LibGuides: Library Value Toolkit V2: Usage Stats

Task Force Recommendations

What do we think you should keep in mind?

Recommendation 1: Usage statistics provide libraries with important cost-per-use information that can be used in budgeting and planning. Little (2013)

Recommendation 2: Don't report data in a vacuum. Provide meaningful highlights that imply there is library staff mediated service behind the numbers: titles of courses taught, top 10 journals accessed, etc.

Recommendation 3: Use descriptive indicator names. Instead of # of literature searches use # of literature reviews for staff. Break down by type of review: brief, comprehensive, systematic review, Combine with qualitative survey data when possible. See: Gann, Pratt (2013)

Usage Stats

This section offers approaches and standard templates for library stats collection.

What are Usage Stats?

Usage stats are data that can be used for benchmarking for a library or for standardized data collection within a consortium of libraries, such as the HSICT.

The focus of this page is quantitative data, including measuring the use of online resources, Methods and tools for collecting stats on service and collection use are addressed.

Google Forms Example: Stats Collection
CHeck out screenshots from a sample Google Form!
NLM LinkOut Fact Sheet
Libraries must register. Password protected. Allows links from PubMed records to library' full text resources, print holdings and link resolver. Provides usage data.
Swets Library Metrics Infographic
To help with informed selection management.

Squaring the Circle: Library Technology and Assessment
Little, G. (2013) The Journal of Academic Lbrarianship 39 (6). 596-598. Little outlines issues, tools and questions librarians need to think about when looking at the assessment of library technologies.
Tool: Google Analytics
Count and analyze how web sites are being used.
Tool: Project COUNTER
Serves Librarians, Publishers and Intermediaries. Sets standards so data can be collected and reported in a consistent way. Many vendors have adopted the COUNTER codes of practice.
Tool: SUSHI
Standard Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative. NISO protocol Built into COUNTER.
Using Library Search Service Metrics to Demonstrate Library Value and Manage Workload
Gann, L.B. and Pratt, G.F. (2013). J Med Lib Assoc. Provides an excellent example of recording searches - See Table 1 - that provides qualitative information such as purpose, workload, etc.

From eVALUEd, EvidencedBased, Brimingham City University, UK

A brief summary of Reason for Using Statistics.

Useful to investigate:

Usage Patterns,
Tracking Trends and Change.

Advantages

Can be Analysed Quickly,
Offer Standardized Collection.

Disadvantages

Don't evaluate Opinion, Satisfaction,
May not be comparable year to year.

Issues to Consider

May need technical expertise.
Could be dependent on other departments, such as IT

From one of the member hospitals, a Library specific Google Form for collecting service stats. Print a copy of the example template in PDF form under Top Resources: Documents to the left, use the Google Template below or Test it out live!

Webinar by Library Journal and Swets, Nov. 27, 2013
1 hour, 4 minutes