Find books available through the St. Michael's Hospital Health Sciences Library
Selected Diabetes & Endocrinology Books
Endocrine Pathophysiology by Eric I. Felner; Guillermo E. UmpierrezEndocrine Pathophysiology offers a comprehensive introduction to diseases of the endocrine system. Rather than providing an overwhelming amount of content on one subject, this book serves as a bridge between basic endocrine physiology and endocrine disorders. Included in the text are case studies covering a variety of endocrine disorders in both inpatient and outpatient settings. With the changes in many medical school curriculums to a clinically-based curriculum, this book provides a cutting-edge approach to endocrine pathophysiology.
Call Number: WK100 .E56 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric, 2-Volume Set by J. Larry Jameson; Leslie J. De GrootConsidered the definitive source in its field for over 35 years, Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric, has been thoroughly updated to reflect today's recent advances in adult and pediatric endocrinology. Unique perspectives from a team of trusted, world-renowned experts ensure this medical reference book remains the most highly-regarded text in the field.
Call Number: WK140 .E5585 2016
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
Harrison's Endocrinology, 4E by J. Larry JamesonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Endocrinology - with all the authority of Harrison's A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Featuring a superb compilation of chapters related to endocrinology derived from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition (including content from the acclaimed Harrison's DVD, now available here in print), this concise, full-color clinical companion delivers the latest knowledge in the field backed by the scientific rigor and authority that have defined Harrison's. You will find 36 chapters from 50 renowned editors and contributors in a carry-anywhere presentation that is ideal for the classroom, clinic, ward, or exam/certification preparation. Features: * Divided into six sections that reflect the physiologic roots of endocrinology: Introduction to Endocrinology; Pituitary, Thyroid, and Adrenal Disorders; Reproductive Endocrinology; Diabetes Mellitus, Obesity, Lipoprotein Metabolism; Disorders Affecting Multiple Endocrine Systems; and Disorders of Bone and Calcium Metabolism * Coverage of discoveries emanating from genetics and molecular biology, along with the latest drugs that are transforming the field * Integration of pathophysiology with clinical management * High-yield board review questions make this text ideal for keeping current or preparing for the boards * Valuable appendix of laboratory values of clinical importance
Call Number: WK140 .H323 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-18
Manual of Endocrinology and Metabolism by Norman LavinSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Ideal for all health care professionals who evaluate, diagnose, treat, or refer patients with endocrine disease or disorders, Manual of Endocrinology and Metabolism, Fifth Edition , brings together nearly 150 global authorities who share their knowledge and expertise on endocrine disorders in children, adolescents, and adults. Using a concise outline format, this thoroughly updated manual presents clinical information and protocols needed in everyday practice, with an emphasis on diagnosis and treatment. Succinct chapters and an abundance of tables and diagrams make complex information easy to find and understand. Includes coverage of fundamental understandings and treatment modalities as well as recent therapies, new methods of treatment, new understandings of endocrine physiology, and new surgical approaches to disease states Covers evaluation, pathophysiology, management, and treatment at every age of life, along with short- and long-term goals of reversibility and prevention New chapters include transgender medicine, flushing and sweating, nasal administration of hormones, the growth plate, as well as traumatic brain injury and hypopituitarism New topics include galactorrhea; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative management following pituitary surgery; growth hormone in adults, polycystic ovary syndrome, hypercalcemic crisis, parathyroid hormone-related protein, congenital hyperinsulinism, and hypokalemic periodic and non-periodic paralysis New and expanded coverage of diabetes mellitus includes hypoglycemia-associated autonomic failure, glucocorticoid-induced hyperglycemia, C-peptide, cystic fibrosis-related diabetes, the artificial pancreas, glycated proteins, inhaled insulin, and the application of stem cells in diabetes mellitus Serves as an excellent resource for board preparation, as well as a concise daily reference for endocrinologists, general practitioners, internists, pediatricians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and others who see patients with primary or underlying endocrine disease Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: WK39 .M294 2019
Publication Date: 2018-05-09
Selected Ophthalmology Books
Basic Ophthalmology: essentials for medical students by Richard C. Allen (Editor); Richard A. Harper (Editor)Serves as an ideal complement to your medical student curriculum and a helpful tool for primary care residents and physicians who want to broaden their knowledge of eye disease diagnosis and treatment. The tenth edition includes updated, practical information on the diagnosis, management and referral of common ocular disorders, and summarises important ophthalmic concepts and techniques. It includes coverage of eye examinations, acute and chronic vision loss, red eye, ocular and orbital injuries, amblyopia and strabismus, neuro-ophthalmology, ocular manifestations of systemic diseases and drugs and the eye. This edition includes a new chapter on eyelid, orbital, and lacrimal disease. It also features 140 figures, access to 17 video clips, key points to remember, sample problems to test knowledge, and annotated resources.
