Find books available through the St. Michael's Hospital Health Sciences Library
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of surgical diseases CURRENT Diagnosis& Treatment Surgery delivers to-the-point information on more than 1,000 diseases and disorders that surgeons are most often required to treat. Concise yet thorough,the book covers both general surgery and the surgical subspecialties, including neurosurgery, otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedic surgery, urology, and pediatric surgery. This Fifteenth Edition has been updated throughout to reflect the latest research and discoveries. The consistent presentation, headings, and accessible text makes it easy to find answers quickly. * An outstanding review for the USMLE and shelf examinations * The best introductory text to the field of surgery * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 200 chapter review multiple choice questions
Current Surgical Therapy by
An ideal resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 13th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the consistent, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout all 263 chapters, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics such as management of rectal cancer, inguinal hernia, and colon cancer. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes seven all-new chapters: REBOA in Resuscitation of the Trauma Patient, Treatment of Varicose Veins, Management of Infected Grafts, Radiation for Pancreatic Malignancies, Pneumatosis Intestinalis, Proper Use of Cholecystostomy Tubes, and Pelvic Fractures. Integrates all minimally invasive surgical techniques into relevant chapters where they are now standard management. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Features full-color images throughout, helping you visualize key steps in each procedure. Helps you achieve better outcomes and ensure faster recovery times for your patients. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Essentials of General Surgery by
For nearly 25 years, medical students and faculty alike have chosen E ssentials of General Surgery and its companion textbook, Essentials of Surgical Specialties, for authoritative coverage of surgical information that every physician in training should know. The Fifth Edition incorporates current research from the field; new sample questions, answers, and rationales; and new tables and algorithms. A new art program presents concepts and images--including an Appendix with 50 burn images--in full color for optimal learning and retention. Why is this textbook so popular? - With its overview of anatomy, physiology, and coverage of pertinent complications for each case, the text prepares students for the NBME shelf exam for surgery, as well as residency training. - The authors--all of whom are practicing surgeons--carefully manage the depth and breadth of content so that each section can be reasonably read and thoroughly understood by third- and fourth-year students. - Organized by systems, the text features a closing section on surgical procedures to orient students to some of the most common cases seen on a general surgery rotation. With your purchase of the text, you'll receive access to: Interactive question bank with answer explanations · Fully searchable eBook · Bonus chapters on ethics and surgical procedures · Image Bank
First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship, Third Edition by
THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO EXCELLING ON THE SURGERY CLERKSHIP AND IMPRESSING ON THE WARDS - NOW IN FULL COLOR! Detailed what-to-study and what-you-must-know advice from clerkship veterans prepares you for success! * Completely updated content with emphasis on what you must know to earn honors on the shelf exam and standout during rounds * Score-boosting opening section devoted to maximizing your performance on the Surgery Clerkship * Frequently tested high-yield facts and mnemonics maximize your study time * "Ward Tips" prepare you for common "pimp" questions * Integrated flashcards offer a fun, fast way to review
The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The sixth edition of the MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook focuses on multidisciplinary, cooperative approaches to issues confronting the surgical oncologist. Organized by disease and in full color for the first time, this volume is comprehensive yet concise, and takes into account all of the oncologic issues you need to consider in order to fully understand each disease and its relevant treatments. Written by current and former MD Anderson surgical oncology fellows. Each disease- or system-specific chapter covers epidemiology, pathology, staging, diagnosis, clinical presentation, surgical treatment and targeted therapies, and more. Includes a new chapter on peritoneal malignancies and is updated with the latest staging and protocols. Ideal for surgical residents, medical students facing a surgical/oncology rotation, and practicing surgeons. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care , Sixth Edition is appropriate for courses in medical-surgical nursing. It also serves as a helpful reference for practicing nurses.
Medical-Surgical Nursing in Canada by
Completely revised and updated, Medical-Surgical Nursing in Canada: Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems, 3rd Edition explores patient care in various clinical settings and focuses on key topics such as prioritization, clinical decision-making, evidence-informed practice, and patient safety.
The Mont Reid Surgical Handbook by
Written by residents for residents, the updated 6th edition of this best-selling handbook provides you with exactly the information you need to overcome the vast majority of challenges you encounter during your surgical residency. With its pocket-size and easy-reference format, this resource enables you to quickly access the right guidance...at the right time...about what to do and how to do it. No resident should be without this essential surgical guide! Provides comprehensive guidelines for the treatment of the most common surgical conditions, including preoperative and postoperative care, as well as relevant pathophysiology. Includes surgical management that encompasses state-of-the-art technology and emphasizes minimally invasive techniques, including important coverage of laparoscopic cholecystectomy, appendectomy, and herniorrhaphy. Provides guidelines for proper medical record keeping as well as other mediocolegal aspects of surgical care. Offers detailed figures depicting important anatomical structures and operative techniques. New chapters cover Surgical Risk Assessment, Head and Neck Malignancy, Mediastinal Tumors, Dialysis Access, and Robotics. Rapid References section offers handy formulas and charts in one easy-access location. Thoroughly revised content throughout ensures that you stay up to date. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by
Since its first publication in 1936, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery has been regarded as the preeminent source for definitive guidance in all areas of general surgery. The 20th edition continues the rich tradition of quality that has made this classic text synonymous with the specialty and a part of generations of surgery residents and practitioners. Meticulously updated throughout, this classic text concisely covers the breadth of material needed for certification and practice of general surgery. Detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips capture key teaching moments, allowing you to better understand the basic science of surgery, make the most informed decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for every patient. Understand the underlying science and its clinical application to make informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes. Overcome tough challenges, manage unusual situations, and avoid complications with the most trusted advice in your field. Get the depth of coverage you need in an easily accessible, single volume organized by organ and along traditional lines beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Explore topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Visually grasp and retain difficult concepts thanks to a full-color design featuring an abundance of illustrations, intraoperative photographs, video clips and tables as well as more schematic diagrams that facilitate the comprehension of surgical techniques and procedures. Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information about the latest surgical perspectives and approaches to treatment including innovations in minimally invasive surgery and percutaneous devices. Streamline clinical decision making with an increased number of schematic diagrams and key data on surgical outcomes. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical Decision Making by
Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
416-864-5059
hslibrary@smh.ca
Follow @SMHealthSciLib
