Approach to Internal Medicine by David Hui (Editor); Alexander A. Leung (Editor); Raj Padwal (Editor)This fully updated 4th Edition of provides an integrated symptom- and issue-based approach with easy access to high yield clinical information. For each topic, carefully organized sections on different diagnoses, investigations, and treatments are designed to facilitate patient care and examination preparation. Numerous clinical pearls and comparison tables are provided to help enhance learning, and international units (US and metric) are used to facilitate application in everyday clinical practice. The book covers many highly important, rarely discussed topics in medicine (e.g., smoking cessation, obesity, transfusion reactions, needle stick injuries, code status discussion, interpretation of gram stain, palliative care), and new chapters on end-of-life care and depression have been added. The fourth edition includes many reader-friendly improvements such as better formatting, intuitive ordering of chapters, and incorporation of the most recent guidelines for each topic. Approach to Internal Medicine continues to serve as an essential reference for every medical student, resident, fellow, practicing physician, nurse, and physician assistant.
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition by Stefano Guandalini (Editor); Anil Dhawan (Editor); David Branski (Editor)This textbook provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The first part of the book, Gastroenterology and Nutrition, presents in a systematic way the overall scope of issues encountered by children (newborn to teenagers) suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas and/or presenting nutritional issues. These chapters are structured in logical sections to facilitate consultation and include major topics ranging from congenital disorders to gastrointestinal problems of the newborn, infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract, and approach to nutritional problems in the various pediatric ages. The second part of the book, Hepatology, is articulated in a series of chapters which present a comprehensive review of congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver. This section also includes a critical analysis of available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide to Practice constitutes a much needed, innovative resource combining updated, reliable and comprehensive information with agile consultation for a streamlined approach to the care of children with such disorders.
Publication Date: 2015-09-30
Core Curriculum by Wound Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society® Staff; Jane E. Carmel; Janice C. Colwell; Margaret GoldbergThis volume in the new Core Curriculum series from the WOCN#65533; Society covers Ostomy Management, and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying ostomy patient care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Anatomy and physiology of the GI and urinary tracts o The disease states that lead to a fecal/urinary stoma o Fecal or urinary stoma construction o Fecal or urinary diversion. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including management of stoma and peristomal complications. And, end-of-chapter Q&A helps you remember all vital points. Practical directions cover: o Preoperative care for patients undergoing fecal or urinary diversion o Postoperative nursing assessment and management o New surgical procedures and pouching techniques o Patient education o Rehabilitation issues o Ostomy patient needs, including assessment and management of pediatric patients. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Ostomy Management is essential for nursing students in ostomy care programs; nurses caring for patients with an ostomy; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
Evidence-Based Critical Care by Paul Ellis MarikThis is the premier evidence-based textbook in critical care medicine. The Third Edition features updated and revised chapters, numerous new references, streamlined content, and new chapters on key topics such as the new paradigm in critical care medicine, cardiac output monitoring, surgical optimization, vital signs, and arterial blood gas analysis. The book maintains the author's trademark humor and engaging writing style and is suitable for a broad and diverse audience of medical students, residents, fellows, physicians, nurses, and respiratory therapists who seek the latest and best evidence in critical care. From reviews of previous editions: "This is an excellent introduction to the concept of evidence-based medicine...The writing is clear, logical, and highly organized, which makes for fast and enjoyable reading. I believe this book will get daily use in most intensive care units, by a wide range of readers." -Respiratory Care "This is one of the most comprehensive handbooks on critical care medicine with a strong emphasis on evidence base...Overall, this book should be useful for junior doctors or intensive care trainees who are starting their term in an intensive care unit." -Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
Curbside Consultation in IBD by David T. Rubin; Sonia Friedman; Francis FarrayeCurbside Consultation in IBD: 49 Clinical Questions has been updated into a Second Edition! The Second Edition contains new questions and is completely updated! Are you looking for concise, practical answers to questions that are often left unanswered by traditional inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) references? Are you seeking brief, evidence-based and updated advice for complicated cases or complications? Curbside Consultation in IBD: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition provides quick and direct answers to the thorny questions commonly posed during a "curbside consultation" between colleagues. Dr. David T. Rubin, Dr. Sonia Friedman, and Dr. Francis A. Farraye are joined by a world-class group of contributors on the Second Edition, which offers expert advice, preferences, and opinions on tough clinical questions commonly associated with IBD. The unique Q&A format provides quick access to current information related to IBD with the simplicity of a conversation between two colleagues. Numerous images, diagrams, and references are included to better illustrate IBD. Some of the questions that are answered inside the Second Edition include: * How can I clarify the diagnosis in my patient with indeterminate colitis? * What is the role of concomitant immunomodulators with biologic use in IBD? * When in the treatment algorithm should methotrexate be considered for Crohn's disease? Is there a role for low-dose methotrexate in the prevention of immunogenicity? * How should we be using fecal markers such as lactoferrin and calprotectin in our patients? * Should I use chromoendoscopy in my surveillance colonoscopy in IBD? How and which agent? * What is the updated approach to antimetabolites and biologic therapy in IBD and pregnancy? * When should I consider anti-integrin therapy for my patient with IBD? Curbside Consultation in IBD: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition has been updated with new questions and answers, and has chapters organized by topic. The format provides information that high-volume clinicians will appreciate, and yet is basic enough for trainees and students.
Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Curbside Consultation in Endoscopy by Joseph Leung; Simon LoCurbside Consultation in Endoscopy: 49 Clinical Questions has been updated into a Second Edition! The Second Edition contains new questions and is completely updated! Curbside Consultation in Endoscopy: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition contains new questions and brief, practical, and evidence-based answers to the most frequently asked questions that are posed during a "curbside consultation" between surgical colleagues. Dr. Joseph Leung and Dr. Simon Lo have designed this unique reference, which offers expert advice, preferences, and opinions on tough clinical questions and situations commonly encountered in endoscopy. The unique Q&A format provides quick access to current information related to therapeutic endoscopy with the simplicity of a conversation between two colleagues. Illustrative images, diagrams, and references are included to enhance the understanding of endoscopy. Some of the questions that are answered: * What Do People Do for the Treatment of Achalasia These Days? Does it Matter if the Symptoms Are Severe or if the Patient Is Elderly? * I Had a Difficult Colonoscopy and No Matter What I Tried, I Just Could Not Reach the Cecum. I Maxed Out on IV Sedations and Have No Anesthesiology Support. Can You Help Me? * A 45-Year-Old Patient With Known Hepatitis C Was Admitted Because of Massive Upper GI Bleeding. What Should I Do? * A 55-Year-Old Veteran Had a Ruptured Gallbladder and a Difficult Cholecystectomy. Postoperatively, the Patient Had Persistent Bile Leakage Despite Months of Multiple Biliary Stenting. What Can I Do? * How Do We Manage a Patient With a 10-cm Pseudocyst Who Is Currently Asymptomatic * What Is a Reliable Method to Estimate the Location of a Lesion Found on Capsule Endoscopy? Curbside Consultation in Endoscopy: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition provides information basic enough for residents while also incorporating expert advice that even high-volume clinicians will appreciate. Gastroenterologists, fellows and residents in training, surgical attendings, and surgical residents will all benefit from the user-friendly and casual format and the expert advice contained within.
Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy by Adam Haycock; Jonathan Cohen; Brian P. Saunders; Peter B. Cotton; Christopher B. WilliamsTranslated into seven languages, Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy has for the last 25 years been the basic primer for endoscopy around the world, providing clear, clinical and practical guidance on the fundamentals of endoscopy practice, from patient positioning and safety, how to perform different endoscopic procedures, and the latest in therapeutic techniques and advances in technology. It's key strength and reason for its popularity is its step-by-step, practical approach, especially with the use of outstanding colour artwork to illustrate the right and wrong ways to perform endoscopy. Add to this the weight and expertise of its author team, led by Peter Cotton and Christopher Williams, and the final result is an essential tool for all gastroenterologists and endoscopists, particularly trainees looking to improve their endoscopic technique. Joining Peter Cotton, Christopher Williams and Brian Saunders in the seventh edition are two exciting stars in UK and US endoscopy, Adam Haycock and Jonathan Cohen. New to this edition are: Approximately 35 high-quality videos illustrating optimum endoscopy practice, all referenced via "video eyes" in the text Self-assessment MCQs to test main learning points An online clinical photo imagebank to complement the line illustrations, perfect for downloading into scientific presentations Key learning points in every chapter Much more information on mucosal resection techniques and small bowel endoscopy-for capsule and "deep" enteroscopy The latest recommendations and guidelines from the ASGE, ASG, UEGW and BSG. Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, seventh edition is fully modernised, masterful as ever, and once again, the number one endoscopy manual for a whole new generation of gastroenterologists and endoscopists.