Call Number: WW141 .B311 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-30
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology by John SalmonThrough eight outstanding editions, Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology has been the classic specialty textbook, providing the perfect ophthalmology foundation for trainees and a valuable reference source for experienced practitioners. Building on the previous edition by Dr. Brad Bowling, Dr. John Salmon from Oxford University has comprehensively revised the textbook. The 9th Edition retains Dr. Kanski's highly effective format of succinct text and visually dynamic presentation, providing authoritative, focused guidance on the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. Extremely well organized and comprehensive in scope, this visually stunning book reflects the latest advances in the field, facilitating quick comprehension to enhance learning, aid exam preparation and guide clinical practice. As a general ophthalmic textbook, this is the gold standard. Uses targeted text, bulleted lists, tables, and visual aids to highlight salient points across all ophthalmology subspecialties. Includes 2,600 illustrations, including more than 1,000 new images of common and rare conditions and arrows to show the exact pathology. Features detailed updates on new therapeutic interventions for neurological disease and ocular tumours; new imaging techniques such as OCT, OCT angiography, and MRI; and new topics such as circadian rhythms, graft vs host disease and the effects of Ebola virus infection on the eye. Presents examination techniques in a new, separate chapter and contains new "tips" on key issues in every chapter. Provides up-to-date information on hot topics such as intravitreal treatment with anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis and scleritis and new surgical advances such as MIGS for glaucoma and limbal stem cell grafting. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: WW140 .S159 2020
Publication Date: 2019-12-13
Practical Ophthalmology: a manual for beginning residents by Preston H. Blomquist (Editor); American Academy of Ophthalmology Staff (Contribution by)Ophthalmology residents are faced with learning a highly complex subspecialty; proper training and education are critical to their success. This new edition of Practical Ophthalmology is part of a suite of Academy textbooks for ophthalmology residents and trainees that will help them build a solid foundation of clinical and surgical knowledge. They are written and edited by leading residency program directors and are powerful tools for mastering needed skills. This updated essential text helps ophthalmology residents gain confidence while becoming a skilled practitioner. Highlights include coverage of a thorough ophthalmic examination, discussion of ophthalmic emergencies and common ocular medications. Stepwise instructions for 57 specific examination and testing techniques are available for quick access. The "Pitfalls and Pointers" sections present tips for avoiding or resolving common problems.
Call Number: WW141 .P895 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Walsh and Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology: the Essentials by Neil R. Miller (Editor); Prem Subramanian (Editor); Vivek Patel (Editor)Focus on the most important clinical knowledge in neuro-ophthalmology! Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology: The Essentials distills the most vital content from the esteemed three-volume parent text, Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology, widely acknowledged as the definitive reference in the field, to bring you just the practical, hands-on information you need to effectively evaluate and manage the majority of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. A concise, intuitive organization speeds your access to today's best know-how, so you can efficiently provide optimal care to your patients. Features: Make the best use of the newest imaging techniques, including OCT, high-resolution CT/MRI, and multifocal ERG. Manage the full gamut of neuro-ophthalmological disorders with the aid of five sections that thoroughly cover the afferent visual system, the pupil, the efferent (oculomotor) system, the eyelid, and non-organic disorders. Glean information at a glance through a highly visual presentation that includes clear diagrams, tables, and images, many now in color. Evaluate complex eye movement disorders by viewing helpful videos online. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: WW140 .W2235 2016
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Selected Nephrology & Urology Books
Campbell-Walsh Urology by Alan J. Wein; Louis R. Kavoussi; Andrew C. Novick; Alan W. Partin; Craig A. PetersSince 1954, Campbell-Walsh Urology has been internationally recognized as the pre-eminent text in its field. Edited by Alan J. Wein, MD, PhD(hon), Louis R. Kavoussi, MD, Alan W. Partin, MD, PhD, Craig A. Peters, MD, FACS, FAAP, and the late Andrew C. Novick, MD, it provides you with everything you need to know at every stage of your career, covering the entire breadth and depth of urology - from anatomy and physiology through the latest diagnostic approaches and medical and surgical treatments. Be certain with expert, dependable, accurate answers for every stage of your career from the most comprehensive, definitive text in the field! Required reading for all urology residents, Campbell-Walsh Urology is the predominant reference used by The American Board of Urology for its board examination questions. Visually grasp and better understand critical information with the aid of algorithms, photographs, radiographs, and line drawings to illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentation and technique, and decision making. Stay on the cutting edge with online updates. Get trusted perspectives and insights from hundreds of well-respected global contributors, all of whom are at the top and the cutting edge of their respective fields. Stay current with the latest knowledge and practices. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive updates throughout include new information on perioperative care in adults and children, premature ejaculation, retroperitoneal tumors, nocturia, and more! Meticulously revised chapters cover the most recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery, open surgery of the kidney, management of metastic and invasive bladder cancer, and many other hot topics! Reference information quickly thanks to a new, streamlined print format and easily searchable online access to supplemental figures, tables, additional references, and expanded discussions as well as procedural videos and more at www.expertconsult.com. The new edition of Campbell-Walsh Urology is the must have reference for practitioners and residents!
