It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services Monthly Health Awareness: September 2019
Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care 5 by April Armstrong (Editor); Marck C. Hubbard (Editor)The newly revised fifth edition of Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care is the practical, go-to guide to confidently evaluate and treat more than 300 complaints and conditions. Combining stepwise instruction, comprehensive coverage, and an unparalleled collection of videos and exercises--this new edition offers the information needed to make confident point-of-care decisions. The fifth edition offers: Completely revised and updated text with step-by-step instruction and helpful illustrations to offer visual confirmation. Consistent information throughout each section includes definitions, symptoms, tests, differential diagnosis, treatments, adverse outcomes, referral decisions, and red flags. Problem/solution format and concise presentation of content delivers the necessary information to quickly and logically inform your protocol. Companion website with more than 200 video demonstrations of physical examination techniques and special tests--plus procedures for aspirations and injections with vivid anatomical overlays. Downloadable and customizable PDF patient exercise programs for your patients--able to be printed or emailed. Intuitively organised by anatomical area and presented in a user-friendly progression from evaluation to management, Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care is trusted and sought after by physician assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, physiatrists, internists, osteopathic physicians, rheumatologists, pediatricians, sports medicine specialists, athletic trainers, kinesiologists, primary care physicians, medical students, and residents. Sections are included on: General Orthopaedics; Shoulder; Elbow and Forearm; Hand and Wrist; Hip and Thigh; Knee and Lower Leg; Foot and Ankle; Spine; and Pediatric Orthopaedics.
Call Number: WE140 .E78 2016
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Walter R. Frontera; Julie K. Silver; Thomas D. RizzoFrom sore shoulders to spinal cord injuries, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 3rd Edition provides you with the knowledge you need to get your patients moving again. This practical and authoritative new edition delivers easy access to the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of musculoskeletal disorders and other common conditions requiring rehabilitation. Each topic is presented in a concise, focused, and well-illustrated format featuring a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery. Put concepts into practice. Practical, clinically relevant material facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal, pain, and chronic disabling conditions. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding of interventions such as physical agents and therapeutic exercise in the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of disorders that produce pain, impairment, and disability. Find answers fast thanks to a consistent chapter organization that delivers all the content you need in a logical, practical manner. Access the full text and image bank online at ExpertConsult. Get a broader perspective on your field from new chapters on Labral Tears of the Shoulder and Hip, Pubalgia, Chondral Injuries, Central Post-Stroke Pain (Thalamic Pain Syndrome), Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy, Radiation Fibrosis Syndrome, and Neural Tube Defects. Stay current with expanded and updated coverage of diagnosis, management and rehabilitation of Cervical Dystonia, Suprascapular Neuropathy, Epicondylitis, Temporomandibular Joint Pain, Spinal Cord Injury, Stroke, Adhesive Capsulitis of the Hip, and Adductor Strain of the Hip. Glean the latest information on hot topics in the field such as cancer-related fatigue, polytrauma, and traumatic brain injury Efficiently and expertly implement new ICD-10 codes in a busy outpatient setting.
Medical Complications in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Diana D. Cardenas; Thomas M. HootonThe only book to combine the perspectives of both physical medicine and rehabilitation and internal medicine, this practical handbook provides physiatrists and residents in training with a concise description of common medical concerns that can disrupt or complicate therapy and rehabilitation. It focuses on the major diagnostic categories of disabilities that are admitted for in-patient rehabilitation such as stroke, spinal cord injury, brain injury, amputation, multiple major trauma, neurological disorders, burns, musculoskeletal trauma, cancer, and other diseases or disorders. For easy reference, the book is organized by both diagnostic category and specific medical complications. The first half of the book, organized by disability, provides an overview of the unique medical problems physiatrists are likely to encounter with each condition, when those complications will occur, and the best approaches to diagnosing and treating them early. The second part, written by acute care specialists, addresses the medical issues individually with more detailed chapters on specific complications and up-to-date information on treatment. These include urinary tract infection, osteomyelitis, antibiotic-associated diarrhea, hematologic complications, gastrointestinal complications, pulmonary complications, electrolyte disorders, and fever and sepsis. Key Features: Focuses on medical complications within major rehabilitation diagnostic groups Organized in two parts to allow readers to access information by condition or complication Provides clinical guidance for identifying and managing common medical complications encountered in rehabilitation settings Each rehabilitation topic chapter concludes with a summary √ Timeline√ table detailing specific complications and likely occurrence A practical resource for physiatrists providing inpatient care or sharing call "
