Find books available through the St. Michael's Hospital Health Sciences Library
Find these titles and more in the Health Sciences Library:
Mild Traumatic Brain Injury and Postconcussion Syndrome by Michael A. McCreaThis is the first neuropsychology book to translate exciting findings from the recent explosion of research on sport-related concussion to the broader context of mild traumatic brain injury (MTBI) and post-concussive syndrome (PCS) in the general population. In addition, it includes a Continuing Education (CE) component administered by the American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology. Traumatic brain injuries constitute a major global public health problem, but until now, MTBIs, which constitute up to 90 percent of all treated TBIs, have been difficult to evaluate and manage clinically because of the absence of a viable model. Dr. McCrea's book thus provides a welcome evidence base for all clinicians - including psychologists, neuropsychologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, rehabilitation medicine physicians, physiatrists, and nurses - involved in the clinical diagnosis and treatment of MTBI, as well as attorneys involved in personal injury litigation and personal injury defense. Each section of the book ends with a helpful summary of the 'Top 10 Conclusions.' Instructions for earning AACN-administered CE credit are included.
Call Number: WL354 .M4775m 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-20
Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury by Jonathan M. Silver; Thomas W. McAllister; Stuart C. YudofskyAs soldiers and combat veterans have returned from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan traumatic brain injury (TBI) has been identified as the "signature injury" of those wars. TBI is also in the news on a daily basis due to sports injuries. This new edition of Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury has been thoroughly revised and updated from the 2005 first edition to reflect the exponential expansion of research and clinical data amassed in the intervening years. Each chapter was written and reviewed by the foremost authorities in neuropsychiatry, neurology, rehabilitation medicine, and the other specialties who assess, diagnose, and treat these patients. The revisions and additions to this comprehensive volume were made to ensure that the scope and coverage is both up-to-date and down-to-earth. Key features include: * New chapters on epidemiology, neuropathology, and genetics of TBI* A new chapter on TBI in the military emphasizing the unique feature of blast injury* A new chapter on posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), which emphasizes the common co-occurrence of TBI and PTSD in both combat and other settings* Enhanced coverage of psychopharmacology and psychotherapy for the psychiatric symptoms associated with TBI* Information on the social ramifications of TBI so that clinicians will better understand and help their patients cope with the complex legal, financial, and insurance-based struggles their patients who have sustained TBI encounter* Chapters are complete, readable, and relevant in themselves, allowing readers to consult chapters of immediate concern to them* Each chapter concludes with essential points and key references to focus attention and consolidate learning* A Foreword written by Bob Woodruff (the ABC World News correspondent who sustained a TBI while covering the war in Iraq) and his wife, Lee Woodruff, who underscore that although this volume is intended to be read primarily by professionals, patients and families may also find the information in the textbook to be of keen interest and practical application The book has been closely edited to achieve a level of writing that is consistent and engaging and that addresses the needs of all medical professionals -- including the full range of mental health professionals -- who care for people who suffer from TBI. Evidence-based, academically rigorous, and conceptually sound, this new edition of Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury represents a huge step forward for the diagnosis and treatment of TBI.
Call Number: WL354 .T355 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-24
Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury by Felise S. Zollman"The Manual provides an excellent road map to the many topics relevant in the diagnosis, treatment, and long-term management of individuals with TBI. As such, the book can serve either as a fine introduction for the uninitiated or as a valued reference for seasoned clinicians. I highly recommend it]'" --Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation "This is a stellar quality book that will be beneficial for every member of the multidisciplinary team that is required to treat patients with TBI. It offers a concise but broad and informative view of the disorder, and can serve as an easy-to-read and access primary text. 4 Stars -- Doody's Reviews Now completely revised and updated, Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury: Assessment and Management, Second Edition is a comprehensive evidence-based guide to brain injury diagnosis, treatment, and recovery, delivered in a succinct format designed for targeted access to essential content. This concise text, featuring internationally known contributors drawn from leading TBI programs, is organized into five sections. Part I discusses fundamental concepts needed to provide a context for clinical decision-making. Part II covers mild TBI, from natural history to sportrelated concussion, postconcussion syndrome, and more. Part III focuses on moderate to severe TBI and contains chapters on prehospital, emergency and ICU care, rehabilitation, community reintegration, management of associated impairments, and postinjury outcomes. Part IV covers the complications and long-term sequelae that may arise in patients with TBI, including spasticity, movement disorders, posttraumatic seizures, hydrocephalus, behavioral and sleep disturbances, and chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE). Part V focuses on special considerations and resources, including issues specific to selected populations or injury environments (military, pediatric, workers' compensation and older patients), as well as return to work and medicolegal issues in TBI. Comprehensively updated to reflect the current state of the art in this rapidly evolving field, this book is a must-have for neurologists, physiatrists, primary care physicians, mental health professionals, social workers, and other health care providers who treat TBI patients. New to the Second Edition: Key Points section in each chapter crystallizes important clinical pearls New chapters cover anoxia complicating TBI, screening for emotional distress in TBI patients, management of chronic behavioral disturbances, andassistive technology Every chapter has been updated to reflect current evidence-based practice
Call Number: WL354 .M294 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Neuroanatomy ( US ED ) by HainesNeuroanatomy: An Atlas of Structures, Sections, and Systems remains one of the most dynamic forces in medical education, delivering abundantly illustrated and clinically essential content in a rapidly expanding field of practice.