Publication Date: 2013-12-02
The SAGES Manual by Nathaniel J. Soper (Editor); Carol E. H. Scott-Conner (Editor)The much-anticipated revision of the second edition of The SAGES Manual: Fundamentals of Laparoscopy, Thoracoscopy, and GI Endoscopy, has been completely restructured, reorganized, and revised. The Manual has been split into two volumes for better portability. Volume I, Basic Laparoscopy and Endoscopy covers the fundamentals and procedures performed during surgical residency. Volume I will be the first volume used by students, residents, and allied healthcare professional trainees. Material has been added to these fundamentals and procedures that will also be of interest to experienced surgeons. Volume II, Advanced Laparoscopy and Endoscopy covers more advanced procedures, generally taught during fellowship. All of the sections have been reorganized with a critical eye to the needs of the modern minimal access surgeon. Two new editors have been added. Chapters have been revised by both new authors as well as many stalwart authors from previous editions. These portable handbooks cover all of the major laparoscopic and flexible endoscopic procedures in easy-to-read format. Indications, patient preparation, operative techniques, and strategies for avoiding and managing complications are included for the complete spectrum of both "gold standard" and emerging procedures in diagnostic and therapeutic laparoscopy, thoracoscopy, and endoscopy. The scope, detail, and quality of the contributions confirm and demonstrate the SAGES commitment to surgical education. This manual is sure to find a home in the pocket, locker or briefcase of all gastrointestinal endoscopic surgeons and residents.
Publication Date: 2012-06-02
Pathophysiology by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins StaffOne of the top-selling titles from the Incredibly Easy series, the fully updated 5th edition of Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy presents information vital to nurses and student nurses on the difficult topic of pathophysiology in an easy-to-learn, easy-to-remember approach -- as only Incredibly Easy titles can do! This entertaining, practical, and informative reference reviews the basics of pathophysiology including an overview of the cell and its components, cell division, degeneration and aging, homeostasis, disease and illness. All content has been reviewed and updated to help you become a whiz on pathophysiology, diagnostic tests, signs and symptoms, treatments, and more . . . Specific chapters address cancer, infection, immune disorders, and genetics and you'll find less-common disorders highlighted in an extensive chart in the appendix If you are still learning, Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy will help you master complex subjects in minutes with special elements found throughout the text to make it easy to understand and remember key points and information, including: * The "Battling illness" logo that highlights treatment options * The "Now I get it" logo that illustrates difficult concepts * A quick review "That's a wrap!" at the end of each chapter to reinforce what you've learned * The newest NCLEX-type alternate-format questions in the Practice Makes Perfect section And if that's not enough you can go online to the easiest website to use . . . ever . . . where you'll find valuable resources, including clinical art, study cards, memory joggers, and Pathophysiology animations Written by nurses and for nurses, Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy, 5th edition, will help you conquer the toughest-to-learn topics in nursing!
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
Successful Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy by Jonathan Cohen (Editor)Endoscopy is the primary diagnostic method for GI complaints and is replete with an ever expanding array of therapeutic capabilities. Successful Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy will provide all gastroenterologists with the exact set of skills required to perform endoscopy at the highest level. GI trainees will find it a crucial primer for learning endoscopy; teachers will find it a guide to understand how best to develop the expertise of their students; and experienced practicing gastroenterologists will find it a useful refresher tool to brush up on their existing endoscopic skills and to familiarise themselves with new procedures, including issues of safety and competence while performing them. With contributions from internationally recognized leaders in endoscopy education and an endorsement by the World Organisation of Digestive Endoscopy, each chapter will examine the specific skill sets and procedure related tasks which must be mastered when learning a particular technique, including: Specific descriptions of accessories required Standard training methods for the procedure Optimal utilization of novel learning modalities such as simulators Quality measures and objective parameters for competency Available tools for assessing competency once training has been completed In addition to the 400 high-quality, outstanding colour photos, the book will come with a DVD containing over 130 annotated teaching videos of both actual procedures and ex-vivo animal model simulations. These videos will illustrate, in a step by step fashion the proper techniques to be followed, highlighting clinical pearls from the experts and the most common mistakes to avoid. Successful Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy will be a key purchase for all gastroenterologists, whether in training or experienced, to allow them to develop and perfect their endoscopic skills. Itnbsp;will be a particularly useful guide for those interested in mastering the latest new techniques and procedures and an essential reference for teachers of endoscopy and students alike. Note: DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file. These materials are available for download upon purchase.
