Skip to Main Content  

Patient & Family Education Resources: Patient & Family Education Resources

Patient & Family Learning Centres Catalogue

Digital Skills Learning

Digital Health for All : Digital Health Skills Resource Guide for Patients and Families

Digital Health for All


This website is your guide to getting familiar with digital tools and resources that are important for your healthcare journey at UHN. Whether you are a beginner or have some experience with digital health, here you will find resources that will help you learn and gain confidence in your digital health skills.

UHN Brochures, Mobile Apps, and Other Resources

Direct patients to the UHN Patient and Family Health Information portal for educational materials on a variety of health topics.

Patients may also benefit from:

 

UHN Patient Education Documentation Guide 2019

This guide aims to:

  • Identify the elements of patient education that are most important to document
  • Provide examples of patient education documentation
  • Encourage the documentation of patient education as standard practice
     

Pamphlets and Handouts

AccessMedicine Patient Education Handouts

  • Grouped by Adult, Pediatric, Medicines, or Acute
    • The Pediatric section includes handouts written specifically for Teens 
  • Organized alphabetically by condition and/or medical device
  • The handout can be printed, downloaded as a PDF, or emailed
  • With an account, the handout can be customized with a personal message before distributing to the patient

​BMJ Best Practice Patient Leaflets

  • Leaflets are organized A-Z by condition, or grouped by Specialty area
  • More visually appealing and written in plain language, which may be more accessible than the handouts from AccessMedicine
  • Clearly state the date of last revision

Databases

Journal Articles

UHN Patient & Family Learning Centres Locations

Toronto General

The Peter and Melanie Munk Patient Learning & Experience Centre is on Level 1 of the Norman Urquhart (NU) Building, near the Pharmacy and Tim Horton's. 

Princess Margaret 

The Princess Margaret Patient Learning & Experience Centre is on the main floor of 610 University Avenue building

Toronto Western 

The Paul B. Helliwell Patient Learning & Experience Centre is located on the 1st floor of the West Wing.

Working with Diverse Patient Populations

LGBT2SQ Health Connect

  • online learning platform with a variety of courses offered through Rainbow Health Ontario

UHN Diversity Training

  • instructor-led course offered through UHN Corporate

 

Black Legacy Committee

  • The mandate and work of UHN's Black Legacy Committee (BLC) is to promote the interests and increase awareness and understanding of equity issues related to Black and racialized communities at UHN.

2SLGBTQIA+ Committee

  • Fosters respect for the voices, interests and issues of LGBTQ+ communities that provide or access UHN's services.

UHN Accessibility Council

  • The responsibilities of this committee include consulting with people with disabilities and preparing UHN’s accessibility plan. 

Patient Partners

  • The Patient Partner Program recruits, selects, orients and matches patients & family caregivers of UHN in the role of a Patient Partner, to work with staff on specific UHN initiatives, committees and activities that enhance and improve the quality and safety of care

Drug Information

RxTx 

  • A database of drug and therapy information compiled by the Canadian Pharmacists Association
  • Provides current Health Canada Advisories (recall and safety alerts) as well as CPS Notifications (important product updates)
  • Includes Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker
  • Features directories for drug manufacturers, Poison Control Centres, and Canadian health organizations

Drug Information Portal

  • Drug information provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other governmental agencies; primarily U.S.-based information
  • Resources are categorized by audience, including the public, health professionals, researchers, and librarians
  • Links to other NLM Resources, such as MedLinePlus

Natural Medicines (Therapeutic Research Centre)

  • Contains over 1200 monographs on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, naturally sourced chemical compounds, and foods
  • Over 200 monographs covering a wide range of complementary and alternative treatment topics, including specialized diets and therapies
  • Includes tools such as Interaction Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Pregnancy & Lactation Checker

Global Drug Reference Online (DRO) 

  • Provides athletes and support personnel with information about the prohibited status of specific substances under the rules of sport based on the current World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Prohibited List.
  • Search by sport or user type, including: Athlete, Coach, Parent, Medical Professional, Pharmacist and Sports Administer

Recommended Reads from UHN Health Science Libraries

For Library Staff

We acknowledge this sacred land on which the University Health Network operates. For thousands of years it has been the traditional territory of the Huron-Wendat, the Haudenosaunee, and most recently, the Mississaugas of the Credit River. This territory was the subject of the Dish With One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, an agreement between the Haudenosaunee Confederacy and the Confederacy of the Ojibwe and allied nations to peaceably share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. Today, the meeting place of Toronto is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work and learn on this territory

UHN Library and Information Services

Copyright © - University Health Network. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy