APA Style
All the information in this guide is based on the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Please refer to the original text for complete details. A reference copy is available at the TPH library.
APA Guide Contents
Have questions? Email hlibrary@toronto.ca
Types of Items requiring Referencing
Books
|
Samples |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Book (Print) |
Beatty, R. H. (2006). The ultimate job search: Intelligent strategies to get the right job fast. Indianapolis, IN: Jist Publishing. |
(Beatty, 2006, p. 26) |
|
Templates |
||
|
General Book Template |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book (Edition). Location: Publisher. |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
E-Book Template |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book [E-book provider version]. Retrieved from e-book provider’s URL |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Book with Editors (no authors) |
Editor, E. E., & Editor, F. F. (Eds.). (Year). Title of work. Location: Publisher. |
(Editor & Editor, Year, p. page) |
|
Book Chapter in Edited work |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of chapter. In E. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (pp. pages). Location: Publisher |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Dictionary or Encyclopedia |
Author, A. A. (Year). Entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia or dictionary. Location: Publisher. |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Online Dictionary or Encyclopedia; no author or editor |
Entry. (n.d.). In Title of dictionary or encyclopedia. Retrieved from URL |
(Entry, n.d.) |
Note: Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Newspaper/Magazine Articles
|
Samples |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Newspaper Article in Database |
Goodnough, A. (2015, May 6). An outbreak fed by misinformation and fear. (Cover story). New York Times, pp. A1–A13. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=102441154&site=ehost-live
|
(Benzie, 2015, p. A11) *See 6.11 of Manual for rules |
|
Magazine Article on the web |
Bell, M., & MacDougall, K. (2013). Adapting online learning for Canada’s Northern public health workforce. Circumpolar Health Supplements, 72, 895–901. https://doi.org/10.3402/ijch.v72i0.21345
|
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Templates |
||
|
Newspaper Article in Database |
Author, A. A. (Year, Month day). Headline title of article. Title of Newspaper, pp. pages. Retrieved from URL (persistent link provided by database) |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Magazine article template |
Author, A. A. (Year, Month). Headline title of article. Title of Magazine, volume(issue), pages. Retrieved from homepage URL *See 7.01 of Manual for rules |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Journal Articles
|
Samples |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Journal Article |
Venkatesan, S., Nguyen-Van-Tam, J. S., & Siebers, P.-O. (2019). A novel framework for evaluating the impact of individual decision-making on public health outcomes and its potential application to study antiviral treatment collection during an influenza pandemic. PLoS ONE, 14(10), 1–14. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0223946
|
(Venkatesan, Nguyen-Van-Tam, & Siebers, 2019, p. 2) |
|
Journal article with six or more Authors |
Rivera, L. A., Ye Li, Savage, R. D., Crowcroft, N. S., Bolotin, S., Rosella, L. C., … Lou. (2017). Evaluation of the ability of standardized supports to improve public health response to syndromic surveillance for respiratory diseases in Canada. BMC Public Health, 17, 1–12. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12889-017-4073-6 |
(Rivera et al., 2017, p.3) |
|
Templates |
||
|
Article with 1 author |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. doi:numbers/letters |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
No DOI*, No issue** |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume, pages. Retrieved from URL (persistent link provided by database) |
(Author, Year, p. page) |
|
Three to Five Authors |
Author, A. Author, B. & Author, C. (Year). Title: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume, pages. doi: numbers/letters
*See section 6.12 of Manual for rules |
First in-Text Citation: (Author, Author, & Author, Year, p. page#)
Subsequent Citation: (Author et al., Year, p. page #) |
|
Six or more Authors
|
Author, A., Author, B., Author, C. Author, D., Author, E., Author, F. … Author, LAST Author. (Year). Title: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume, pages. doi: numbers/letters Note: (In the reference list note the first six authors followed by elipses and the last author |
(Author et al., Year, p. page #)
|
*NOTE: DOI codes are usually found on the first page of the article. Also see the database record.
**NOTE: Include the issue number only if the journal is paginated by issue (i.e. pages restart at “page 1” in each issue).
Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Websites
|
Samples |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Website |
Mitchell, S. D. (2000). The import of uncertainty. Retrieved from http://philsci-archive.pitt.edu/archive/00000162/ |
(Mitchell, 2000, para. 4) |
|
Website with Group Author (corporations or institutions) |
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. (n.d.). Alcohol and chronic health problems. Retrieved from https://www.camh.ca/en/health-info/guides-and-publications/alcohol-and-chronic-health-problems *See section 6.13 of the APA Style Manual |
First Citation: (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health [CAMH], n.d., para. 1)
Subsequent Citation: (CAMH, n.d., para. 3) |
|
Templates |
||
|
Website |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of document. Retrieved from URL |
(Author, Year, para. paragraph) |
|
No Author, no Date (n.d.) |
Title of document. (n.d.). Retrieved from URL Note: “Last Updated” date may be used if no other date is available. |
(Shortened title of document, n.d., para. paragraph) *See 6.15 of Manual for rules |
Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Other Document Types
|
Samples |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Toronto Public Health Report
|
Sajwani, A. (2019). Rexdale Community Health Centre, dental pilot project: Evaluation report. Unpublished manuscript, Toronto Public Health, Toronto, Canada.
|
(Sajwani, 2019, p. 5) |
|
Theses/Dissertations (electronically available)
|
Perna, A. (2016). Investigating Vaccine Hesitancy in Canada: A Quantitative and Qualitative Description of Vaccine Attitudes, Beliefs, and Perceptions of the Seasonal Influenza Vaccine (Doctoral dissertation). Retrieved from http://dx.doi.org/10.20381/ruor-5262
|
(Perna, 2016, p. 20) |
|
Conference presentation |
Greenwood, M. (2019, April). Cultural safety training and anti-racism education within MPH programs. Oral presentation at the Canadian Public Health Association Conference, Ottawa, Canada. Presentation PDF retrieved from http://ph2019.isilive.ca/calendar/1
|
(Greenwood, 2019, slide 2) |
|
Templates |
||
|
Dissertation |
Author, A.A. (Year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master's thesis (Doctoral dissertation or master's thesis). Retrieved from Name of database. (Accession or Order No.).
|
(Author, Year, p. page #) |
|
Grey Literature (Unpublished and informally published works)
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of manuscript or report. Unpublished manuscript [or "Manuscript submitted for publication," or "Manuscript in preparation"].
(See section 7.09 p. 211)
|
(Author, Year, p. page #) |
|
Unpublished manuscript from an organization (e.g. TPH Rapid Review)
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of report: Subtitle of report. Unpublished manuscript, Organization, City, Country.
|
(Author, Year, p. page #) |
|
Organizational Report (unpublished) |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of manuscript or report. Unpublished manuscript [or "Manuscript submitted for publication," or "Manuscript in preparation"].
|
(Author, Year, p. page #) |
|
|
Presenter, A. A. (Year, Month). Title of paper or poster. Paper or poster session presented at the meeting of Organization Name, Location.
|
|
Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Media Formats
|
Variations |
REFERENCES LIST |
In-Text Citation |
|
Online Video (e.g. YouTube) |
Toronto Public Health. (2019, October 7). Kids talk vaccines – Emma & Connor explain how vaccines work [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/WLt_M52US1w
|
(Group Author, Year) |
|
Templates |
||
|
Online Video (e.g. YouTube) |
Group Author. (Year, Month Day). Title of video in italics [Video file]. Retrieved from URL https://youtu.be/
|
(Group Author, Year) |
|
Online Lecture Slides |
Teacher, A. A. (Year). Title of lecture [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from URL |
(Teacher, Year) |
|
Music Recording |
Musician/Singer, A. A. (Year). Song title. On Title of Compilation italicized [CD]. Place of publication,: Recording Company.
|
(Musician, Year, track #) |
|
Online Images/Maps |
Name of Map Producer. (Cartographer). (2002). Title of map [Demographic map]. Retrieved from URL |
(Name of Map Producer, Year) |
Summarized from Chapter 7 (p. 193-224) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.