Clinical Nurse Specialist Toolkit, Second Edition by Duffy et a.This is a one-of-a-kind, all-inclusive reference guide for new clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) entering the field, as well as for seasoned practitionerslooking to update their knowledge. Disseminating a wealth of current professional practice guidance and practical information on reimbursement andcertification, the second edition has been fully updated to reflect changes resulting from the Affordable Care Act and the APRN Consensus Model. Four new chapters address changes and emerging trends, expanding the focus on independent practice, increasing demands on health care due to the growingpopulation of older adults, and updated reimbursement/economic issues. This authoritative toolkit is organized in an easy-toread format and includesnumerous clinical examples, case scenarios, and personal anecdotes culled from the contributors'Ao own professional experiences. New to the Second Edition: Fully revised and updated Addresses CNS practice within affordable care organizations Describes the CNS leadership role in system-level evidence-based practice initiatives Covers documentation and communication of CNS activities aligning with strategic initiatives and CNS practice priorities Discusses facilitating transitions of care to ensure safety and quality Addresses the CNS role in interprofessional education in clinical settings Key Features: Presents crucial information on negotiating and securing a job Provides advice on establishing credibility, prioritizing, and finding a mentor Contains guidelines on mentoring staff, leading groups, and precepting students Addresses documenting and measuring clinical outcomes Describes how to network with professional organizations and community agencies Offers practical guidance on applying for reimbursement and pursuing certification and licensure
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Reasoning and Care Coordination in Advanced Practice Nursing by RuthAnne Kuiper; Daniel J. Pesut; Tamatha E. ArmsTeaches students how to think like an APRN This book describes an innovative model for helping APRN students develop the clinical reasoning skills required to navigate complex patient care needs andcoordination in advanced nursing practice. This model, the Outcome-Present-State-Test (OPT), encompasses a clear, step-by-step process that students can use to learn the skills of differential diagnosis and hone clinical reasoning strategies. This method facilitates understanding of the relationships among patient problems, outcomes, and interventions that focus on promoting patient safety and care coordination. It moves beyond traditional ways of problemsolving by focusing on patient scenarios and stories and juxtaposing issues and outcomes that have been derived from an analysis of patient problems, evidence-based interventions, and desired outcomes. The model offers a blueprint for using standardized health care languages and provides strategies for developing reflective and complex thinking thatbecomes habitual. It embodies several levels of perspective related to patient-centered care planning, team-centered negotiation, and health care systemconsiderations. Through patient stories and case scenarios, the text highlights care coordination strategies critical in complex patient situations. Itprovides students with the tools to collect patient information, determine priorities for care, and test interventions to reach health care outcomes bymaking clinical judgments during the problem-solving process. Concept maps illustrate complex patient care issues and how they relate to each other. For faculty use, the text provides links to relevant APN competencies and provides guidelines for using the OPT when supervising students in field settings. Key Features: Delivers a concrete learning model for developing creative thinking and problem solving in the clinical setting Offers a blueprint and structure for using standardized health care languages Includes patient stories and case scenarios to illustrate effective use of the OPT model Highlights care coordination strategies associated with complex client situations with the use of the Care Coordination Clinical Reasoning model Reinforces methods of reaching a diagnosis, outcomes, and interventions and how to duplicate the process
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Developing a Program of Research in Nursing by Cheryl Tatano BeckProvides expert guidance on the development of a program of research This is the first resource to provide graduate nursing students, students in other health sciences, and novice researchers with the tools and perspective to develop their own programs of research. Grounded in the author's 30 years of experience as a highly esteemed nurse researcher, the book guides nurses step by step through all aspects of program development. It underscores the importance of doing research that is knowledge driven and not limited to a particular method, and describes the characteristics of a successful research program and how to achieve it. It stresses the need for both qualitative and quantitative research methods to develop a valuable program of research. With a major focus on planning for sequential studies and describing potential pathways of a research trajectory, the book addresses options and timing of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-method research designs, along with time-management strategies. Numerous examples of various types of nursing research programs provide insight into potential research paths, and information from the author's own long-term research on postpartum mood and anxiety disorders is used to illustrate concepts throughout the book. The text also includes suggestions for sustaining a research trajectory and provides detailed strategies for publishing successive studies. With an eye to exploring every possible research avenue, the book addresses interdisciplinary collaborative research and international research collaboration. Key Features: Provides specific steps for developing a successful research program in nursing and the health sciences Demonstrates how to use both quantitative and qualitative research methods to produce a knowledge-driven research trajectory Provides time-management strategies for research productivity Explains how to plan for sequential studies and sustain a successful research trajectory Uses concrete examples of research programs, including the author's own programs on postpartum mood and anxiety disorders
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Fifth Edition by Boltz et al.This new edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. With a focus on improving quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcome, the fifth edition is updated to provide the most current information about care of common clinical conditions and issuesin older patients. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments. Additionally, chapters have been reorganized to enhance logical flow of content and easyinformation retrieval. Protocols Aisystematically tested by more than 300 participating NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders) hospitals Aiare organized in aconsistent format and include an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion.Additionally, protocols are embedded within chapter text, providing the context and detailed evidence for each. Chapter objectives, annotated references, and evidence ratings for each protocol are provided along with resources for additional study. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganized to enhance logical flow of information and ease of use Updated and revised Includes new contributions from expert educators and practitioners Provides new chapters on perioperative and postoperative care, general surgical care, care of hip fracture, palliative care, and the senior-friendly emergency department Key Features: Includes PowerPoints and a test bank for instructors Delivers evidence-based, current guidelines and protocols for care of common clinical conditions in the older person Illustrates the application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussion Edited by nationally known geriatric leaders who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Written for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles "
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Procedures by Lippincott Williams and WilkinsThis start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 7th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Publication Date: 2015
Transformational Leadership in Nursing, Second Edition by Elaine Marshall; Marion E. BroomeThis award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings. With contributions from expert scholars and clinicians in the humanities, natural and social sciences, organizational studies, business, nursing, and other health care sciences, this inspirational text fulfills the DNP core competencies as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of DNP Education. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded to incorporate new leadership challenges resulting from health care reformExpands the scope of leadership to encompass emerging health care contexts, transformation of vision, and practice innovations Includes a new chapter addressing transformative leadership vis-a-vis changing health care perspectives Presents a new chapter describing emerging contexts for health care and how to build a respectful culture in which emerging leaders can thriveIncludes updated tools, health care paradigms, and leadership inspiration Presents cases and reflective questions that help students apply the theoretical content to their own situations and generate discussion across cohorts of students Key Features: Written expressly for APRNs transitioning into leadership rolesGrounded in competencies and essentials of doctorate education for advanced nursing practiceTraces the trajectory from expert clinician to role of leader of complex organizations and patient populationsDraws from experts in the humanities, natural and social sciences, business, nursing, and health care