LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Databases

Key Nursing Databases

Different databases can be used for different purposes. Key databases for nurses include:

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
- Contains articles, videos, books, magazines, dissertations, and more on nursing and allied health topics.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
- Contains comprehensive variety of nursing and allied health journal articles.
PubMed
- The largest free biomedical database containing journal articles.

Key Databases

Medline	PubMed	EBM Reviews	CINAHL	Lexicomp

Please note:

If you are off-site, you will need to authenticate yourself as a St. Michael's Hospital staff, physician, or student to access most databases. For assistance and more information on authentication, visit our Off-Site Access page.

All Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Features a collection of medical textbooks, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, videos, calculators and tools
CAB Global Health This link opens in a new window From 1973 to present, substantially deeper subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases than many other sources currently available
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Systematic summaries of evidence of the effects of healthcare interventions used for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
EBM Reviews This link opens in a new window A collection of six databases (Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED) that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making for evidence based medicine, medicine, nursing, mental health
Health Business FULL TEXT This link opens in a new window Details all aspects of healthcare administration, as well as other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management
Healthstar This link opens in a new window Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window Provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools
Lilacs This link opens in a new window Latin American and Caribbean Literature in Health Sciences has a strong emphasis on public health and is the index of the health scientific and technical literature in Latin America and the Caribbean
Medline This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information that includes citations and abstracts for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, and health care
MedPix® This link opens in a new window MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images targeting physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, and nursing students
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies
OT Seeker This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions
PAIN+ This link opens in a new window Access to the latest high-quality research articles on pain that have been rated, by both health care professionals and patients living with chronic pain, to determine clinical relevance and general interest
PEDro This link opens in a new window Free database of over 40,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition This link opens in a new window Provides nutrition practitioners with ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition and offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window Scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews best used for those preparing for a career in healthcare, teaching patient care, or engaged in nursing research
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window Authoritative, up-to-date information, including books, journals, and multimedia, geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, and medical students
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences, containing research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts, it is one of the most highly utilized databases by students, researchers, educators, and practitioners worldwide
PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books including the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
CPS (formerly RxTx) This link opens in a new window Providing health care providers a robust, intuitive solution to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information, including comparative and evaluative information on treatment options for more than 250 common medical conditions, easy-to-use decision algorithms and tables of drug choices

Nursing Resources

Key Nursing Databases

Key Databases

All Databases

Online Tutorials & Guides