If you are off-site, you will need to authenticate yourself as a St. Michael's Hospital staff, physician, or student to access most databases. For assistance and more information on authentication, visit our Off-Site Accesspage.
Access MedicineThis link opens in a new windowFeatures a collection of medical textbooks, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, videos, calculators and tools
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowSystematic summaries of evidence of the effects of healthcare interventions used for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
EBM ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowA collection of six databases (Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED) that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
Global Index Medicus (GIM)The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Health Business EliteThis database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. Updated on a daily basis, it is an indispensable resource for both healthcare professionals and researchers.
HealthstarThis link opens in a new windowContains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research
LexicompThis link opens in a new windowProvides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools
LilacsThis link opens in a new windowLatin American and Caribbean Literature in Health Sciences has a strong emphasis on public health and is the index of the health scientific and technical literature in Latin America and the Caribbean
LongwoodsIncludes the following Journals: Healthcare Quarterly
World Health & Population
MedlineThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information that includes citations and abstracts for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, and health care
MedPix®This link opens in a new windowMedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images targeting physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, and nursing students
Natural MedicinesThis link opens in a new windowAuthoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies
OT SeekerThis link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions
PAIN+This link opens in a new windowAccess to the latest high-quality research articles on pain that have been rated, by both health care professionals and patients living with chronic pain, to determine clinical relevance and general interest
PEDroThis link opens in a new windowFree database of over 40,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in NutritionThis link opens in a new windowProvides nutrition practitioners with ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition and offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health SourceThis link opens in a new windowScholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews best used for those preparing for a career in healthcare, teaching patient care, or engaged in nursing research
Psychiatry OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, up-to-date information, including books, journals, and multimedia, geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, and medical students
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowCentered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences, containing research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts, it is one of the most highly utilized databases by students, researchers, educators, and practitioners worldwide
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowComprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books including the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
CPS (formerly RxTx)This link opens in a new windowProviding health care providers a robust, intuitive solution to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information, including comparative and evaluative information on treatment options for more than 250 common medical conditions, easy-to-use decision algorithms and tables of drug choices