Journal Articles
Finding Journal Articles
To search for journal articles on a specific topic, choose a database from the Databases box below. Searching one of these databases will allow you to find articles from a variety of different journals. The MeSH box will give you information on how to perform a more powerful search. The annotated bibliography lists and comments recently published journal articles on this topic.
Don't pay for articles. If you find an article record in a database and receive a message saying you need to pay to read the full article, contact the LRC and we will try to obtain a copy for you for free.
Databases
By searching one of these databases, you will be searching articles from thousands of journals. More information is available at LRC Services.
PubMed comprises over 23 million journal citations. This index is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and is accessible to anyone on the web.
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Approximately 4000 full text titles are available from this aggregator which provides electronic journals licensed from various publishers.
Almost 1400 full-text online journals from Elsevier Science. Note that tables of contents and abstracts are available for many more Elsevier journals that we do not subscribe to.
Cochrane Systematic Reviews are not technically journal articles, but they are a valuable academic source. The Reviews investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in a healthcare setting in support of evidence-based medicine.
MeSH Subject Headings
To search by subject in PubMed, MeSH subject headings should be used for best results. The following list represents a sample of available headings; to obtain a complete list of relevant subject terms please use the MeSH browser in PubMed or consult with LRC staff.
Data Collection Data Compression
Health Information Management Data Warehousing
Information Storage and Retrieval Biomedical Research
Health Information Exchange Biomedical Research
Integrated Advanced Information Management Systems Bioethics
Information Management Data Management
Using MeSH in PubMed
Check this video to know how to use the MeSH subject headings to create a targeted PubMed search.
Journal Articles
- Kanza, S., & Knight, N. J. (2022). Behind every great research project is great data management. BMC research notes, 15(1), 20. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13104-022-05908-5
This article considers how research data management (RDM) is crucial for the success of research projects. To ensure reproducible science that meets FAIR principles, authors suggest researchers must manage their research project data efficiently, developing RDM strategies and organizing the project before starting work, considering factors such as data management plans, data organization and storage, and ethical implications. This article refers best practices and guidance on how to incorporate RDM strategies into research work and provides a list of ten tips for effective research data management.
- Recunenko, I., Boiko, A., Kramarenko, O., & Khan, B. (2022). Data Management in Healthcare Research as a Guarantee of its Quality. Health Economics and Management Review, 2, 36-43. http://doi.org/10.21272/hem.2022.2-04
This article discusses how important is for the health system to develop an appropriate research data management systematic practice to track the efficiency of data management in this field. To prove that the authors conducted a study to determine the impact of proper management of medical research data on the healthcare sector. The findings of the research can aid in making informed decisions regarding future opportunities to efficiently influence the advancement of access to medical research data.
- Read, K. B., Ganshorn, H., Rutley, S., & Scott, D. R. (2021). Data-sharing practices in publications funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research: a descriptive analysis. CMAJ open, 9(4), E980–E987. https://doi.org/10.9778/cmajo.20200303
This article explores how data management practices have been conducted into Canada's data-sharing environment, using the data available on the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). The authors performed a descriptive analysis of CIHR-funded publications, analysing different data management and concluding how important is data sharing regarding research projects interoperability, specifically considering how the Canadian context is providing conditions to create and share open data through different strategies and collaborative efforts, such as the Tri-Agency Research Data Management Policy.