Full acknowledgment of the use of the University Health Network Archives is required in the credits or liner notes of such products. If archival photographs or audio-visual clips have been used, such use must also be acknowledged.
If it is not possible to use the proper citation methods in full for your purpose, the preferred alternative for the use of photographs is: Image courtesy of University Health Network Archives, Toronto or University Health Network Archives, Toronto.
Citing your sources is especially important, because you will want your reader to be able to trace back your citation(s) with minimal effort.
At the University Health Network Archives, material is organized into record groups, fonds, series, subseries and files. There are also some ephemera collections. A fonds refers to the whole of the records, regardless of format, automatically and organically created and/or accumulated and used by a particular individual, family or corporate body during the course of that creator's activities or functions and is an important element to include in your citation. In addition to the fonds levels, each subsequent level of organization (whether series or sub-series) has been given a number which when combined results in a file number.
As with archival arrangement, bibliographic citations of archival sources should list required elements from the general to the specific, while footnotes/endnotes should be listed from the specific to the general.
The following guidelines have been adapted from the Archives of Ontario’s Citing Archival Records, Customer Service Guide 107 (February 2013). Examples are for the material at University Health Network Archives.
Along with these guidelines, for information on different citation styles such as APA, MLA and Chicago, consult the University of British Columbia guide. Additional citation guides (in the box on the right) will also offer clear examples of citations depending upon the type of document/object.
There are two types of citations:
|
Footnotes/Endnotes |
Bibliographic Entries |
|
|
|
Include the following elements of information in this order: 1. Description of the item, sub-series or series (depending upon what is being cited) which includes, as appropriate, creator, title, and date (if known)—when describing non-textual material, clarification concerning format may be added in square brackets when the format is not already clear from the title, e.g. [map], [photograph], [sound recording]… 2. Fonds and series/sub-series titles 3. Reference Code – as complete as possible, including file, volume and box numbers when given. Material at the University Health Network Archives usually has a record group number (e.g. RG1) and/or letter codes for fonds (e.g. OCI or TG) as well as file numbers that incorporate series or sub-series numbers (e.g, RG1-TH 2.4.156 or OCI-SF1:1.2 or OCI-1B.64 or TWH-1-2-1) 4. Repository (e.g. UHN Archives, Toronto) |
Include the following elements of information in this order: 1. Repository and location (e.g. UHN Archives, Toronto) 2. Reference Code of fonds/series (e.g., OCI-SF2-1 or RG2-UHN2-2.2) 3. Fonds and series/sub-series titles 4. Optional – Description of the item (creator, title, date) if footnote/endnote is not created |
Citation Examples
(F/E) – Footnote/Endnote Citation (B) – Bibliographic Entry
1. Textual item:
|
F/E |
1Letter from Clarkson Gordon, Auditor, to Johanne Ratz, Administrator, October 27, 1987, Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Office of the Administrator records, OCI-1A.240, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. OCI-1A. Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Office of the Administrator records. |
2. Dated Photograph:
|
F/E |
2 H.R.H. Princess Margaret and Dr. Ash, 1967 [photograph], b&w, Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Department of Public Relations photographs and records, OCI-1B.2, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. OCI-1B. Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Department of Public Relations photographs and records. |
3. Undated Photograph:
|
F/E |
3 Nursing Unit front view, undated [photograph], b&w, Department of Public Affairs and Communications fonds, Photographs, RG1-TH 2.4.843a, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. RG1-TH 2.4. Department of Public Affairs and Communications fonds, Photographs. |
4. Architectural Drawing
|
F/E |
4 Floor plan for Sherbourne Street site, issued May 27, 1957 [architectural drawing], Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Office of the Administrator records, OCI 1A.205, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. OCI-1A. Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital fonds, Office of the Administrator records. |
5. File
|
F/E |
5 Toronto General Hospital – Mid Century / Dr. E.A. McCulloch, Public Affairs & Communications fonds, Miscellaneous Publications, RG2-UHN 3.4.1, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. RG2-UHN 3.4. Public Affairs & Communications fonds, Miscellaneous Publications. |
6. Series
|
F/E |
6 Correspondence and position papers, Dr. Donald Henry Cowan fonds, DHC 1, University Health Network Archives, Toronto. |
|
B |
University Health Network Archives, Toronto. DHC 1. Dr. Donald Henry Cowan fonds, Correspondence and position papers. |
For more information and specific examples click any of the links in the Additional Citation Guides box on the left.