Call Number: WJ100 .C192 2012
Publication Date: 2011-08-25
Contemporary Nephrology Nursing by Sandra Bodin (Editor)This Contemporary Nephrology Nursing textbook is meant to serve as an adjunctto American Nephrology Nurses Association's (ANNA) Core Curriculum for Nephrology Nursing by providing more indepthinformation. This edition includes updating all current chapters withevidence-based data and the addition of 28 completely new chapters, coveringthe full breadth of nephrology nursing practice. Three exciting new sections dealwith nursing management of comorbidities and complications, cultural safety,health literacy, psychosocial issues in nephrology nursing, and regenerative medicineand innovations. Each chapter includes key concepts highlighting implicationsfor nephrology nursing.
Call Number: WY164 .C761 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Core Curriculum for Nephrology Nursing by Caroline Counts (Editor)The 6th edition of this comprehensive Core presents the newest information regarding kidney disease, its treatment, and the nursing care involved. Designed to provide information for the novice as well as the experienced health professional, this edition provides information not published in previous editions. This new, expanded, must-have source for nephrology nurses contains six distinct modules, more than 50 contact hours, self-assessment questions, 233 figures, 234 tables, 29 appendices, and much more.
Call Number: WY18 .C797 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Manual of Nephrology by Robert W. SchrierThe newly updated 8th edition of this bestseller continues a 20-year tradition, with expert scientific research and clinical recommendations on the diagnosis and management of acute and chronic kidney disease. This comprehensive reference offers you solid, practical guidance on common renal problems--causes, symptoms, treatments and complications.
Call Number: WJ39 .M294 2015
Publication Date: 2014-06-26
Oxford Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension by Simon Steddon; Alistair Chesser; John Cunningham; Neil AshmanFully revised and expanded for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension provides clear, concise information and practical guidance on the day-to-day management of patients with renal disease. It is the essential resource for all those working with renal patients,including specialist trainees in nephrology, foundation doctors, renal nurses and general practitioners. A vital practical guide for those on the wards, and a valuable resource for all those studying for exams, this is the must-have handbook of renal medicine.Based on the Oxford Textbook of Clinical Nephrology and companion to the Oxford Handbook of Dialysis, this handbook provides vital clinical knowledge on the full breadth of renal care. The chapters on AKI and CKD have been significantly expanded to represent their enhanced primacy in both primaryand secondary care. The recent shift in understanding from acute renal failure to AKI has led to fast-paced change, and this handbook has been specifically revised to ensure the reader is up-to-the-minute in this vital area of renal care. Renal transplantation has also greatly increased in volumeand complexity in recent years and a full chapter has been given to this important area, which has been thoroughly updated and greatly expanded.Comprehensive, easy-to-use, and concise, with a strong focus on practical advice, and detailed guidance on everything from common conditions to complex clinical care, this handbook ensures that the reader always has the information they need at their fingertips.
Call Number: WJ39 .O98 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Silva's Diagnostic Renal Pathology by Xin Jin (Joseph) Zhou (Editor); Zoltan G. Laszik (Editor); Tibor Nadasdy (Editor); Vivette D. D'Agati (Editor)Approximately ten percent of the world population are affected by kidney diseases, which often can only be diagnosed by renal biopsy. This practical guide offers an algorithmic, deductive approach to the interpretation of this complicated procedure, covering all technical methods used for diagnosis. This new edition includes an authoritative chapter on digital renal pathology, a topic inadequately covered in current literature. All chapters have been extensively revised in light of major advances in the understanding of the pathogenesis and clinicopathological features of renal disease. Written for practising pathologists and nephrologists, this text encompasses the entire spectrum of medical renal diseases in both pediatric and adult populations. Its numerous diagnostic algorithms provide a convenient overview and a helpful guide into the detailed text, directing the reader to major patterns of interest. Including online access to over 1000 photomicrographs and diagrams, this book is also of interest to trainees in nephrology and pathology.