Online Resources for Patients and Families: How to Search UHN E-Books

There are two ways to search e-books in the UHN E-Book Collection:

• Searching by keyword, author, or title and

• Browsing by collection.
   

Searching E-Books by keyword, author, or title

To search e-book by keyword, author or title

•  click Search,

•  enter the term you want to search for and

•  click Search again so that you see e-books available at UHN.

Example: Searching e-books on brain 

• Click on SEARCH and type the term "brain" in the search box. Once you typed "brain", you will get the list  of all resources in OverDrive  that have "brain" in the title (see the image below). Please note that not all the titles from the list are part of the UHN E-Book Collection, so do not click on them.

• To get the resources on "brain" that are part of the UHN collection, click SEARCH again.  

Browsing E-Book Collections

Another way of searching e-books, audiobooks and  videos is browsing by collection. Collection is list of resources by the same health and wellness topic, language or format. 

Our topic collections include:

• Mental Health

• Diabetes

• Cancer

• Brain Health

• Healthy Eating

• Mindfulness and Relaxation

• Exercise, and more.

Our language collections include electronic resources in:

• Chinese

• Spanish and

• Portuguese.
   

How do I find library collections on the website?
 

To find library collections:

•  Click on the website menu shown on the image below   
                                                                                                                                                                                         

•  Select Collections
                                                                 
                                                                                                                                     

• Once you click Collections, the list of all collections in the UHN e-book library will  display.