Handbook of Kidney Transplantation by Gabriel M. DanovitchSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Concise, readable, practical and well-illustrated, the sixth edition of the Handbook of Kidney Transplantation has been thoroughly updated and revised to reflect the most current knowledge and practice in the field. Ideal for physicians, surgeons, fellows, and nurses who manage kidney transplant patients, it covers everything from treatment options for end-stage renal disease to transplantation, post-operative management and transplant immunology, focusing on every key aspect of the clinical practice of kidney transplantation. Includes new chapters on the Allocation of Deceased Donor Organs and Kidney Transplantation in the Developing World, as well as expanded chapters on living donation and immunosuppressive drugs and protocols. Outlines the major concerns surrounding renal transplantation and the most successful approaches to problems arising in short-term and long-term patient care. Covers immunobiology and immunosuppression, as well as surgery, histocompatibility, and short and long-term follow-up. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, 2nd Edition by Edgar V. Lerma; Mitchell H. Rosner; Mark A. PerazellaPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical, up-to-date guide to the diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of kidney problems and hypertension in adult patients "In contrast to many other books in this area, this one provides a concise yet comprehensive review of each topic without getting lost in too much detail..." - Doody's Review Service (review of previous edition) Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, Second Edition delivers incisive, ready-to-use management protocols and valuable therapeutic guidelines from authors who are recognized as the field's foremost authorities. This essential clinical companion features a practical learn-as-you-go approach to diagnosing and treating renal disorders and hypertension that combines disease management techniques with the latest proven therapies. *NEW! Chapter-ending clinically based Q&A *NEW CHAPTERS include The Kidney in Malignancy, Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder (CKD-MBD), Palliative Care Nephrology, and Clinical Pharmacology and the Kidney *Fifty-nine chapters deliver a one-of-a-kind overview of all major diseases and disorders, from end-stage renal disease to primary and secondary hypertension *Emphasizes the clinical aspects of kidney care, while also providing comprehensive discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Includes an important review of subspecialty considerations: dialysis, transplantation, critical care nephrology, interventional nephrology, palliative care nephrology, clinical renal pharmacology, as well as a new area of specialization - onco-nephrology *Consistently formatted chapters make it easy to locate the essential information you need on diagnosis, testing, disease processes, and the latest treatment and management strategies *Valuable as a clinical refresher or for board review *Strikes the perfect balance between clinical necessity and brevity
Publication Date: 2018-01-10
Diabetes Care by Rowan HillsonDiabetes is common, chronic, complicated, and costly both to the patient and to the state. It causes distress, disability, and premature death. Most diabetes complications can be prevented or reduced. Diabetes Care Second Edition is a concise and easy-to-read reference source for all aspects of care in the management and understanding of diabetes.This pocketbook provides a step-by-step guide to diabetes care for doctors, nurses, and other health care professionals working in primary, community, and secondary care, particularly general practitioners, practice nurses, diabetes specialist nurses, junior hospital doctors, ward nurses, and pharmacists. The author draws on practical experience taking a common-sense approach to the assessment, education, monitoring, and treatment of diabetes across all age groups and ethnic backgrounds. Thereare detailed sections on helping patients manage their diabetes in everyday life, extensive advice on the monitoring and adjustment of glucose levels, and discussion on the preventing and coping with emergencies. Focus is primarily on the prevention, detection, and treatment of diabetic tissuedamage, including heart disease.The new edition of Diabetes Care - a Practical Manual provides up-to-date guidance on managing diabetic emergencies including hypoglycaemia and diabetic ketoacidosis, and new advice about diabetes care in A&E and the hospital setting. There is also an expanded section on using data and audit to review and improve care.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Endocrine Physiology by Patricia MolinaThe best endocrine review available for the USMLE Step 1 The fourth edition of Endocrine Physiology provides comprehensive coverage of the basic science and anatomy behind endocrine function. With its focus on must-know principles, Endocrine Physiolology is the best review available for the USMLE Step 1 and the perfect reference for residents and fellows.
