Research Lifecycle Directory: Sharing and Impact
After Publication
The research lifecycle does not end after publication. You still need to promote your research, preserve your data, and eventually measure the impact of your publication. This page provides some helpful resources aimed to guide researchers beyond publication.
Promoting Your Research
- The Researcher's Toolkit: Share/Impact - McMaster Health Sciences LibraryBriefly examines resources for author IDs and ways to promote your research in the scholarly community.
- Research Impact and Researcher Identity - University of Toronto LibrariesA more comprehensive examination of academic social networks, this guide provides a list of helpful resources to further engage the academic community in order to promote research.
- Citation Metrics Workshop: Author IDs - University of British Columbia LibraryThis page effectively highlights three popular author identification services that are essential to maximizing researcher visibility in the global network of researchers.
Data Deposition in RDM
The Digital Research Alliance of Canada provides a scalable, federated platform for digital research data management (RDM) and discovery.
Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository, is a bilingual, multi-disciplinary, secure, Canadian research data repository, supported by academic libraries and research institutions across Canada.
Preserving and Sharing Research Data
- Share/Impact: Preserve your Research Data - McMaster Health Sciences LibraryBriefly covers data repositories available to researchers including Open Access repositories and the Scholars Portal Dataverse.
- Research Data Management - University of Toronto LibrariesThis section highlights how to choose data for preservation and where you can preserve your data for retention. Includes a link to a list of data repositories and information for publishing data in the Dataverse.
FAIR Principles
Consider FAIR Principles as guidelines in your research data management strategies to make your data findable, accessible, interoperable, and re-usable.
Measuring Impact
Image from Library Connect at Elsevier
- After You Publish: Metrics and Altmetrics - University Health Network Virtual LibraryThis page is an extensive overview of metrics and altmetrics and how they can be used to measure the impact of a scholarly publication. Includes a glossary of metric terms with informative definitions.
- Responsible Use of Metrics - University of Toronto LibrariesThis guide highlights the responsible use of metrics in measuring publication impact and discusses the ongoing debate of improper vs. proper use of metrics. Also includes a key readings list for a further understanding of these issues.
- About Altmetrics: Evaluating Research Impact - Queen's University LibraryThis guide focuses on the use of altmetrics to measure impact and highlights the pros and cons of its use. Includes informative videos that address altmetrics.
Creative Commons License
Michener Institute of Education at UHN, 2018.