each chapter with answers at the back of the book
•Briefly reviews the important components of the field
• Very thorough in terms of covering all, or at least most, areas within the scope of practice
•A nice feature is, that the answers at the back of the book don’t only list each answer but have a large explanation about why that is the correct answer and why other answers are incorrect
•Not as good for reviewing equations, and mathematical concepts
•Includes a set of entry level questions and advanced questions at the end of each chapter
•Good for a brief review of a large variety and range of concepts
1. CRT- certified respiratory therapist exam (American)
2. Written Registry Exam – for the RRT credential (American) - this will likely be closer to the CBRC (Canadian certification exam)
The Written Registry Exam Review for Respiratory Care by
Call Number: WF18 WOJ.2 2002 (circulating collection)
Publication Date: 2002
•Includes a 40 question pretest assessment --> covers all topics in the field of respiratory therapy
•Focuses on reviewing equations and math
•Offers brief paragraphs, reviewing the concepts associated with the equations/ mathematics
• Huge question sets at the end of each chapter (approximately around 210)
• Better for large question sets, reviewing mathematical concepts /equations and practicing for the actual test as opposed to simply a comprehensive concept review
Exam: Written Registry Exam- American exam for RRT certification
Practical Math for Respiratory Care by
Call Number: WF18.2 SIB 1996 (circulating collection)
Publication Date: 1996
This text offers students a comprehensive explanation and review of essential respiratory care math skills as they apply to clinical situations. Every chapter has learning objectives, clinical significance boxes, sample problems that appear after each new concept and a group of practical exercises.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.