Evidence Based Nursing - William Osler Health System - Resources for Evidence Based Practice - LibGuides at Health Science Information Consortium

Top Databases for PICO(T) & EBP

TRIP Database
Turing Research Into Practice (TRIP) a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
CINAHL with Full Txt
CINAHL with Full Text provides coverage of the literature related to Nursing and Allied Health.
PubMed
PubMed for Handhelds
PubMed for Handhelds research brings medical information to the point of care via devices like smartphones. This includes developing algorithms and public-domain tools for searching by text message (askMEDLINE and txt2MEDLINE), applying clinical filters (PICO) and viewing summary abstracts (The Bottom Line and Consensus Abstracts) in MEDLINE/PubMed, and evaluating the use of these tools in Clinical Decision Support.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organisations. JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
EMCARE (OVID)
Emcare is an international nursing and allied health database that covers all nursing specialities, and healthcare professions ideal for practice, research, or education.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Using the ‘Clinical Queries’ feature in PubMed, you can restrict retrieval to articles that are most likely to answer your clinical question.

Nurseslabs

Nurseslabs - "For All Your Nursing Needs"
Nurseslabs - for all your nursing needs - educational site in All Nursing Care Plans, All Nursing Diagnosis, Study Notes, Exams, Lifestyle, Videos & more ..

Why is EBP Important?

Evidence based practice (EBP) is the conscientious use of current best evidence in making decisions about patient care (Sackett, Straus, Richardson, Rosenberg, & Haynes, 2000).

You might be asking, "Why do I need to know how to develop EBP research skills?"
Here are a few reasons:

Knowing how to find evidence (such as RCTs or Meta-Analyses) are likely to result in the desired patient outcome
Provides opportunities for nursing care to be more individualized
Allows nurses to stay up to date with latest developments

Source: Youngblut, J. M., & Brooten, D. (2001). Evidence-based nursing practice: Why is it important? AACN Clinical Issues, 12(4), 468-476.

What is Evidence-Based Nursing?

Evidence-based nursing is “an integration of the best evidence available, nursing expertise, and the values and preferences of the individuals, families and communities who are served” (Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, 2011).

Evidence-based nursing practice is a 5 step systematic process which leads to apply quality evidence from research to make effective decisions about clinical and other healthcare problems.

These five steps include:

Asking the Clinical Question

Evidence Acquisition

Evidence Appraisal

Evidence Application

Outcome Evaluation

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step

A collection of articles that intent to give nurses the knowledge and skills to implement evidence-based practice (EBP) one step at the time from: developing & searching the clinical question; critical appraisal of the evidence; implementation; disseminating the evidence and sustaining the change.

http://journals.lww.com/ajnonline/pages/collectiondetails.aspx?TopicalCollectionId=10

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step (AJN series) 12 items,; American Journal of Nursing, Updated: 6/17/2021

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step: Asking the Clinical Question: A Key Step in Evidence-Based Practice
AJN American Journal of Nursing: March 2010 Volume 110 - Issue 3 - p 58-61 doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000368959.11129.79

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step
Updated 2021- This collection of articles was authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice.
EBP 2.0: From Strategy to Implementation
A first article in a new series showcases exemplars of evidence-based practice change - 2019. This follow-up series will feature case studies illustrating the various strategies that can be used to implement EBP changes-one of the most challenging steps in the EBP process.
EBP 2.0: Promoting Nurse Retention Through Career Development Planning
The second article in a new series about evidence-based practice (EBP). Reducing new nurse turnover rates at an urban hospital through the implementation of an evidence-based professional and career development program.
EBP 2.0: Data-Driven Precision Implementation
The third article in a new series about evidence-based practice (EBP).
EBP 2.0: The STAND Skin Bundle
The fourth article in a new series about evidence-based practice (EBP). Implementation of evidence-based practice (EBP) changes is often time consuming and challenging.
EBP 2.0: Implementing and Sustaining Change The Malnutrition Readmission Prevention Protocol
The fifth article in a new series about evidence-based practice (EBP). An evidence-based initiative improves patient nutritional status and decreases eadmission rates.