Doing a Systematic Review by Rumona Dickson (Editor); Angela Boland (Editor); M. Gemma Cherry (Editor)If you are a Masters or a PhD student conducting a systematic review for your dissertation or thesis, then this is the book for you! Written by an expert team of authors with years of experience in conducting systematic reviews and supervising students doing systematic reviews, the book provides a roadmap to guide you through the process. The book addresses the following questions: - What's the best way to manage my review? - How do I formulate an appropriate review question? - How do I develop my search strategy? - How do I get started on data extraction? - How do I assess the quality of the studies I'm using? - How can I analyse and synthesise my data? - How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis? - Where should I publish my data? Throughout the book, the authors make extensive use of questions posed by real students when carrying out reviews to help you through some of the challenges you may face. Like a team of supervisors in your pocket, this book will provide you with the tips and tools for a successful dissertation.
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
Seven Steps to a Comprehensive Literature Review by Anthony J. Onwuegbuzie; Rebecca K. FrelsLecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here This dynamic guide to doing literature reviews demystifies the process in seven steps to show researchers how to produce a comprehensive literature review. Teaching techniques to bring systematic thoroughness and reflexivity to research, the authors show how to achieve a rich, ethical and reflexive review. What makes this book unique: Focuses on multimodal texts and settings such as observations, documents, social media, experts in the field and secondary data so that your review covers the full research environment Puts mixed methods at the centre of the process Shows you how to synthesize information thematically, rather than merely summarize the existing literature and findings Brings culture into the process to help you address bias and understand the role of knowledge interpretation, guiding you through Teaches the CORE of the literature review - Critical thinking, Organization, Reflections and Evaluation - and provides a guide for reflexivity at the end of each of the seven steps Visualizes the steps with roadmaps so you can track progress and self-evaluate as you learn the steps This book is the essential best practices guide for students and researchers, providing the understanding and tools to approach both the 'how' and 'why' of a rigorous, comprehensive, literature review.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Andrew Booth; Anthea Sutton; Diana PapaioannouShowing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques. New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by McMaster University Staff; Gordon GuyattThe leading guide to the principles and clinicalapplications of evidence-based medicine--updated with new examples and new chapters A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Revised and updated to reflect the latest in medical research and evidence-based resources Practical focus and organization to guide clinicians through the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in patient care, using the key questions to assess any new research: What are the results? How serious is the risk of bias? How do I apply the results to patient care? Updated real-world examples drawn from the medical literature New chapters that reflect the changing complexity of medical research and literature, including genetic association studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, network meta-analysis, noninferiority trials, quality improvement, and evidence-based medicine and the theory of knowledge New emphasis on understanding the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources that provide updated evidence and evidence-based recommendations for practice
Medical Statistics Made Easy by Michael Harris; G. TaylorMedical Statistics Made Easy 3e scores 99/100 and 5 stars on Doody's (Sept 2014)! Here's what the reviewer said: "This is a practical guide to the use of statistics in medical literature and their application in clinical practice. The numerous examples help make the conceptualization of complex ideas easy. It is a great resource for healthcare students and clinicians in the field." MedicalStatistics Made Easyhas been a perennial bestseller since it was firstpublished in 2003 (#1 bestseller in medical statistics on Amazon). It is widelyrecommend on a variety of courses and programmes, from undergraduate medicine,through to professional medical qualifications. It isa book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicineand healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject. Using a consistent format, the authors describe the most common statisticalmethods in turn and then rate them on how difficult they are to understand andhow common they are. The worked examples that demonstrate the statistical method in action have beenupdated to include current articles from the medical literature and now featurea much wider range of medical journals. Thisnew third edition continues with the same structure as the previous editions andalso features a completely revised "Statistics at work" section. Fromreviews of the second edition: "We wouldrecommend this book as an introduction into medical statistics before plunginginto the deep 'statistical' waters! It gives confidence to the reader in takingup the challenge of understanding statistics and [being] able to applyknowledge in analysing medical literature." Stefanie Zhao LinLip & Louise Murchison, Scottish Medical Journal, June 2010 "If ever therewas a book that completely lived up to its title, this is it... The whole wayin which the authors have written this book is commendab≤ the chapters aresuccinct, easy to follow and a pleasure to read...Is it value for money? – a definiteyes even at twice the price. Of course I never exaggerate but if you breathe,you should own this book!" Ian Pearce,Urology News, June 2010
Introduction to Research by Elizabeth DePoy; Laura N. GitlinBridge the gap between research and practice with Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies, 5th Edition. This easy-to-read edition covers all the major research design strategies: qualitative, quantitative, naturalistic, experimental-type, and mixed method. And with the text's up-to-date research information and references, you will have a solid foundation from which to critique and understand research designs and their applications to healthcare and human service settings. Case examples provide real-life snapshots of what it is like to participate in different types of research processes, identify research dilemmas relevant to chapter subjects, and alert you to problems you might encounter. Authors make the topics more accessible, so research becomes more relevant - and topics come to life. Covers experimental-type, naturalistic, and mixed method design strategies to improve your ability to compare, contrast, and integrate different methods. Presents complex information clearly in a highly readable, and easy-to-understand, manner. Includes detailed discussions of qualitative and quantitative methodologies, a unique and balanced focus that makes this text more comprehensive than others in its field. NEW! Up-to-date research methods, strategies, and references, like digital sources, visual methods, and geographical analysis, give you the latest information on research in diverse areas of health and human services.
