LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Features a collection of medical textbooks, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, videos, calculators and tools
Campbell Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Campbell has a growing list of editorial topic areas, including Methods, Social Welfare, Disability, Education, International Development, Crime and Justice, Training, Knowledge Translation and Implementation, and Business and Management.
Cochrane Clinical Answers Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making.
EBM Reviews This link opens in a new window A collection of six databases (Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED) that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies
TRIP Turning Research Into Practice brings together the key evidence-based healthcare resources available on the Internet. Eight major categories are searched by the TRIP search engine: Evidence based, guidelines, general peer-reviewed journals, query-answering services, specialist peer-reviewed journals, e-textbooks, medical images and patient information leaflets. The Evidence-based category covers 32 major resources including the AHRQ, Clinical Evidence, & Cochrane, among others

LactMed (Drugs and Lactation Database) by National Library of Medicine (US); 2006- current, contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
LiverTox (Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury) by National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases; provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements.
Cochrane Evidence Synthesis and Methods

Evidence-Based Abstract Journals

Guidelines

Accessss
a) you are required to register for a free account.
b) the results are categorized by different levels of evidence including guidelines
ACP Clinical Guidelines & Recommendations
Guidelines International Network The library contains links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development. Non members are actively encouraged to register their guidelines in development.
NICE Guidelines
Trip database
a) Search
b) Then use the Refine category (at the right) to select the Evidence type that you’re looking for: “Guidelines” are presented by country
RNAO Best Practice Guidelines

Quick Reference E-Books

Meta-searches

ACCESSSS Federated Search Provided by McMaster PLUS - You are required to create a free personal account and create a customized profile to make your results relevant to the Patient Population and Disciplines of interest.
Epistemonikos Meta-searching in 9 languages.