Selected Ebook Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Tools
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Fitzpatrick & Wallace KazerNamed a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Publication Date: 2011
The Essential Preceptee Handbook by Diana SwihartThe Essential Preceptee Handbook: Your Pocket Companion for a Successful Preceptorship (10 Pack) Diana Swihart, PhD, DMin, MSN, APN CS, RN-BC The Essential Preceptee Handbook provides new members of staff with the guidance and support they need to build supportive one-on-one relationships with their preceptors and helps them acclimate to the work environment and culture. In this invaluable and compact handbook, preceptees will evaluate how they learn and how to improve critical thinking, gain confidence in receiving and giving feedback, and develop the skills they need to successfully transition to service. This handbook is an essential part of any onboarding experience for new employees. Couple this handbook with The Preceptor Program Builder and The Effective Preceptor Handbook to create a comprehensive program resource that meets the needs of your professional development staff, preceptors, and new staff members. Benefits: The Essential Preceptee Handbook prepares new employees for the important roles and responsibilities they will face as they participate in their preceptorship and become part of the staff. It guides and supports preceptees through: Applying evidence-based practice and critical thinking behaviors Working with their preceptors to develop key competencies Participating in receiving and giving effective feedback and clear communication Table of Contents: Introduction What is a preceptorship? The preceptoring process Preceptorship forms and worksheets Your preceptee development plan Action plan Preceptee questionnaire Discovering your learning style Creating your portfolio Working in teams Giving and receiving feedback Performance evaluation process Handling reality shock and building confidence Evaluating your preceptor and preceptorship experience Transition to service process Bibliography Contacts Notes
Publication Date: 2014
Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide by Amy M. KarchA comprehensive annual guide for nursing students and practicing nurses, the 2014 Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide provides quick A-to-Z access to current, vital drug information. This edition includes information on over 1500 drugs and drug combinations. Complete monographs for over 700 common drugs contain generic and trade names, pronunciations, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if appropriate), drug classes, therapeutic actions, indications, contraindications and cautions, available forms, dosages, pharmacokinetics, IV facts (if appropriate), adverse effects, interactions, andnbsp; a nursing considerationsnbsp; section based on nursing process steps including assessment, interventions,nbsp; and teaching points. The book also includes a 32-page full-color photo guide to pills and capsules for easy reference and multiple additional appendices that summarize key clinical information. The electronic ancillary contains 200 drug monographs and patient-teaching aids.nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; This is the only drug book to include a "DO NOT CRUSH" logo so nurses can quickly identify medications that should not be crushed -- a key patient safety feature. A Web Toolkit provides convenient features including FDA warnings, new drug and herb updates, medication administration and safety videos, dosage calculator, patient teaching handouts, pharmacology animations, English-Spanish audio medical and medication administration terms and phrases, audio generic drug pronunciations, medication administration procedures, NCLEX-style questions that comply with the new 2013 NCLEX test plan, mechanisms of action of selected drug classes, and a list of foods that contain tyramine. There is also a free CE test plus additional CE discounts, and various handy charts and information, such as controlled substance schedules, I.V. drug incompatibility, dialyzable drugs, toxic drug-drug interactions, and much more.
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by Sandra M. NettinaBring new expertise to your patient care with the brand new edition of the Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, the most complete nursing manual ever! A classic text since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Now in its 10th edition, this full-color text is organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing. This important centerpiece of your professional library ...has been reviewed by dozens of clinical experts--all recognized authorities in their fields. You'll find all the expert guidance you need to meet virtually every nursing challenge and can be totally confident with recommendations, facts and findings grounded in Official Guidelines from the National Institutes of Health, American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association, American Nurses Association, Joint Commission, AWHONN, and others. With more than 596 full-color photos, illustrations, and charts organized in a convenient, 1,880 page outline format, the content is evidence-based and filled with procedure guidelines and practical help you'll put to immediate use, including . . . * Step-by-step procedure guidelines for more than 150 procedures--with rationales--accompanying appropriate entries so you'll know what to do next and why. * Scores of reproducible patient-teaching aids that let you quickly and easily review essential self-care information with your patient. * Lavish illustrations and photos clarify instructions and concepts. * Pathophysiology, diagnostics, and therapies * Nursing assessments, procedures, interventions, and patient teaching * Ethical and legal issues, wellness and prevention, and genetics * Easier documentation, drug safety, workload management tips ... ...and much more A companion Website includes full text, an image bank; and drug-related NCLEX-style questions, FDA updates, and new clinical studies.