Call Number: Holland Stacks QZ140 .M489 2015
Musculoskeletal Health in Women by Elinor Mody (Editor); Elizabeth Matzkin (Editor)Recent research indicates that gender differences in anatomy and physiology, endocrinology, hand eye co-ordination and motor development have an effect on the kinds of injuries incurred as a result of sporting activities. Since men and women have different responses to exercise; strength and conditioning programs should be modified for these differences. Musculoskeletal Health in Women was born out of a need to provide fitness advice tailored to women. For example, research has focused on correcting neuromuscular imbalances in women to prevent injuries. Increased abduction moment at the knee and balance problems have been found to be predictors of ACL injury. Muscle strengthening with special emphasis on the terminal knee extensors and hip abductors can improve these neuromuscular imbalances. Additionally, taping and bracing at the ankle may be helpful, particularly in women prone to certain injuries. Any discussion of women's sports injuries is only complete if it includes the Female Athlete Triad: energy availability (which is affected by eating disorders), osteoporosis, and menstrual function. Musculoskeletal Health in Women provides a fully-illustrated and comprehensive overview of all of these aspects and its multidisciplinary approach ensures that expertise is provided from disciplines such as psychiatry, physiatry, endocrinology, nutrition, rheumatology, orthopedics, physical therapy and radiology. These authors have worked with women athletes of all ilks and are well equipped to address a full spectrum of issues related to the musculoskeletal health of women. Musculoskeletal Health in Women will be of primary interest to women athletes and women embarking on a fitness regimen. Health professionals working in this area would also invariably benefit from the advice and guidance provided within these pages.
Call Number: WE140 .F682 2015
Publication Date: 2013-11-13
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions by Se Won LeeMusculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions: Assessment and Management is a practical guide to diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal conditions in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a handbook, yet more clinically-focused than a desk reference, this volume is a one-stop guide for clinicians who deal with musculoskeletal disorders and injuries in the practice setting. The book is organized by anatomic region, from neck to toe, and written in outline format. Each chapter concisely presents the basic knowledge that every practitioner needs to have at the ready in the outpatient clinical context. Taking a uniform approach based on isolating symptoms and the location of the pain, the book presents a uniquely practical template for nonoperative management of a broad spectrum of musculoskeletal problems. All chapters include epidemiology, anatomy, biomechanics, physical examination, diagnostic studies, and treatment. Flowcharts for differential diagnosis and initial management are provided for chief complaints. Helpful tables, lists, and over 150 anatomic illustrations supplement the text throughout. Given the increasing importance of ultrasound in clinical decision-making at the point of care, a mini-atlas of normal and abnormal findings for common injuries is presented as part of the imaging work-up. Designed to help busy practitioners diagnose and treat musculoskeletal disorders in the clinic or office, this book is an essential resource for physicians in rehabilitation and sports medicine, primary care, orthopedics, and other health care professionals who work in outpatient settings. KEY FEATURES Provides a consistent approach to managing common musculoskeletal conditions based on location of pain Bulleted format and clear heading structure make it easy to find informationMore than 30 flowcharts map out differential diagnosis, diagnostic approach, and initial management strategy for each complaintPacked with useful tables, lists, and over 150 illustrations of surface anatomyIntegrates musculoskeletal ultrasound into the imaging workup, with over 40 normal and abnormal scans to aid in recognizing signature pathologies at the point of care Purchase includes access to the fully-searchable downloadable e-book with image bank
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Orthopaedics by Mark D. Miller; Stephen R. Thompson; Jennifer HartFor nearly a quarter century Miller's Review of Orthopaedics and the accompanying annual Miller Review Course (www.MillerReview.org) have been must-have resources that residents and practitioners have turned to for efficient and effective exam preparation. This 7th Edition continues to provide complete coverage of the field's most-tested topics, now reorganized to be more intuitive, more user-friendly, and easier to read. Numerous study aids help you ace your exams: a superb art program, including full-color tables, images, and pathology slides; improved concise, bulleted text design; "testable facts" in every chapter; multiple-choice review questions written by experts in the field; and much more. Video clips and SAQs available online for easy access. Content and topic emphasis are fully aligned with the ABOS (American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery) and OITE (Orthopaedic In-Service Training Exam) exams, giving you the confidence you need to prepare for certification and recertification. Completely revised sections on anatomy, spine, and tumors, along with input from many new authors, keep you fully up to date. An increased emphasis on imaging, along with the most current results and techniques, ensure that you're prepared for today's exams. Includes new coverage of femoroacetabular impingement, spine trauma, common medications used in orthopaedics, and recent advances in basic sciences. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.