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Inflammatory Bowel Disease by Russell D. Cohen (Editor)As in the first edition of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases this new edition continues to provide readers with a concise, yet in-depth review of many of the important areas in the history, epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of the inflammatory bowel diseases (ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease), as well as associated issues: extraintestinal manifestations, ostomy care, women's issues, economics, etc. This Second Edition provides the reders with up-to-date, state-of-the art approaches to these disease states, with expansion into the newer topics that have emerged in the past few years which include the expansion of biological agents for treatment, new studies in the epidemiology of IBD, the changing economics of IBD, breakthroughs in new endoscopic evaluations, major advances in novel radiographic techniques, the detection of colorectal cancer in patients with IBD and new findings in the genetics of IBD. New Trend / Developments (* These all emerged since our last edition) The most critical trend that has arisen over the past few years has been the introduction and expansion of biological agents in the treatment of inflammatory diseases worldwide. While only one agent, infliximab (Remicade), existed at the time of publication of my first edition, there have been multiple other agents either approved or pending approval for the treatments of these diseases, or in the upper-stages of development. The impact is not only upon the patients, but also on the health-care providers, policy makers, researchers, biotech and pharmacompanies, and the business community. Major changes worldwide in the epidemiology of IBD has spurred new studies in the demographics of who is getting these diseases and why. Previously characterized as diseases primarily affected Caucasians in industrialized countries, there has been an explosion of growth amongst the African American and Hispanic populations in the United States, and well as in pockets of these and other ethnic groups worldwide. The economics of IBD has been changing greatly, given the issues raised above, as well as major changes in the United States Medicare program, and other insurance changes. The growing proportion of the GNP that healthcare costs are consuming in the US and worldwide has shifted attention to decreasing utilization of health care services, and other cost-savings measures. Again, up to this point this has been an exclusive part of our IBD book. New findings in the genetics of IBD have been recently published. Our first edition had the finding of the first Crohn's disease gene inserted just before going to press; so much has been published about the phenotypes and other genotypes that have emerged. Breakthroughs in new endoscopic evaluations of the bowel (ie. Capsule endoscopy, double-balloon enteroscopy, endoscopic ultrasound) and their use in the inflammatory bowel diseases will be a key highlight of this new book. Major advances in novel radiographic techniques employed in patients with inflammatory bowel disease (ie. CT enterography, MR enterography, advanced ultrasounds, etc.) will also an important component of our work. There have been numerous areas related to the development and detection of colorectal cancer in patients with IBD that have emerged in the past few years. Techniques of better detection (ie. Narrow band imaging; special mucosal staining; endoscopic histological evaluations) as well as research in the putative role of mesalamine and other agents for colorectal cancer prevention are all hot topics that will attract much interest from a variety of interest groups I described above. Identification of additional disease states that probably belong in the IBD family, such as microscopic colitis (including lymphocytic colitis), and collagenous colitis add to the diseases that will be discussed in this new edition.
Gastroenterology and Hepatology by John W. D. McDonald (Editor); Andrew K. Burroughs (Editor); Brian G. Feagan (Editor); M. Brian Fennerty (Editor)The only evidence-based resource combining gastroenterology and hepatology, this major textbook critically appraises the evidence for diagnosis, screening, and treatment of gastrointestinal and hepatic diseases, and provides clear recommendations for management. A unique feature is the grading of both the evidence (randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, or lower quality trials) and the treatment recommendations. This structure provides the reader with valuable guidance on implementation. The third edition has been fully revised, providing the latest reviews of the evidence. It is also enhanced with new topics that have significant evidence for treatment, including; Esinophilic esophagitis Acute dysenteries Prevention and treatment of travellers' diarrhoea Frequency of adverse drug effects on bowel function Management of hepatitis B Management of Hepatitis C Vascular disorder of the liver Non invasive diagnosis of liver fibrosis Drug induced liver disease
Curbside Consultation in GERD by Philip Katz (Editor)Are you looking for concise, practical answers to questions that are often left unanswered by traditional GERD references? Are you seeking brief, evidence-based advice for complicated cases or complications? Curbside Consultation in GERD: 49 Clinical Questions provides quick and direct answers to the thorny questions commonly posed during a "curbside consultation" between colleagues. Dr. Philip Katz has designed this unique reference, which offers expert advice, preferences, and opinions on tough clinical questions commonly associated with GERD. The unique Q&A format provides quick access to current information related to GERD with the simplicity of a conversation between two colleagues. Numerous images, diagrams, and references are included to enhance the text and to illustrate the treatment of GERD patients. Curbside Consultation in GERD: 49 Clinical Questions provides information basic enough for residents while also incorporating expert advice that even high-volume clinicians will appreciate. Gastroenterologists, fellows and residents in training, surgical attendings, and surgical residents will benefit from the user-friendly and casual format and the expert advice contained within. Some of the questions that are answered: * Can medical therapy alter the natural history of Barrett's esophagus? * Can antireflux surgery alter the natural history of Barrett's esophagus? * How does pregnancy affect GERD? Is GERD in pregnancy a risk for long-term reflux? * What is the association of obesity and GERD? * What are the so-called extraesophageal manifestations of GERD? * Is there a gender difference in reflux disease? Does this affect treatment?