Genetics Technology: Websites
Evaluating Websites
When performing research in books at the LRC or in LRC-subscribed databases, you can be reasonably confident that you are using good sources. But when visiting other websites, it's not always so clear whether the information is appropriate for your research. When in doubt, use the CRAAP test, and consider the following aspects of the information:
Currency: the timeliness of the information
Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs
Authority: the source of the information
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content
Purpose: the reason the information exists
To read more about the questions you should be asking, see the original CRAAP test from California State University, Chico.
Associations and Regulatory Colleges
Student Recommendations
Websites
- Cancer Genetics WebThe aim of the site is to provide comprehensive links to reliable information about genes, their associated proteins, and genetic mutations associated with cancer and related disorders.
- Educational Items in Human GeneticsThis site provides links to general topics in genetics including Mendelian and Non-Mendelian inheritance, constitutional chromosomal disorders, malignacies and a glossary of genetic terms.
- GeneReviewsGeneReviews are expert-authored, peer-reviewed, disease descriptions focused on clinically relevant and medically actionable information on the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of patients and families with specific inherited conditions. GeneReviews is maintained by the University of Washington, Seattle and funded by the National Institutes of Health.
- GeneTestsGeneTests maintains online directories of genetics laboratories and clinics. This website includes all clinical laboratory test listings and genetics clinics listings posted on the former GeneTests site as of May 23, 2013, when the University of Washinton began licensing the information to Bio-Reference Laboratories. Until that time GeneTests was funded by the National Institutes of Health and maintained by the University of Washington.
- Genetic Testing Registry (GTR)The Genetic Testing Registry (GTR) provides a central location for voluntary submission of genetic test information by providers. The scope includes the test's purpose, methodology, validity, evidence of the test's usefulness, and laboratory contacts and credentials.
- Genetics Home ReferenceInformation about genetic disorders including associated gene mutations and chromosomal abnormalities.
- Human Genome Project Information Archive 1990-2003A repository for historical documents detailing the history of the HGP from the project's beginnings until it was completed in 2003.
- Human Genome ResourcesThe National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) website serving as an information infrastructure for researchers and scientists. Includes links to databases and other genetics resources including a genome browser, SNP database, OMIM and Map Viewer.
- OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in ManThis database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders developed for the World Wide Web by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It contains textual information, pictures, reference information, and also the OMIM Morbid Map, a catalogue of genetic diseases and their cytogenetic map locations arranged alphabetically by disease.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.