Publication Date: 2013-01-31
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, Tenth Edition by David G. Gardner; Dolores M. ShobackThe renowned one-stop guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Greenspan''s Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan''s is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or for exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology. Greenspan''s provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges. · The Tenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of summary features to each chapter and updated content throughout · Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs
Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension by Norman M. Kaplan; Ronald G. VictorAccessible, evidence-based guidance on managing patients with hypertension. Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension provides you with current, practical, evidence-based recommendations for preventing and treating all forms of hypertension. Integrating the latest basic science findings and clinical trial data, this 11th Edition enables you to put the latest approaches to work in managing your patients. Comprehensive updates throughout place the most recent management recommendations at your fingertips. Updated coverage brings you up to speed on the pathogenesis of hypertension and many other evolving areas. Abundant algorithms and flow charts facilitate clinical decision-making. An accessible, straightforward writing style and a user-friendly two-color design makes it easy to find and apply the information you need. Full- text online access includes links to Pub Med for many key bibliographical references. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search feature that pulls results from your notes, everything in the book, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Ability to highlight text for easier reference of key content Ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Ability to save your favorite content for future, quick reference
Oxford Desk Reference: Endocrinology by Helen E. Turner (Editor); Richard Eastell (Editor); Ashley Grossman (Editor)Oxford Desk Reference: Endocrinology provides easy access to evidence-based materials for quick consultation but also provides an in-depth expert reference for clinical practice. It covers the process of diagnosis, investigation, and management, as well as information for patients.Internationally-renowned experts have brought together evidence, guidelines and their clinical expertise to put trustworthy support at your fingertips.The vast spectrum of endocrine disorders are clearly laid out in self-contained topics for easy reference. Chapters build bridges between pathogenesis, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis and investigation to aid understanding. Careful consideration is given to establishing a diagnosisincluding the recognition, investigation and management of the rarer diagnoses. The practical treatment of everyday endocrine disorders and the management of life-long conditions are outlined in clear protocols.Chapters are organised by endocrine glands, disorders and syndromes and there are sections on the involvement of hormones in other specialities including endocrine oncology. The continuity from childhood to adolescent and adult endocrinology as well as the needs of older patients is explored inspecific sections. Dedicated chapters cover the important roles endocrine specialist nurses play in patient management, and dietetic advice.The editors have included a wealth of practical resources including:* A speedy reference section, which provides summaries and quick direction* A patient advice and reference section, which supports face-to-face discussion with patients* A medicolegal chapter, which outlines risk and DVLA regulationsOxford Desk Reference: Endocrinology is the ideal companion for consultants, registrars associate specialists and clinical assistants as well as those from other disciplines who share endocrine clinics including endocrine surgeons, oncologists, gynaecologists and paediatricians.
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Oxford Handbook of Renal Nursing by Althea Mahon (Editor); Karen Jenkins (Editor); Lisa Burnapp (Editor)Written by educators and renal nurses with extensive experience of clinical practice the Oxford Handbook of Renal Nursing is a concise, current and evidence-based guide to the care of patients with renal disease. This practical and thorough resource ensures that expert and relevant information is always accessible, whatever the circumstances.An indispensable clinical guide this handbook provides a wealth of useful information on the aetiology of kidney disease, and aids with decision-making from initial assessment and diagnosis, through to the available Treatments. Taking a multi professional approach to the care and management of patients with kidney disease, the Oxford Handbook of Renal Nursing is an essential tool for all renal nurses, studying and practising, as well as a valuable resource for all those who work inrenal care.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Renal and Electrolyte Disorders by Robert W. SchrierFor more than 40 years, this well-regarded reference has bridged the gap between basic and clinical sciences for the many disorders associated with electrolyte imbalances and kidney dysfunction. Authoritative and easy to read, the eighth edition has been thoroughly updated by experts in the field to reflect recent developments in renal pathophysiology. Each chapter first introduces normal physiology, then covers each disorder's clinical features, diagnosis, and treatment. Helpful diagrams, algorithms, and tables further explain the complex concepts. Key Features: A new two-color format throughout promotes easier comprehension and faster navigation. Redrawn and colorized line drawings make complex concepts easier to understand and more visually appealing. New coverage includes: recent developments in disorders of water homeostasis; substantial new information on genetic hypokalemic and hyperkalemic disorders; new content on calcium, phosphorus, vitamin D, and parathyroid hormone activity; a new chapter on the genomic and nongenomic effects of angiotensin and aldosterone in renal and cardiovascular disease; an up-to-date discussion of the pivotal role of the kidney in the pathogenesis of hypertensive states; new advances in our understanding of the glomerulopathies and vasculitides; and much more. Ideal for all members of the nephrology team, including residents and fellows in nephrology, internal medicine, and other specialties, as well as nurses and physician assistants. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Vander's Renal Physiology by Douglas Eaton; John PoolerThe best review of renal physiology available for USMLE Step 1--completely updated with the latest research A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Written in a clear, concise, logical style, this trusted text reviews the fundamental principles of thestructure, function and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Combining the latest research with a fullyintegrated teaching approach, the eighth edition of Vander's Renal Physiology features revised sections that explain how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems.
Publication Date: 2013-03-13
Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, 19th Edition by Paul Riordan-Eva; James J. AugsburgerPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ophthalmology's cornerstone text enhanced by a vibrant new full-color presentation A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions. The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates - to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives. The most authoritative review of the subject: * 25 chapters that span the full breadth of ophthalmic disease * Contributions from more than thirty international experts * A comprehensive chapter on the ophthalmologic examination * An entire chapter devoted to pediatric interests * Extensive updates to chapters on the cornea, retina, orbit, neuro-ophthalmology, immunologic diseases of the eye, causes and prevention of vision loss, and lasers in ophthalmology If you are in need of a concise, up-to-date, and well-written overview of the basics of ophthalmology, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, Nineteenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
The Wills Eye Manual by Nika Bagheri (Editor); Brynn Wajda (Editor); Charles Calvo (Editor); Alia Durrani (Editor)Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! For more than 25 years, The Wills Eye Manual has been a best-selling source of authoritative guidance on treating ocular disorders in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting. The 7th Edition introduces exciting new changes to bring this pocket-sized reference thoroughly up to date - including extensive multimedia content - while retaining the features that have made it so useful in daily practice. New to this edition: Recent major clinical trials data Expertly produced videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques Changing trends in trauma, oculoplastics, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, and more Outstanding features you've come to expect from the Wills Eye Manual: The most accurate and current information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions Effective clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment Concise outline format for portability and quick reference All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country It's everything you wanted to know and nothing more. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use