These books are available for borrowing from the Health Sciences Library:
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
The Third Edition of Conducting Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper provides readers with an accessible but in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows researchers how to justify the need for and significance of research, and explain a studyâe(tm)s findings. Key Updates to the Third Edition Presents nearly a hundred new online examples and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences Offers a revised and updated list of online articles databases Includes case studies in the use of major online databases Expands the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching Clarifies some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods Incorporates more examples and clearer explanations of the differences between research design validity (internal and external) and measurement validity Introduces the major formal systems for evaluating the literatureâe(tm)s methodological quality Provides more qualitative research examples and information on how to evaluate their quality Illustrates in greater detail how to write up reviews and how others have done it Contains nearly 100 Power Point Slides linked to each of the five chapters available at www.sagepub.com/fink3einstr qualified instructors who adopt the book The text also discusses the use of Boolean operators for simple and advanced searches, tells readers how to use bibliographic software to organize literature reviews and search "The Virtual File Cabinet.âe Intended Audience This text is for graduate students in the social science, health, educational, and business fields. It is also appropriate for anyone who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and/or prepare strategic plans and grant proposals.
Doing a Systematic Review by
If you are a Masters or a PhD student conducting a systematic review for your dissertation or thesis, then this is the book for you! Written by an expert team of authors with years of experience in conducting systematic reviews and supervising students doing systematic reviews, the book provides a roadmap to guide you through the process. The book addresses the following questions: - What′s the best way to manage my review? - How do I formulate an appropriate review question? - How do I develop my search strategy? - How do I get started on data extraction? - How do I assess the quality of the studies I′m using? - How can I analyse and synthesise my data? - How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis? - Where should I publish my data? Throughout the book, the authors make extensive use of questions posed by real students when carrying out reviews to help you through some of the challenges you may face. Like a team of supervisors in your pocket, this book will provide you with the tips and tools for a successful dissertation.
The Essential Guide to Doing a Health and Social Care Literature Review by
This step-by-step guide takes the reader logically through the process of undertaking a literature review, from determining when this methodology might be useful, through to publishing the findings. It is designed particularly for students undertaking a dissertation using literature review methodology. However, it also caters to practitioners who wish to review the existing evidence in order to develop practice. Key features of the text include: a chapter on what makes a good literature review, so that readers are clear and confident about what they're aiming f∨ discussion of the value of literature reviews, whether for fulfilling the requirements of a course or for developing practice; a chapter structure that reflects the structure of a typical dissertation by literature review, making the material intuitive and easy to navigate; case examples throughout to illustrate how methodological principles work in practice; a troubleshooting guide to provide support and advice on common problems when carrying out a literature review; advice on the dissemination of findings. Written by an established author with significant experience teaching and supervising students doing literature reviews, this invaluable text offers systematic and insightful advice on all aspects of literature review methodology, from problem identification to synthesizing information to forming conclusions. It is ideal for any student or practitioner in health and social care looking to undertake a literature review for study or practice purposes.
Handbook of Res Synthesis 2 Ed by
Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook's classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Seven Steps to a Comprehensive Literature Review by
Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here This dynamic guide to doing literature reviews demystifies the process in seven steps to show researchers how to produce a comprehensive literature review. Teaching techniques to bring systematic thoroughness and reflexivity to research, the authors show how to achieve a rich, ethical and reflexive review. What makes this book unique: Focuses on multimodal texts and settings such as observations, documents, social media, experts in the field and secondary data so that your review covers the full research environment Puts mixed methods at the centre of the process Shows you how to synthesize information thematically, rather than merely summarize the existing literature and findings Brings culture into the process to help you address bias and understand the role of knowledge interpretation, guiding you through Teaches the CORE of the literature review - Critical thinking, Organization, Reflections and Evaluation - and provides a guide for reflexivity at the end of each of the seven steps Visualizes the steps with roadmaps so you can track progress and self-evaluate as you learn the steps This book is the essential best practices guide for students and researchers, providing the understanding and tools to approach both the 'how' and 'why' of a rigorous, comprehensive, literature review.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Systematic Reviews to Support Evidence-Based Medicine by
For many healthcare professionals there is a mystery surrounding systematic reviews of healthcare literature. How did they select certain studies and reject others? What did they do to pool results? How did a bunch of insignificant findings suddenly become significant? With this book you will embark on a journey that will provide the key information required to demystify these intrigues.