Call Number: WP140 .G549 2006
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Plum and Posner's Diagnosis of Stupor and Coma by Fred Plum; Nicholas Schiff; Jerome B. Posner; Clifford B. SaperDelirium, stupor and coma are common clinical states that confront clinicians in almost every medical specialty. With appropriate diagnosis and treatment, coma can often be treated successfully. Conversely, delay in diagnosis and treatment may be lethal. This monograph provides an update on the clinical approach that was laid out in the previous 3 editions. It describes an approach for the physician at the bedside to diagnose and treat alterations of consciousness, based on pathophysiologic principles.
Call Number: WB182 .P7335 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-11
Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury by Jonathan M. Silver; Thomas W. McAllister; Stuart C. YudofskyAs soldiers and combat veterans have returned from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan traumatic brain injury (TBI) has been identified as the "signature injury" of those wars. TBI is also in the news on a daily basis due to sports injuries. This new edition of Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury has been thoroughly revised and updated from the 2005 first edition to reflect the exponential expansion of research and clinical data amassed in the intervening years.
Call Number: WL354 .T355 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-24
The Clinical Science of Neurologic Rehabilitation by Bruce H. DobkinThe Second Edition of this single-authored volume integrates multiple disciplines of basic and clinical research to help clinicians further develop the best possible care for the rehabilitation of patients with neurologic diseases. From the readable descriptions of the structures and functions of pathways for movement and cognition, the reader comes to understand the potential for training induced, pharmacologic, and near-future biologic interventions to enhance recovery.
Call Number: WL140 .D633c 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
Advanced Assessment and Treatment of Trauma by American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) StaffNew trauma life support course recognized by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons!Assessment and Treatment of Trauma (ATT) presents the state-of-the-art prehospital trauma assessment and management. Based on the most current medical information and best practices, this concise and highly interactive continuing education course covers the critical knowledge and skills necessary to rapidly evaluate, stabilize, and transport the trauma patient.
Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by William R. Hazzard; Jeffrey B. Halter; Joseph G. Ouslander; Mary Tinetti; Nancy Woolard; Stephanie Studenski; Sanjay Asthana; Kevin HighThe most complete, authoritative guide available on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly -- updated with a new global perspective.
Chapter 68. Traumatic Brain Injury
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is common among the elderly mainly through the association with falls. TBI in the elderly presents special issues for the clinician to consider in the management of these patients, including a higher risk of poor recovery and physiatric and neuropsychiatric comorbidity. This chapter will review the epidemiology of TBI, mechanisms of injury, features on brain imaging, cognitive and psychosocial outcomes, and postacute management, with particular attention to research and practice with geriatric patients.
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine by Sylvia C. McKean; Daniel D. Dressler; Jeffrey Ginsberg; John Ross; Daniel BrotmanThe definitive guide to the knowledge and skills necessary to practice Hospital Medicine Each chapter opens with boxed Key Clinical Questions that are addressed in the text and hundreds of tables encapsulate important information. Case studies demonstrate how to apply the concepts covered in the text directly to the hospitalized patient. Clinical Problem-Solving in Hospital Medicine Introduces principles of evidence-based medicine, quality of evidence, interpretation of diagnostic tests, systemic reviews and meta-analysis, and knowledge translations to clinical practice.
Chapter 268. Blast-Induced Traumatic Brain Injury and Polytrauma
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery by Gerard M. DohertyAuthoritative, concise, and completely up-to-date, "CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Surgery" features: Wide-ranging coverage that encompasses general surgery and all the important subspecialties including otolaryngology, urology, gynecology, orthopedics, plastic and reconstructive surgery, and pediatrics References linked to recent journal articles.
Chapter 36. Neurosurgery : Diagnosis & Management of Depressed States of Consciousness;
Imaging of the Central Nervous System;