Cardiovascular Perfusion: Books & eBooks

Handbook of Blood Gas/Acid-Base Interpretation , 2nd edition, simplifies concepts in blood gas/acid base interpretation and explains in an algorithmic fashion the physiological processes for managing respiratory and metabolic disorders. With this handbook, medical students, residents, nurses, and practitioners of respiratory and intensive care will find it possible to quickly grasp the principles underlying respiratory and acid-base physiology, and apply them.

Cardiopulmonary Bypass, first published in 2009, provides a practical overview of all aspects of clinical perfusion, giving core knowledge and essential background information for those early in their clinical training as well as more specialist information on key areas of clinical practice.

Accurate interpretation of the ECG is an essential skill for all health professionals. Using a unique self-assessment format, this book presents a comprehensive, incremental approach to ECG interpretation, progressing from basic to advanced concepts in electrocardiography.

This book is a unique combination of text and atlas. It is an excellent study tool as it provides students with a detailed overview of key areas relating to physiology, including general, neurophysiology, blood, cardiovascular, pulmonary, renal and acid Base, gastrointestinal, and reproductive.

This resource explores the full range of important issues in perioperative management, discussing the available options, examining the relevant research, and presenting practical recommendations. Confidently navigate the latest issues thanks to new chapters on optimal airway management in GI endoscopy, the role of Ketamine for perioperative management, fast-track surgery, and hypothermia after intraoperative cardiac arrest, plus many other vital updates

Content spans the areas of basic anatomy and physiology of the pulmonary, cardiovascular, and renal systems, and details the physiological principles underlying common therapeutic, diagnostic, and monitoring therapies and procedures.

12-Lead ECG: The Art of Interpretation, Second Edition takes the complex subject of electrocardiography and presents it in a simple, innovative, 3-level approach. Level 1 provides basic information for those with minimal experience interpreting ECGs. Level 2 provides intermediate information for those with a basic understanding of the principles of electrocardiography. Level 3 provides advanced information for those with some mastery of the subject. The entire text is written in a friendly, easy-to-read tone.

Part one covers the broad range of CPB pathophysiology, including anticoagulant protocols, the impact of CPB circuit surfaces, optimal haemodilution levels, and the important issue of CPB-induced systemic inflammatory response syndrome. Part two focuses on the issues of the new equipment developed for mini-CPB, optimal myocardial protection protocols and CPB perfusate options. Part three discusses clinical issues, including patient selection, coronary and valve surgery protocols and, among others, paediatric patients.

With the introduction of cardiac surgery more than five decades ago and the use of the heart-lung machine for open heart surgical procedures granting the surgeon unlimited time in which to operate inside the heart, a complex task has been given to the Perfusionist. With a pairing of a perfusionist and a surgeon for each chapter, this book is an essential collection of techniques and protocols to aid in decision making in the operating room.

This book guides students through the process of adult cardiac surgery. It reviews diagnosis and treatment as well as operative strategy, decision-making, and technique.

This text is an excellent reference for those studying cardiac anesthesia. It provides complete information on drugs, monitoring, cardiopulmonary bypass, circulatory support, and anesthetic management of specific cardiac disorders.