Skip to main content  

Research Building Blocks: Citation Management Tools

Citation Management Software

What is a Citation Management Software?

Citation or Reference Management software is technology that allows researchers, students and anyone writing for publication or research to properly format bibliographic information from which evidence is taken or to which an idea, theory, statistic, et al. is credited. Citation Management Software retrieves and organizes bibliographic information for sources, such books, articles, and web sites.  Citation Management Software offer a wide range of academic and research citation styles to choose from. These include APA, MLA, Chicago Style, Vancouver Style, etc.

 

Exampes of Popular Citation Software

APA Citation Machine allows the user to create citations, provide grammar suggestions, and detect unintentional plagiarism. The website provides different citation styles (APA, MLA, etc.) and provides overviews of each style and its usage.

APA Citation Machine: http://www.citationmachine.net/apa

Cite This For Me citation guides covers several citation styles, but the most popular are APAChicago Manual of styleMLAHarvard referencing, Normas APA and Normas ABNT. Beyond simply creating references or citations, most citation styles have additional guidelines about paper formatting, in-text citations, and other details. 

Additional Features

Chrome Add-on

Has a Google Chrome add-on. Whenever you are on a page you wish to use as a source, simply click the Cite This For Me extension button to generate a citation for it. 

Export & Import

You can copy and paste your citations from Cite This For Me into your paper, project, or document.

If you’re looking to export it as a Word Doc, our premium features were designed for you.

Premium Cite This For Me Access

If you like to save work as you progress, dislike ads, and prefer to download your bibliography as a Word Doc,  The premium version gives access to the plagiarism check. It helps you identify any information that may still need a citation created for it. 

 

EndNote is a desktop reference management software that allows the user to build and maintain a bibliography library that can be organized, updated and shared. Note: there is also a web-based version.

 Endnote has both a basic and Advanced version.

EndNote Basics

EndNote basic is a more limited reference management solution that is only available online. EndNote basic users can create an online library with a maximum of 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments.

There are two versions of EndNote basic.

  • The free version of EndNote basic has 21 styles and a limited number of filters and connection files. This version is available to anybody, with no other purchase required.
  • The version of EndNote basic available as part of the Web of Science has thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. This version is accessible by those whose institution has a subscription to the Web of Science.

Endnote advanced version (Endnote X9)

For a full list of the different features for each and how they compare, please see sidebars.

 UHN Libraries offers Endnote training. Please see UHN Libraries' workshop calendar for the next session.

Endnote training is also offered on the Endnote website

Mendeley is a free online referencing software that allows the user to  import documents, generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles, including APA, MLA and others.

 For more on this software: https://guides.library.upenn.edu/citationmgmt/mendeley

RefWorks is a popular reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians. RefWorks e is a web-based.  Reference databases are stored online, allowing them to be accessed and updated from any computer with an internet connection. Institutional licenses allow universities to subscribe to RefWorks on behalf of all their students, faculty and staff. Individual licenses are also available. The software enables linking from a user's RefWorks account to electronic editions of journals to which the institution's library subscribes. 

 RefWorks does require the user the sign in to access its services. For more on RefWorks, please visit: https://refworks.proquest.com/researcher/

 

 

 

 

Zotera an open-source software program that is notable for its ease of use, its ability to grab screenshots, and its capabilities for archiving website content for local storage. Zotero instantly creates references and bibliographies for any text editor, and directly inside Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs. 

 For more on the software: https://www.zotero.org/

 

Choosing A Citation Manager