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by
First Edition a 2013 Doody' Core Title and AJN Book of the Year Award Winner This text provides top-tier guidance for DNP students, graduate faculty, APRNs, and other health care providers on how to use available research for improving patient outcomes and reducing costs. It is the only resource written expressly to meet the objectives of DNP courses. This second edition is completely updated and features three new approaches umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews for seeking, synthesizing, and interpreting available evidence to improve the delivery of patient care. The text also includes two new examples of completed systematic reviews and two completed proposals. The book presents, clearly and comprehensively, the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational comprehensive systematic review (CSR). It encompasses the complexities of the entire process, from asking clinical questions to getting the evidence into practice. The text includes question-specific methods and analysis and compares CSR methods, literature reviews, integrated reviews, and meta-studies. It describes how to find and appraise relevant studies, including the non-published grey literature and criteria for selecting or excluding studies, and describes how to use the results in practice. Also examined are ways to disemminate findings to benefit clinical practice and support best practices, and how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Plentiful examples, including two completed proposals and two completed systematic reviews, demonstrate every step of the process. An expanded resource chapter that can serve as a toolkit for conducting a systematic review is also provided. The text covers useful software and includes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and references. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Three new chapters presenting new systematic review approaches: umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews including rapid and scoping reviews and reviews of text and opinionTwo new examples of completed systematic reviewsCompletely updated content throughoutDetailed information to foster systematic review research question development, efficient literature searches, and management of references KEY FEATURES: Delivers the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a CSR from start to finishServes as the only CSR resource written expressly for the APRNDescribes useful software for conducting a systematic reviewProvides rich examples including two completed CSRsIncludes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and referencesAccompanied by a comprehensive toolkit of resources for completing a systematic review
Doing a Literature Review in Health by
'A comprehensive, easy to read guide which will help students to understand how to undertake a literature review, and how to use the resultant information effectively' - Anne-Marie Warnes, University of Central Lancashire. 'A very useful little book that answers all the questions that students ask' - Irene Mabbott. 'A good step-by-step guide on how to produce a comprehensive piece of work' - Simone Bedford, Swansea University. 'This is a very useful, sensible and well organised piece of work and students will benefit from it enormously' - Peter Jones, London South Bank University. Why do a literature review? What literature is relevant to my review? How do I appraise my findings? How do I present my literature review? This book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is crucial reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review.This student-friendly book simplifies the complex process of systematically reviewing published literature, and provides a guide to searching, appraising and comparing literature to address a research question. Beginning with a discussion of the difference between a systematic and narrative review, you are then advised how to conduct a literature review, starting with defining the question, followed by strategies for searching the literature and emphasising the key elements that need to be considered when reviewing each kind of study. Throughout the book, there are practical tips on how to write up a literature review. "Doing a Literature Review" is an essential reading for all undergraduate students who are writing a literature based dissertation within the health and social care field, or as an introductory text for postgraduate study. It is also a useful text for those who are new to reviewing and appraising literature in the search for answers to questions that arise in practice.
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by
"This is an excellent book which explains clearly the principles and practice of systematic reviews. The order of contents is logical, information is easy to find and the contents are written for a wide audience from student to practitioner. There are copious examples and illustrations and these should inspire confidence in the novice and remind the expert what the essential features of a good systematic review are. This book should be on every undergraduate and postgraduate reading list for courses on research methods." Roger Watson, Professor of Nursing, The University of Hull, UK "This book provides a clear and concise guide for students to produce a systematic review of evidence in health care ... The material is presented as a logical series of steps starting with developing a focussed question up to completing the review and disseminating its findings ... To facilitate the review a number of blank forms are presented for the reader to copy and complete in relation to the topic which they are pursuing ... I would wholly recommend this text." Ian Atkinson, previously Senior Lecturer in Research Methods & Assistant Editor Journal of Clinical Nursing Does the idea of writing a systematic literature review feel daunting? Are you struggling to work out where to begin? By walking you carefully through the entire process from start to finish and breaking the task down into manageable steps, this book is the perfect workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement. Co-published with the Nursing Standard, this handy book: Goes into detail about the precise and practical steps required to carry out a systematic literature review Uses a workbook format, with 3 running examples that you can work through gradually as you carry out your review Offers suggestions and tips to help you write up your own review Features useful templates to help you stay organised and includes case-studies to identify good practice Highlights the pitfalls to avoid Written in an engaging, conversational style with clear explanations throughout, How to do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing is invaluable reading for all nursing students as well as other healthcare professionals.
Network Meta-Analysis for Decision-Making by
A practical guide to network meta-analysis with examples and code In the evaluation of healthcare, rigorous methods of quantitative assessment are necessary to establish which interventions are effective and cost-effective. Often a single study will not provide the answers and it is desirable to synthesise evidence from multiple sources, usually randomised controlled trials. This book takes an approach to evidence synthesis that is specifically intended for decision making when there are two or more treatment alternatives being evaluated, and assumes that the purpose of every synthesis is to answer the question "for this pre-identified population of patients, which treatment is 'best'?" A comprehensive, coherent framework for network meta-analysis (mixed treatment comparisons) is adopted and estimated using Bayesian Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods implemented in the freely available software WinBUGS. Each chapter contains worked examples, exercises, solutions and code that may be adapted by readers to apply to their own analyses. This book can be used as an introduction to evidence synthesis and network meta-analysis, its key properties and policy implications. Examples and advanced methods are also presented for the more experienced reader. Methods used throughout this book can be applied consistently: model critique and checking for evidence consistency are emphasised. Methods are based on technical support documents produced for NICE Decision Support Unit, which support the NICE Methods of Technology Appraisal. Code presented is also the basis for the code used by the ISPOR Task Force on Indirect Comparisons. Includes extensive carefully worked examples, with thorough explanations of how to set out data for use in WinBUGS and how to interpret the output. Network Meta-Analysis for Decision Making will be of interest to decision makers, medical statisticians, health economists, and anyone involved in Health Technology Assessment including the pharmaceutical industry.
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by
The second edition of this best-selling book has been thoroughly revised and expanded to reflect the significant changes and advances made in systematic reviewing. New features include discussion on the rationale, meta-analyses of prognostic and diagnostic studies and software, and the use of systematic reviews in practice.
416-864-5059
hslibrary@smh.ca
Follow @SMHealthSciLib
