Library Services for Medical Students
As a result of the pandemic, the library spaces are closed or hosting respite centres for front-line staff. Our databases, clinical tools like BMJ Best Practice, and even most of our journals and textbooks are available online, and your Information Specialist will be happy to help you using email, phone or video-conferencing.
UHN Library and Information Services are available to UHN staff, clinicians, researchers, and learners. UHN Libraries has several library locations across UHN campuses. Our libraries offer:
- A health and medicine focused collection of electronic books and journals.
- Public access computers
- Access to UHN WiFi
- Group and individual study space
- Printing and photocopying ($0.15 per page)
- A variety of workshops
- Helpful staff available to assist you with any questions you have about our collections, borrowing, and document delivery services
Find out about new services, resources and more by joining our mailing list or following us on Twitter @UHNlibraries
Accessing UHN Libraries
As a result of the pandemic, the library spaces are closed or hosting respite centres for front-line staff. Our databases, clinical tools like BMJ Best Practice, and even most of our journals and textbooks are available online.
UHN Virtual Library
UHNlibraries.ca is the library's website where you will find all of our services and resources. If you are on an external network and you are trying to access a subscription resource you will be prompted to log in using your UHN email or t-id.
Research resources and services
Clinical, Mobile and Point of Care Tools
Clinical or "point of care" tools and resources aim to summarize information for major clinical topics. By summarizing medical knowledge, it is easier to apply within the context of providing patient care. The contents of point of care tools vary on how quickly new research is integrated, on how research is or is not appraised for inclusion, how contents are written and how evidence is cited.
Mobile tools are resources available for use on your phone or tablet.
UHN Libraries provides access to a number of these tools:
For clinical tools, view our Clinical Tools @ UHN guide
For mobile resources, view our Mobile Resources
Welcome to UHN Libraries!
You have an Information Specialist to help you
I can help you:
- by doing literature searches for you - from finding a good textbook to systematic review searching, you don't have to do it yourself!
- by providing individual or group training on database searching, EndNote, clinical information resources, etc.
- by connecting you with UHN library resources and services, or other libraries to which you may have access
You can contact me directly:
Or use the online forms to request searches or training and I'll get back to you!
If you are interested in working on a systematic review, scoping review or other knowledge synthesis, check out the services available and send me an email to set up an appointment to meet to chat about what happens next.
"AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device."
BMJ Best Practice
Formerly BMJ Point of Care
Best Practice provides quick and intuitive access to authoritative information structured around the consultation process. Combined in a single source is the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice is provided by Clinical Evidence.
ClinicalKey is the world’s first “clinical insight engine.” More than a traditional search engine, ClinicalKey is built from the ground up on Smart Content tagged from Elsevier’s proprietary EMMeT taxonomy"..."Whether you need point of care resources to improve patient outcomes or the largest library of Smart Content tagged resources available from a single source, ClinicalKey delivers."
Primal Pictures contains some of the worlds most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic renderings of human anatomy which are based on medical imaging data.
Improve your Library Skills
Essential Steps in Finding Best Evidence; for healthcare providers
Find this module in Cancer 360 in the Princess Margaret Cancer Campus to learn basic health sciences research literature database search skills. Designed for students starting at Princess Margaret, but all of the content is relevant for anyone needing to find and use best evidence in health sciences settings.
30-40 minute module
Create an account or log in with your UHN account.
Find the online training, including written instructions, videos, webinars and more, for Ovid (a platform with many major health sciences databases including Medline, Embase etc.), CINAHL, PubMed, EndNote and more.
Accessing University of Toronto Libraries
University of Toronto Library Cards and TCards
If you are affiliated with the University of Toronto, you also have access to their libraries. You will need to get set up with a TCard/Library Card to check out materials.
You will need a UTORID to access U of T Library workstations and services. This page should help if you need to set yours up, change your password or other settings, or troubleshoot.
Gerstein Science Information Centre
Gerstein serves most of the health sciences programs at University of Toronto, and their site puts the resources you are probably most interested in right up front. You might prefer starting from Gerstein rather than the front page of UofT Libraries.
Wifi and computers at U of T Libraries
Accessing wifi or workstations at U of T libraries, or accessing U of T resources from off site.
Access to Up to Date through University of Toronto Libraries
UpToDate is available for University of Toronto students only - find out here how to access.