Guide to Evidence Based Practice: General Resources and Citation Management
About This Page
Need some background information on a topic? You're in the right place!
You can search the library catalogue here, or through one of the databases below.
For more information, please visit LRC Services
Citing Sources
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guides
- APA Style Reference GuideMichener Institute Style Guide
- APA Citation GuideOWL at Purdue
- Publication Manual of APAAmerican Psychological Association
Vancouver Style Guides
- Vancouver Style Reference GuideMichener Institute Style Guide
- Uniform Requirement for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical JournalsFor a list of sample citations, click here
- Quick Reference Guide to Vancouver Citing and Referencing StyleFrom Monash University Library
Citing Evidence-Based Texts
-
Citing UpToDateAdapt example citation to appropriate style
Off-Campus Access
General Resources
eBook Collection
For those who are cross-listed with University of Toronto, you can search the library catalogue for eBooks here
For more information regarding access and downloading eBooks through University of Toronto, you can visit here or watch a YouTube video
Terminology
- Medical Dictionary Full-text search and useful appendices including: Medical Terminology Tutorial Common Prefixes and Suffixes Common Abbreviations From MedlinePlus
Anatomy
- Anatomy.tvAnatomyTV is a 3D interactive anatomy exploration program
- Winking Skull: Human Anatomy Study AidTo access content, you must register for a free account.
Drug Information
Citation Management
Citation management software is an application for individuals to create databases of citation information. This information can be used to create reference lists, bibliographies, as well as in-text citations. Some applications also allow the download of the files, and import / export citations publicly and privately.
Listed below are examples of citation management software that can be downloaded for free. By clicking on the icons, you will be directed to a YouTube link where they show you basic instructions on how to use the application.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It can help you format your references in a variety of styles, including APA and Vancouver.
At Michener, we recommend you use Zotero because it makes it easy to do the following:
- Organize and store your resources
- Import citations as you go and easily create a bibliography
- Share resources with a group or between devices
You can download it from the Zotero website.
Learn more at the Michener LRC Zotero guide.
Mendeley allows you to access your library anywhere, from your desktop to your mobile device. It can help you generate references, citations, and bibliographies in multiple styles (such as APA and Vancouver).
You can create an account here
Download the desktop client here
Like Zotero, Mendeley has a Microsoft Word or LibreOffice plugin that is installed automatically with the software. For more information about the citation plugin click here
EndNote Basic is a free software that is a web-based interface. It allows you to store and export the citations, while accessing it anywhere. Like the other applications noted, it also has a plugin for Microsoft Word.
You can create your EndNote account here
Please note that this application is only free to students who are also cross-listed with University of Toronto.
RefWorks has a plugin for Mozilla Firefox and Internet Explorer web browsers, as well as a plugin for Microsoft Word.
In order to download the software, you would need to log in, and click on the Tools menu.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.