Publication Date: 2015-03-10
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis BlessingIntroduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles.Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fourth Edition will help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.NEW TO THE FOURTH EDITIONNEW Chapter: Statistics in Health CareNEW Chapter: Systematic ReviewsHeavily revised chapter on the regulatory protection of human subjects, providing readers with a comprehensive look at the workings of the institutional review boardCompletely rewritten chapter on qualitative researchLearning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter, presenting the chapter's desired outcomes to the readerInstructor Resources: Instructor's Manual, Slides in PowerPoint format, Test BankEach new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods by Michael Quinn PattonDrawing on more than 40 years of experience conducting applied social science research and program evaluation, author Michael Quinn Patton has crafted the most comprehensive and systematic book on qualitative research and evaluation methods, inquiry frameworks, and analysis options available today. Now offering more balance between applied research and evaluation, this Fourth Edition of Qualitative Research & Evaluation Methods illuminates all aspects of qualitative inquiry through new examples, stories, and cartoons; more than a hundred new summarizing and synthesizing exhibits; and a wide range of new highlight sections/sidebars that elaborate on important and emergent issues. For the first time, full case studies are included to illustrate extended research and evaluation examples. In addition, each chapter features an extended "rumination," written in a voice and style more emphatic and engaging than traditional textbook style, about a core issue of persistent debate and controversy.
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research by John W. CreswellJohn W. Creswell's A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research is a brief overview of mixed methods research that takes readers through the essential steps in planning and designing a study. Rather than offering an extensive treatment of mixed methods, this concise book offers individuals in the social, behavioral, and health sciences a foundation for understanding mixed methods methodology. Practical for use in workshops, seminars, global webinars, and as a supplementary text in undergraduate and graduate classes, Creswell's book is ideal for the beginner or the more advanced researcher looking for a quick primer in mixed methods, by an authoritative mixed methods scholar.
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by Helen Kara; Kenneth J. Gergen (Foreword by); Mary M. Gergen (Foreword by)Creative research methods can help to answer complex contemporary questions that traditional methods alone cannot; they can also be more ethical, helping researchers to address social injustice in new ways. This accessible book is the first to identify and examine the four pillars of creative research methods: arts-based research, research using technology, mixed-method research, and transformative research frameworks. Written in a practical and jargon-free style, it offers numerous examples from around the world of creative methods in practice in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Spanning the gulf between ideas and practice, this useful book will inform and inspire researchers by demonstrating why, when, and how to use creative methods in their research.
Designing Clinical Research by Stephen B. Hulley; Warren S. Browner; Steven R. Cummings; Deborah G. Grady; Thomas B. NewmanDesigning Clinical Research has been extensively revised and continues to set the standard as a practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. It presents advanced epidemiologic concepts in a reader-friendly way, and suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing. New to this edition: Expanded and updated content in every chapter, with new material on: * non-inferiority trials for comparative effectiveness research * incidence-density case-control studies * confounding and effect modification * diagnostic test studies to inform prediction rules * ethical aspects of whole genome sequencing * automated data management approaches * new NIH grant-writing requirements Color format, and Electronic access, powered by Inkling(tm) as a free companion to the text * viewable through your browser or as a download to tablet or smartphone * the complete text with optimized navigation * note-sharing, highlighting and bookmarking capability * cross-linking of references and content * rapid search options linked to the new glossary
Call Number: WA950 .D457 2013
Understanding Clinical Research by Robert A. Harrington; Renato D. LopesA complete guide to understanding and applying clinical research results Ideal for both researchers and healthcare providers Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight--and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples--drawn from the authors' broad experience--that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques. FEATURES: The most definitive guide to promoting excellence in clinical research, designed to empower healthcare providers to assess a study's strengths and weaknesseswith confidence and apply this knowledge to optimize patient outcomes In-depth coverage of fundamental research methods and protocols from preeminent authorities provides readers with an instructive primer and a springboard for ongoing clinical research education Clear, comprehensive three-part organization: Section One: Evolution of Clinical Research offers a succinct history of clinical trials, drug regulations, and the role of the FDA while covering theimpact of information technology and academic research organizations Section Two: Principles of Clinical Experimentation takes you through the typical phases of clinical trials in the development of medical products,from initial human subject research to postapproval surveillance studies Section Three: Observational Research highlights the underlying principles, pitfalls, and methods for case-control studies, cohort studies, registries, and subgroup analyses within randomized trials
Successful Grant Proposals in Science, Technology, and Medicine by Sandra Oster; Paul CordoThere are many resources on grant writing in science, technology and medicine, but most do not provide the practical advice needed to write the narratives of grant proposals. Designed to help novice and experienced investigators write compelling narratives and acquire research funding, this is a detailed guide to the content, organisation, layout, phrasing, and scientific argumentation of narratives. The authors draw on more than twenty years of research and analysis of grant proposals, having worked extensively with investigators at different levels, from pre-doctoral students to senior scientists. They have used this experience to design a framework for scientific writing that you can apply directly to narratives. The guidelines and advice offered are applicable across many funding agencies, including the NIH and NSF. Featuring many real-life examples, the book covers a range of topics, from organisational alternatives to best practices in grammar and editing, overview visuals, and working with contributors.