UHN Virtual Library: Databases

"AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device."

The Best Evidence Collection consists of two journals: "ACP Journal Club," from the American College of Physicians, and "Evidence-Based Medicine," a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.

Formerly BMJ Point of Care
Best Practice provides quick and intuitive access to authoritative information structured around the consultation process. Combined in a single source is the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice is provided by Clinical Evidence.

"The international Campbell Collaboration (C2) is a non-profit organization that aims to help people make well-informed decisions about the effects of interventions in the social, behavioral and educational arenas. C2's objectives are to prepare, maintain and disseminate systematic reviews of studies of interventions. We acquire and promote access to information about trials of interventions. C2 builds summaries and electronic brochures of reviews and reports of trials for policy makers, practitioners, researchers and the public." The Campbell Collaboration works closely with the Cochrane Collaboration.

Provided by Statistics Canada. Contains over 250 million series of socio-economic and demographic statistics. In June 2018, Statistics Canada revamped this database, now called "Data".

"ChemIDplus is a free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases and other external resources available on the Internet. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 368,000 chemical records, of which over 177,000 include chemical structures. It is searchable by Name & Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure."

"CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments."

ClinicalKey is the world’s first “clinical insight engine.” More than a traditional search engine, ClinicalKey is built from the ground up on Smart Content tagged from Elsevier’s proprietary EMMeT taxonomy"..."Whether you need point of care resources to improve patient outcomes or the largest library of Smart Content tagged resources available from a single source, ClinicalKey delivers."

"The U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members, health care professionals and members of the public current information about clinical research studies. The site was launched in February 2000 and currently contains approximately 5,600 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other Federal agencies, and the pharmaceutical industry in over 62,000 locations worldwide. Studies listed in the database are conducted primarily in the United States and Canada, but include locations in over 70 countries."

"Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials. These controlled trials have been identified by the distinguished contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. They and others, as part of an international effort to search the world's health care journals (and other sources of information) systematically, have combined results to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews" Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

"CCA provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. The content is designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care."

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews (Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups), and Protocols (Protocols for reviews currently being prepared). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

"The Cochrane Methodology Register is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions. The database includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. Relevant records are identified primarily through a program of hand searching undertaken by the UK Cochrane Centre. The register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions."

Contains the Canadian Pharmacists Association's (CPhA) publications Therapeutic Choices, the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, and Information for Patients, as well as, Lexi-Interact(Lexicomp's Comprehensive Interaction Analysis Program). Access to the CPS mobile App!

DARE is a full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. Produced by the expert reviewers and information staff of the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, DARE consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries. Note: NIHR funding to produce DARE ceased at the end of March 2015.

Diagnosaurus 2.0 is a differential diagnosis (DDx) tool that allows you to search 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases, or organ systems. Diagnosaurus 2.0 is derived from McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine Quick Answers content and was created by Roni F. Zeiger, M.D. This tool is available for consultation online and also as a download for your mobile device.

"Dimensions covers millions of research publications connected by more than 1.6 billion citations, supporting grants, datasets, clinical trials, patents and policy documents."

Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the NLM Drug Information Portal gives the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers a gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Includes links to clinical trials.gov, ChemIDplus.

EBMcalc is a special computerized medical tool. It includes many useful medical formulas, clinical criteria, and decision-making tools that doctors, nurses, and medical students use daily. EBMcalc helps detect and reduce medical errors.

"The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly."

EMBASE Classic 1947 to 1973 indexes international journals in the same fields of study covered by EMBASE but is limited to period from 1947 to 1973.

"Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine."

"ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966."

"The Global Drug Reference Online (Global DRO) provides athletes and support personnel with information about the prohibited status of specific substances under the rules of sport based on the current World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Prohibited List."

“The Global Index Medicus (IGM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.”

"Haz-Map (Copyright 2000-2002) is an occupational toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks which are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is a relational database of chemicals, jobs and diseases." By Jay A. Brown, MD, PhD. Searchable by Hazardous Agents, Occupational Diseases, or High Risk Jobs.

Health Evidence™ is a Canadian resource that provides access to search a registry of 4,942 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. Becoming a registered user is free. Health Evidence is a registered trademark of McMaster University.

"Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), the Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). HTA is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden. The database contains records of ongoing projects being conducted by members of INAHTA as well as publications reporting completed technology assessments carried out by INAHTA members and other health technology assessment organizations. Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations. In some cases there will be an overlap with systematic reviews in the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE) database and economic evaluations in the National Health Service Economic Evaluation (NHS EED) database."

