Skip to main content

St. Michael's Hospital Archives

Who can request access to the Archives?

 

Our services are available to hospital staff, volunteers, students, and the public.

What are the services that we offer?

Reference Services

The Archives houses important records that are valuable to various researchers. They can send their request to the archivist via email, telephone or in person. Please book an appointment prior to visit.

Reprographic Services Photocopies of material may be requested and will be prepared by the archivist at $0.20/page. Requests for scanned and/or printed material will be carried out by our Medical Media Department for a fee.
Displays for events and celebrations                                                                                             Part of the Archives collection are photographs and yearbooks that can be scanned and reproduced in display format for events and celebrations.
Nursing transcripts Former St. Michael's Nursing School students dating back to 1932 may obtain their transcripts by writing a formal request to the Archivist. A transcript processing fee is also charged. Please email archives@smh.ca for more details.

Note that some restrictions apply.

What are the terms of using materials from the Archives Collection?

In-Person Visits

Researchers are to view their requested archival material on a work table at the Scotiabank Health Sciences Library located on the 3rd floor of Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute. It should be away from any food or liquids; the use of pens is also not permitted. Pencils and cotton gloves will be provided for use to handle the materials to protect it from any damage. 

Copyright

The users who wish to publish archives owned by the St. Michael's Hospital Archives must have requested and granted written permission. Again, where archival material is published, it should always cite the St. Michael's Archives as the source. Ex. "Photo courtesy of St. Michael's Hospital Archives"

Do you have materials that you want to donate?

If you plan to donate materials to the Archives, please contact the archivist for consultation.

Telephone416-864-5059 Email icon hslibrary@smh.ca           Twitter icon   Health Sciences Library Blog                Health Sciences Library Feedback