It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services Monthly Health Awareness: July 2019
100 Questions and Answers about Erectile Dysfunction by Pamela EllsworthEMPOWER YOURSELF! No man wants to read this book but many men should. Did you know that erectile dysfunction is rarely "all in your head," but is sometimes a warning sign of a more serious underlying condition, such as hypertension or heart disease? If you didn't know these facts, you're not alone--and if you're one of the many men suffering from this difficult condition, this book offers help. The only text to provide the doctor and patient's view, 100 Questions and Answers About Erectile Dysfunction, Second Edition gives you authoritative, practical answers to your questions about treatment options, post-treatment quality of life, sources of support, and more. This collaboration between a prominent urologist and a patient who overcame this condition is an invaluable resource for anyone coping with the physical and emotional turmoil of this debilitating disorder. With wit, empathy, and most of all, sound medical advice, 100 Questions & Answers About Erectile Dysfunction provides you with information you need to take charge of your sexual and overall health.
The Addiction Casebook by Petros Levounis (Editor); Abigail J. Herron (Editor)The Addiction Casebook presents 12 patients with DSM-5 addiction diagnoses -- plus one experiencing problematic Internet use -- and illustrates practical and successful strategies for diagnosing and treating these patients. The book's cases are analogous to those that clinicians commonly encounter in their everyday practice and effectively demonstrate the intersection of addiction with other psychiatric diagnoses. The experience and clinical wisdom of three generations of addiction specialists are distilled into a single volume that includes the most salient ideas and treatment suggestions for clinicians. This informative, practical volume strikes a colloquial, and sometimes humorous, tone. General psychiatrists and psychiatric residents seeking to gain expertise in and an understanding of addiction will find it a delight to read, as will a diverse audience of family practitioners, internists, pediatricians, medical students, allied professionals, and anyone interested in sharpening her or his clinical skills. The book is the first to cover the diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of substance use disorders and other addictions within the DSM-5® framework. Its many valuable and helpful features include * An outline of the progression in thinking about psychiatric diagnoses with the move from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®. * Descriptions of hands-on experience with the current diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders and other addictions that complement substance abuse textbooks and bring the material to life. * Coverage of such subject areas as alcohol, caffeine, cannabis, hallucinogen, inhalant, opioid, sedative, hypnotic, anxiolytic, stimulant, tobacco, gambling, and Internet addictions. * Key points and multiple-answer questions at the end of each chapter that highlight the chapter's most pertinent takeaways and apply and strengthen readers' knowledge of chapter information.* Extensive use of tables, figures, charts, and other instructive materials to illuminate and clarify addiction concepts. In their preface, the authors assert their hope that the book "will provide the fundamental tools for working with the substance-using patient in the hospital, the clinic, and the community." The Addiction Casebook exceeds its goal by providing mental health and other medical practitioners with timely, current strategies for addiction diagnosis and treatment in a succinct, engaging, and entertaining volume.
Call Number: WM270 .A224 2014
Clinical Manual of Cultural Psychiatry by Russell F. Lim (Editor)The interaction of culture and mental illness is the focus of the Clinical Manual of Cultural Psychiatry, which is designed to help mental health clinicians become culturally competent and skilled in the treatment of patients from diverse backgrounds. The product of nearly two decades of seminar experience, the book teaches clinicians when it is appropriate to ask "Is what I am seeing in this patient typical behavior in his or her culture?" The ability to see someone else's worldview is essential for working with ethnic minority and culturally diverse patients, and the author, who designed the course that was this handbook's precursor, has expanded the second edition to take into account shifting demographics and the changing culture of mental health treatment. The content of the new edition has been completely updated, expanded to include new material, and enhanced by innovative features that will prove helpful for mental health clinicians as they encounter diverse patient populations. * The new chapter on women reflects the fact that mental health disparities extend beyond ethnic minorities. Women have significantly higher rates of posttraumatic stress disorder and affective disorders, for example, yet research on women has been limited largely to the relationship between reproductive functioning and mental health. * Two new chapters address the alarming number of unmet mental health needs that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender patients suffer from. These chapters emphasize the need for mental health providers and policy makers to remedy these disparities.* A new chapter has been added to help clinicians determine the role religious and spiritual beliefs play in psychological functioning, because religious and spiritual beliefs have been found to have both positive and negative effects on mental health.* The newly introduced DSM-5® Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI) is addressed in the book's introduction and is included in its entirety, along with an informant module, 12 supplementary modules, and guidelines for their use in a psychiatric assessment. In addition, the reader has access to videotaped examples using simulated patients to illustrate practical application of the DSM-5® Outline for Cultural Formulation and CFI.* Extensive information on ethnopsychopharmacology, reviewing clinical reports of ethnic variation with several different classes of psychotropic medications and examining the relationship of pharmacogenetics, ethnicity, and environmental factors to pharmacologic treatment of minorities. The book updates coverage of African American, Asian American, Latino/Hispanic, and Native American/Alaskan Native cultures as they relate to mental health issues while retaining the nuanced approach that was so effective in the first edition. Course-tested and DSM-5® compatible throughout, the Clinical Manual of Cultural Psychiatry is a must-read for clinicians in our diverse era.
