EBP Databases - William Osler Health System - Resources for Evidence Based Practice - LibGuides at Health Science Information Consortium of Toronto

Evidence-Based Resources Databases

Where to look?

When looking for evidence - use a database (start with MEDLINE):

√ PubMed or Ovid Medline – references in medicine, nursing, public and allied health includes Cochrane

√ Cochrane or DARE Database of Abstracts of Review of Effect – home of the systematic reviews

√ CINAHL –references in nursing and allied health

√ UpToDate Anywhere or National Guideline Clearinghouse - critically appraised topics

Looking for background information?

√ UpToDate Anywhere

√ Access Medicine

√ Textbooks – browse eBooks on library page or search library catalogue or check print at your local library

Looking for that one perfect article?

√ PubMed using keywords

Resources listed in this section provide some type of evidence based analysis, synthesis and/or summary of a particular topic, study or question that will aid in evidence based decision making.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Using the ‘Clinical Queries’ feature in PubMed, you can restrict retrieval to articles that are most likely to answer your clinical question. A specialized search within PubMed that focusses on evidence based clinical studies, systematic reviews, and medical genetics. Accessible from the PubMed homepage, Clinical Queries utilizes search filters designed to retrieve systematic reviews, meta-analyses, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and human medical genetics-related articles. Customize clinical trials results based on PICO search categories: etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, and clinical prediction guides.
PubMed for Handhelds
PubMed for Handhelds research brings medical information to the point of care via devices like smartphones. This includes developing algorithms and public-domain tools for searching by text message (askMEDLINE and txt2MEDLINE), applying clinical filters (PICO) and viewing summary abstracts (The Bottom Line and Consensus Abstracts) in MEDLINE/PubMed, and evaluating the use of these tools in Clinical Decision Support.
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK)
Cochrane Library (via OVID)
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is an important resources for high quality systematic reviews in health care.
The CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team), according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
Cochrane Summaries
Database to free summaries and where available the plain language summaries to all Cochrane systematic reviews.
UpToDate ANYWHERE
UpToDate® clinical decision support tool is now available anytime, anywhere. An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,000 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. Earn CME credits, maintain remote and mobile app access.
Epistemonikos
A collaborative, multilingual database of evidence-based health care and information technologies, supporting decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions. Meta searching for evidence across multiple resources.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Joanna Briggs Institute provides the best available evidence to inform clinical decision making at the point of care.
JBI provides point of care access to evidence databases, decision support systems, and implementation/evaluation tools.
MedPix
A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata.
Journal Watch
NEJM Journal Watch reviews over 250 scientific and medical journals to present important clinical research findings and insightful commentary. The most important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties are summarized and put into perspective by physician editors.
Natural Medicine
Natural Medicines is an authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Topic monographs are based on a published research methodology, including comprehensive literature search, data analysis and blinded expert peer-review.
Oncology Nursing Society Evidence Based Resource Area
Tthis website contains a wealth of resources related to evidence based nursing practice, including an overview, tutorials, and a toolkit. While clinical resources are related to oncology nursing practice, many resources are applicable in a wide range of settings.
Open Source Medical Journals
Important medical journals available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice.
OTseeker: Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist in evaluation.
SUMsearch
What is it? This search engine was developed by the University of Texas Health Sciences Center as a way to quickly search and filter health sciences literature. SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches for studies in PubMed, DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) original studies and systematic reviews, and National Guideline Clearinghouse practice guidelines for evidence-based healthcare information. Combines meta-searching and contingency searching in order to automate searching for medical evidence. It groups results by category: original studies, systematic reviews, and guidelines.
TRIP Database
TRIP brings together the key evidence-based healthcare resources. Eight major categories are searched by the TRIP search engine: Evidence based, guidelines, general peer-reviewed journals, query-answering services, specialist peer-reviewed journals, e-textbooks, medical images and patient information leaflets. The Evidence-based category covers 32 major resources including the AHRQ, Clinical Evidence, & Cochrane, among others as well searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries.

Primary Literature

The databases listed below include primary literature sources such as journal articles that report the results of a research study or case studies. It's up to the clinician to appraise the literature quality and validity.

PubMed General Search
PubMed Clinical Queries (Clinical Study Categories)
PubMed Clinical Queries allows you to find critically appraised information indexed in MEDLINE.
Ovid MEDLINE
EMBASE
CINAHL with Full Text
PsycINFO

Evidence Based Clinical Guidelines Databases

Clinical practice guidelines address screening, diagnosis, and treatment of disease relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. They are based on systematic review of the available evidence.

Canadian Medical Association (CMA) - CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Guidelines are produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial/territorial or regional medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.
CMAJ Collection Guidelines
Evidence-Based Guidelines (Programs in Evidence-Based Care)
Cancer Care Ontario Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse
AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
National Institute for Health and Care Excellenc (NICE)
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
RNAO Best Practice Guidelines
Nursing Best Practice Guidelines - the purpose of this multi-year program is to support Ontario nurses by providing them with best practice guidelines for client care.
American College of Physicians Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
SOGC Guidelines
The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) Guidelines
AFP Practice Guidelines
US Preventive Services Task Force: Recommendations for Primary Care Practice
An independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention who systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.

Background Information / Expert Opinion

Background resources provide an overview of a diseases or conditions, that includes what is generally known and accepted. For example textbooks or review articles on a topic. The publication date and currency is important.

William Osler Health System - Resources for Evidence Based Practice: EBP Databases

Resources

Evidence-Based Resources Databases

Where to look?

Primary Literature

Evidence Based Clinical Guidelines Databases

Background Information / Expert Opinion