Health Services Research Projects in Progress, including health technology assessment and the development and use of clinical practice guidelines. HSRProj contains descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts for use by policy makers, managers, clinicians and other decision makers. It provides access to information about health services research in progress before results are available in a published form. It is accessible via the NLM Gateway.

"The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries listed on the right. It also provides links to the full original records."

"The international HTA database provides free access to bibliographic information about ongoing and published health technology assessments commissioned or undertaken by HTA organisations internationally. This includes INAHTA membersand non-INAHTA members. The database provides a single point of access to information that would otherwise be more difficult and time-consuming to search for on individual agency websites"

"The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities."

JANE is a tool for finding the most appropriate journals for submitting a manuscript (primarily for papers covering biomedical and clinical research). It allows authors to enter the title and/or abstract of unpublished papers into a text box and find journals that best match.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

"LILACS- Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature covers literature related to the health sciences and has been published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982, and is published by WHO Regional Offices. It contains more than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books."

The premier source for index and abstract coverage of biomedical literature, MEDLINE indexes more than 3,900 journals. Emphasis is put on North American literature; for European coverage EMBASE is more comprehensive. Database supplied by OVID Technologies. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

The Ovid MEDLINE ® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations database consists of In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. The In-Process records are records that will be put into the Medline database after they have been enhanced with MeSH headings. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records are records from journals found in PubMed but not selected for MEDLINE. These records are constantly changing. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records will not be added to the Medline database. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

"The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies."

This database of genes and associated information is available for searching in Entrez (NCBI). Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

"The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. The economic evaluation literature is recorded in many electronic databases and paper-based resources. For NHS EED, the staff at CRD systematically identifies economic evaluations by searching a range of electronic databases, journals, and paper-based resources."

"The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM) is an Internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered; and allied health professionals."

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information. The database contains textual information and references. It also contains copious links to MEDLINE and sequence records in the Entrez system, and links to additional related resources at NCBI and elsewhere.

"Open Academic Journals Index (OAJI) is a full-text database of open-access scientific journals. Founder — International Network Center for Fundamental and Applied Research, USA."

"OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,984,340 theses and dissertations."

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources. (Australia)

"...PEDro, [is] an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP). PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not."

"Practice-Based Evidence in Nutrition (PEN) is an innovative knowledge translation tool designed to put you on the leading edge of evidence-based practice in food and nutrition. PEN supports decision making for patient care and for issues of food safety and acts as a teaching tool."

"PLOS Currents is an innovative, online publication channel for new scientific research and ideas organized by focused research areas. It aims to minimize the delay between the generation and publication of new research, and publishes content which is peer-reviewed; citable; publicly archived in PubMed; and indexed by Scopus."

Procedures Consult is a robust, online procedure reference tool that offers easy access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting. It contains step-by-step instructions, images, and videos. Procedures Consult covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards.

"PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge." It is now part of the main ProQuest Platform meaning you can now search beyond dissertations to find other documents, videos, books, and more.

ProQuest Nursing Collection offers complete information from leading nursing and related publications. It is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities, as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. Coverage is from 1988 to the present. Click Find it @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

"PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour."

"PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations." Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.

Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. Use for literature on disability and rehabilitation.

"Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by 10 U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Science.gov brings together, through one interface, reliable resources selected by the respective agencies as important science information. Easy access options are provided through a search feature, an indepth search feature for more detailed information, and a browse feature. Science.gov is the official FirstGov for Science Cross-Agency Portal."..."Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included?selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page."

"speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice."

"STAT!Ref is an online library of electronic resources for medical students and professionals."

From the National Library of Medicine, a gateway to factual and bibliographic databases in toxicology and environmental health. Databases include HSDB, CCRIS, GENE-TOX, IRIS, TRI, DART, EMIC, and TOXLINE

TRIP Database is one of the Internet's leading resources for Evidence-Based Medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources.

UHN Corporate Archive (via Archeion) provides access to descriptions of UHN's corporate archival records.

UHN OneSearch provides a "Google like" single search for accessing all of the online and print resources provided by UHN Library and Information Services.

UpToDate is available for University of Toronto students only, and can be accessed via UofT library barcode and pin or UTORid and password. If you are a UofT student please register for your UTOR ID here: https://www.utorid.utoronto.ca/

"The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic."

"WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals."