Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Ready to Publish?
Finally, you are ready to write your manuscript and begin the publishing process. This page offers you resources with tips and tricks for writing your manuscript as well as guides to aid in the publishing cycle. For tips and tricks before you begin writing, please see the LRC's Writing Tips and Tricks guide.
Are you a Michener student looking to publish? Consider our online student journal, MICH! Details for submissions can be found here.
Writing BattleGround - Michener Institute for Education at UHN
An in-house guide for writing in the health sciences, the Writing BattleGround is designed to aid researchers in writing their manuscripts by taking users through tips on concise writing and provides a list of common errors to avoid. The guide also includes a revision checklist you can use when editing your manuscript.
Writing Services - University Health Network Virtual Library
This page provides an extensive list of writing resources for researchers to consult both during and after the writing of their manuscript. Includes a helpful module with various resources and services to help write an effective manuscript.
Where to Publish and the Publication Process
Researcher's Toolkit: Write & Publish - McMaster Health Sciences Library
This resource takes you through writing and publishing in the health sciences and highlights the option of open access publishing, providing helpful resources to researchers to find lists of OA publishers as well as links to research funding agencies' policies.
Getting Published in Health Sciences - University of Toronto Libraries
This page focuses on the acronym IMPACT and provides researchers with a list of things to keep in mind throughout the publishing process to maximize impact. The guide also includes a checklist that follows IMPACT so researchers can track their manuscript revisions.
The Publication Cycle - University Health Network Virtual Library
An extensive overview of the publication cycle, this resource is excellent for researchers when looking to publish their manuscripts. The guide takes researchers from the inception of their research question through to the publication of their project deliverable, providing additional resources to researchers to further aid their research. Highlights include the focus on publication ethics and the issue of predatory journals in scholarly publishing.
Picture for Aesthetic Purposes
Author Rights - University of Toronto Libraries
This page includes an extensive outline of the issue of author rights in scholarly publications. The page also offers additional resources within Canada that can help researchers retain their rights when publishing.
Author Rights - McGill University Library
This guide offers an overview of author rights in publishing and includes additional Canadian resources, highlighting the importance of retaining rights in accordance with funding policies.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.