What are Clinical Tools?
Clinical tools and resources aim to synthesize all available evidence for major clinical topics for health care workers when providing patient care. By summarizing medical knowledge, it is easier to apply the best evidence within the context of providing patient care. Often, these tools can include the following:
- Synthesized current evidence for diagnosis, tests and interventions (e.g. treatments, drugs)
- Designed for rapid consultation at the point of patient care
- Evidence-based and frequently updated, with links to relevant literature
- Drug information, ICD coding, information for patients, PDA application, and provision for links to electronic health records
Clinical Tools and Resources
BMJ Best Practice
Formerly BMJ Point of Care
Best Practice provides quick and intuitive access to authoritative information structured around the consultation process. Combined in a single source is the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice is provided by Clinical Evidence.
ClinicalKey is the world’s first “clinical insight engine.” More than a traditional search engine, ClinicalKey is built from the ground up on Smart Content tagged from Elsevier’s proprietary EMMeT taxonomy"..."Whether you need point of care resources to improve patient outcomes or the largest library of Smart Content tagged resources available from a single source, ClinicalKey delivers."
"AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device."
Nutrition Care Manual
"The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM) is an Internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered; and allied health professionals."
Medscape Reference (eMedicine)
The largest and most current clinical knowledge base available freely to physicians and other healthcare professionals.
Opioid Manager (The National Pain Centre)
A point of care tool which distills onto one double-sided page, essential information and advice from the Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain. To be used for prescribing opioids for chronic non-cancer pain.
"MedCalc 3000 is a unique computerized medical reference and tool set. MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types. "
A free repository of internet based medical calculators. Compiled by Graham Walker, MD, Emergency Physician at Kaiser San Francisco.
Contains the Canadian Pharmacists Association's (CPhA) publications Therapeutic Choices, the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, and Information for Patients, as well as, Lexi-Interact(Lexicomp's Comprehensive Interaction Analysis Program).
Online Drug Information Resource (Micromedex)
IBM Micromedex ® is used throughout the entire hospital by all clinicians – pharmacists, physicians and nurses. "IBM Micromedex® with Watson™ combines the artificial intelligence (AI) of IBM Watson with the evidence-based clinical decision support of IBM Micromedex®. It accelerates access to information by bypassing the keyword-based research process in favor of a Watson Assistant accepting natural language queries."
"The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies."
Differential Diagnosis Resources
DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
This handbook is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis.
Ferri's Differential Diagnosis: A Practical Guide to the Differential Diagnosis of Symptoms, Signs, and Clinical Disorders
This handbook provides clinicians with a quick reference to the differential diagnosis, etiology, and classification of clinical disorders, signs, and symptoms.The purpose of this handbook is to provide the clinician with a quick reference to the differential diagnosis, etiology, and classification of clinical disorders, signs, and symptoms.
Diagnosaurus 2.0 is a differential diagnosis (DDx) tool that allows you to search 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases, or organ systems. Diagnosaurus 2.0 is derived from McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine Quick Answers content and was created by Roni F. Zeiger, M.D. This tool is available for consultation online and also as a download for your mobile device.