LibGuides: UHN Virtual Library: EBM Resources

EBM Resources

The specific EBM resources listed below will enable you to search for information to support your evidence based practice. One-on-one or group training is available from your Information Specialist—see the Library Staff page to determine who your Information Specialist is.

EBHC Pyramid 5.0: Adapted for Use with UHN Library Resources
The EBHC Pyramid 5.0 (Alper and Haynes, 2016) is a further evolution of the '4S' through '6S' pyramids by Brian Haynes et al. and a useful framework for searching for answers to clinical questions at the point of care.

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
The Best Evidence Collection consists of two journals: "ACP Journal Club," from the American College of Physicians, and "Evidence-Based Medicine," a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Formerly BMJ Point of Care
Best Practice provides quick and intuitive access to authoritative information structured around the consultation process. Combined in a single source is the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice is provided by Clinical Evidence.
To access the BMJ app on your mobile device:
1. Download the BMJ Best Practice App from Google Play or the iTunes App Store.
2. Sign up for a free My Best Practice account while connected to the UHN network.
3. After completing step 2, you can log in to the app by entering your email and password on the login screen
Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
"The international Campbell Collaboration (C2) is a non-profit organization that aims to help people make well-informed decisions about the effects of interventions in the social, behavioral and educational arenas. C2's objectives are to prepare, maintain and disseminate systematic reviews of studies of interventions. We acquire and promote access to information about trials of interventions. C2 builds summaries and electronic brochures of reviews and reports of trials for policy makers, practitioners, researchers and the public." The Campbell Collaboration works closely with the Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
"Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials. These controlled trials have been identified by the distinguished contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. They and others, as part of an international effort to search the world's health care journals (and other sources of information) systematically, have combined results to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews" Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews (Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups), and Protocols (Protocols for reviews currently being prepared). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new window
DARE is a full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. Produced by the expert reviewers and information staff of the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, DARE consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Click Find It @ UHN to access full-text articles (if available) and other related supporting resources available from the UHN Libraries. Note: NIHR funding to produce DARE ceased at the end of March 2015.
Health Evidence This link opens in a new window
Health Evidence™ is a Canadian resource that provides access to search a registry of 4,942 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. Becoming a registered user is free. Health Evidence is a registered trademark of McMaster University.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
"The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports."
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
"The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies."
OTseeker This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources. (Australia)
PEDro This link opens in a new window
"...PEDro, [is] an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP). PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not."
PEN (Practice Based Evidence for Nutrition) This link opens in a new window
"Practice-Based Evidence in Nutrition (PEN) is an innovative knowledge translation tool designed to put you on the leading edge of evidence-based practice in food and nutrition. PEN supports decision making for patient care and for issues of food safety and acts as a teaching tool."
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
TRIP Database is one of the Internet's leading resources for Evidence-Based Medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources.

UHN Virtual Library: EBM Resources

EBM Resources

Selected EBM Journals