Call Number: WM31 .C556 2015
Managing Prostate Cancer by Andrew J. RothTeaches patients with prostate cancer and their loved ones strategies for how to live better with the questions and challenges that arise with this diagnosis.Over 200,000 men in the United States are diagnosed with prostate cancer every year. How they medically combat this disease is up to their medical teams and the latest research. But how they psychologically combat the worry, practical concerns, and all of the changes in their lives? It's up to theindividual himself, as well as family and caregivers, and it is an equally important component in the patient's recovery. Dr. Andrew J. Roth, a psychiatrist who specializes in psychological support for cancer patients, provides the emotional skills and strategies necessary to healthfully deal withthe challenges that a prostate cancer diagnosis brings to daily life. These tools, which Roth terms "Emotional Judo," will also help healthcare givers to provide improved support for their patients and families. For the last twenty years, Dr. Roth has served as the Attending Psychiatrist of theMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and has helped members of oncology treatment teams practice the best ways to deal with patients' emotional needs.Dr. Roth helps patients at all stages of the disease learn the best ways to accept and adapt to the consequences of their cancer treatment, including the physical complications of urinary, erectile or bowel dysfunction, fatigue, hot flashes, and the demoralizing recurrence of disease aftertreatment. While there are a number of good books that touch on the diagnostic and treatment processes from beginning to end, Dr. Roth's readable and relevant book is the first to focus on the emotional implications of these physiological symptoms and life changes. By focusing on a specificreadership (men with prostate cancer and their loved ones) rather than a broader group, Dr. Roth offers the most effective and tailored tools for coping with any and all aspects of the disease.
Prostate and Other Genitourinary Cancers by Vincent T. DeVita; Theodore S. Lawrence; Steven A. RosenbergSelected from the world�s leading comprehensive cancer textbook, this tightly focused resource provides you with the practical, cutting-edge information you need to provide the best cancer care to each patient. Prostate and Other Genitourinary Cancers: Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology, 10th Edition, offers a comprehensive and balanced view of this rapidly changing field, meeting the needs of oncology practitioners, fellows, and others who need an in-depth understanding of prostate and GU cancer. The print reference gives you the solid, dependable guidance you�ve come to expect from this outstanding title, and the Inkling version features new quarterly updates written by a team of experts selected by the authors. Key Features: - Delivers focused, comprehensive information on prostate and GU cancer drawn from the world�s leading cancer textbook, DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg�s Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. - Covers the molecular biology of the kidney, bladder, and prostate; genetic testing in urinary tract cancers; and cancers of the kidney, bladder, ureter, renal pelvis, prostate, urethra, penis, and testis. - Discusses in detail the growing importance of prevention and screening, giving you the understanding you need to improve your patients� chances for a healthier, cancer-free life. - Explains how the latest developments in biologic therapy applies to cancers of the prostate and GU system. - Provides exhaustive coverage of combined modality cancer treatment, helping you determine when and how to integrate modalities in patient treatment. - Ensures that you�re fully up to date thanks to easy, mobile access to quarterly updates. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: - Complete content with enhanced navigation - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues - Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: WJ762 .D496 2016
Prostate Cancer by Adam P. Dicker"This book admirably covers prostate cancer. It is written in an easily digestible manner for non-experts and emphasizes the importance of a team approach to treatment of patients with this disease."--Doody's Reviews With an emphasis on multidisciplinary collaboration and decision-making, this practical resource reflects the extraordinary advances in the treatment of prostate cancer during the past five years. Approximately thirty international, leading-edge investigators describe the most current evidence-based approaches to prostate cancer treatment. The book provides a comprehensive view of the entire spectrum of prostate cancer management from initial screening through novel and experimental treatments that have the potential for a major impact on practice. The book first reviews fundamental issues including epidemiology, screening, risk reduction, diagnosis and pathologic characterization, staging, and imaging. This includes strategies for improving the accuracy of PSA screening and an update on controversies surrounding the ISUP Modified Gleason Score. The book covers novel molecular and genotype profiling in prostate cancer, including morphometric and systems pathology. Detailed information is provided on radiographic imaging for diagnosis and staging. The treatment sections of the book correspond to the staging of disease. The treatment of localized disease addresses the range of multidisciplinary management options including a discussion of prostate cancer's impact on the quality of life. A detailed review of multimodal therapies (medical, surgical, and radiologic) addresses the treatment of localized advanced disease, and coverage of advanced metastatic prostate cancer reviews current management options including a range of promising novel and experimental agents. The book also discusses counseling the high-risk patient. Several chapters incorporate models of care delivery, patient navigation for multidisciplinary care, genomic and risk assessment, and comparative effects of research in treatment decision-making. The book is designed as a management text for all health care professionals who provide care for prostate cancer patients as well as patients, families, and advocates. Extensive references offer opportunities for additional study. Key Features: Delineates a practical, concise approach to multidisciplinary management of prostate cancerProvides a wide range of perspectives and expertiseWritten and edited by an international, multidisciplinary team of prostate cancer specialistsFocuses on such key issues as special populations, screening controversies, patient counseling, and quality of lifeIncludes discussion of important emerging topics such as gene profiling and targeted therapies and comparative effectiveness data
Call Number: WJ762 .P966 2015
Surgical Techniques for Prostate Cancer by Rakesh V. Khanna (Editor); Gennady Bratslavsky (Editor); Robert J. Stein (Editor)This volume provides a comprehensive review and detailed description of surgical techniques for prostate cancer surgery. All aspects are covered, including surgical anatomy and methods of transrectal ultrasound guided prostate biopsies, step-by-step approach techniques for radical prostatectomy, and the latest data on outcomes. Furthermore, limitations as well as tips and tricks are detailed in addition to management of common complications. Lastly, with the increasing use of ablative therapy and brachytherapy, the mechanism of action as well as the keys to obtaining optimal outcomes are illustrated. Surgical Techniques for Prostate Cancer is a concise and valuable resource to surgeons that documents the different approaches to prostate cancer surgery.
Call Number: WJ762 .S961 2015
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Sexually Transmitted Diseases by Hunter H. HandsfieldPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An unmatched collection of full-color clinical images of common and rare sexually transmitted diseases More than 200 full-color photographs A Doody's Core Title for 2017! From the author's extensive private collection of clinical photographs comes the latest edition of this classic atlas of sexually transmitted diseases. The third edition of Color Atlas & Synopsis of Sexually Transmitted Diseases offers a succinct outline presentation that features color photographs for each disorder, accompanied by a concise overview of epidemiology, clinical manifestations, the physical examination, diagnosis and management, and prevention. Coverage of each condition includes one more clinical case studies. Color Atlas & Synopsis of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, 3e includes about twenty percent new photographs, and the text has been entirely rewritten to include the latest information on epidemiology and treatment. A new chapter reviews the global epidemiology of HIV and AIDS as well as other STDs, and the chapter on HIV and AIDS has been substantially expanded. You will also find an important overview section on the clinical approach to patients with STDs. While written primarily for the clinician, it is an excellent resource for patient education and for nonprofessionals interested in STDs. This unique atlas covers: Bacterial sexually transmitted diseases Viral sexually transmitted diseases Clinical syndromes An outstanding clinical guide to confirm your next diagnosis and a quick source of up-to-date information on tests and treatment, Color Atlas & Synopsis of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, 3e offers a collection of images that cannot be duplicated in print or online.