Color Atlas of Family Medicine by
MORE THAN 2,000 FULL-COLOR PHOTOGRAPHS HELP YOU VISUALLY DIAGNOSE CONDITIONS AND DISEASES ENCOUNTERED IN CLINICAL PRACTICE A Doody's Core Title for 2015! The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, Second Edition is a comprehensive atlas designed to facilitate diagnosis using outwardly appearing signs and manifestations. The superb collection of clinical images is supported by concise, evidence-based treatment recommendations presented in convenient, easy-to-apply bulleted text. Each chapter begins with a story that ties the photographs to real-life patients. Coverage for each condition includes: Patient Story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management. Features: Organized by anatomic and physiologic systems Includes pediatric and adult conditions Insightful legends with each photograph providediagnostic pearls to enhance your clinical observational skills Indexed by topic, region, and morphology Special sections on women's health, physical/sexual abuse, and substance abuse NEW chapters on important topics such as: Diabetes Hypertension Headache Osteoporosis Alcoholism Tobacco addiction Global health Essential to family physicians and all healthcare providers involved in primary care, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, Second Edition will also prove valuable to medical students, residents, internists, pediatricians, and dermatologists.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine by
Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues AN EASY-TO-USE GUIDE TO THE DIAGNOSIS, TREATMENT, AND MANAGEMENT of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW CHAPTERS on prenatal care, tick-borne infections, diagnosis and management of tuberculosis, HIV diagnosis and management, and PTSD/TBI Great for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification, and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 by
The #1 annually updated general medical text--presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
The landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today''s students and clinicians A Doody''s Core Title for 2015. All eChapters in the Nineteenth Edition are accessible online as well as on the DVD packaged within the print volumes, so you have the flexibility of using the method of access most convenient to you. Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison''s provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Presented in two volumes: Volume 1 is devoted to foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; Volume 2 covers disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men''s Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more. Increased number of the popular Harrison''s clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full col∨ crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Access to outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, and more Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison''s patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, the book''s several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison''s: "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text. The accompanying DVD includes extensive video and image collections of pathology, histology, procedures, additional lectures, and radiology... ...Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. "
Integrated Care: Working at the Interface of Primary Care and Behavioral Health by 
416-864-5059
hslibrary@smh.ca
Follow @SMHealthSciLib
