Radiation Therapy: Journal Articles
Finding journal articles
To search for journal articles on a specific topic, choose a database from the Databases box below. Searching one of these databases will allow you to find articles from a variety of different journals. The MeSH box will give you information on how to perform a more powerful search. The Journals box lists some of the most important journals in the field. You can browse these journals to learn about the latest studies, but for research on a specific topic, you should search one of the databases instead.
Don't pay for articles. If you find an article record in a database and receive a message saying you need to pay to read the full article, contact the LRC and we will try to obtain a copy for you for free.
Databases
By searching one of these databases, you will be searching articles from thousands of journals. More information is available in Databases.
- PubMedPubMed comprises over 23 million journal citations. This index is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and is accessible to anyone on the web.
- EBSCOhostApproximately 4000 full text titles are available from this aggregator which provides electronic journals licensed from various publishers.
- ScienceDirectAlmost 1400 full-text online journals from Elsevier Science. Note that tables of contents and abstracts are available for many more Elsevier journals that we do not subscribe to.
- Cochrane LibraryCochrane Systematic Reviews are not technically journal articles, but they are a valuable academic source. The Reviews investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in a healthcare setting in support of evidence-based medicine.
PubMed Tips and Tricks
MeSH Subject Headings
When searching by subject in PubMed, use MeSH subject headings for the best results. The following list represents a sample of available headings; to find more, please use the MeSH browser in PubMed or consult with LRC staff.
Brachytherapy
Combined modality therapy
Dose-response relationship, radiation
Health physics
Immobilization
Medical oncology
Neoplasm recurrence, local
Neoplasms
Neoplasms/radiotherapy
Oncologic nursing
Patient care
Radiation injuries
Radiation oncology
Radiotherapy
Radiotherapy/adverse effects
Radiotherapy, adjuvant
Radiotherapy, computer-assisted
Radiotherapy, conformal
Radiotherapy dosage
Radiotherapy, high energy
Radiotherapy planning, computer-assisted
Radiobiology
Radioisotopes
Radiometry
Radiopharmaceuticals
Survival rate
Using MeSH in PubMed
Journals
These are some of the top journals in the field of Radiation Therapy.
- Imaging & Therapy Practice - available in print at the LRC
Lit Searching Cheat Sheet
- Advanced Lit Searching - Cheat SheetKeep this cheat sheet handy while doing your lit searches.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.